Calling ex bmw owners - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 30-08-12 Thread Starter
County: West Sussex

Member car:

Bmw 3 series

Calling ex bmw owners

Hi all am a newbie here looking for advice- currently the owner of a bmw 320 coupe but seriuosly considering a move to a 147, anyone here switched from bmw to alfa? Worried about handling as my car is like glue and dont know what to expect? Any buying advice? Have found a nice 147 2003 with 127k full service with recent cambelt change, anything i need to look for?
Any help appreciated
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: Kent

Member car:

Brera 2.4

Hi and welcome. Not quite a 147 but I previously sold my BMW Z4 2.5 petrol and have just bought an Alfa Brera 2.4 jtdm diesel. Very different cars of course but loving the Brera, so few on the road and always wanted one since they first came out. Brera is a much heavy car and feels very solid and is a GT rather than an out and out sports car. Personally I got fed up driving a BMW when there are so many on the road (aswell as Audi's which I've also previously owned) Not regretting changing to Alfa one bit yet, although early days of course! Go for it, drive something a bit different to everyone else :-)
AO Platinum Member
County: Oxfordshire
Which model BMW is it, the E36 or E46?

The Alfa certainly looks better, but IMO overall the BMW (if it is an E46) is a better all rounder.

They are very common though, it depends if you want to trade some all round ability for some style and exclusivity.

Last edited by symon; 30-08-12 at 17:54.
AO Rosso Alfa Member
County: Northamptonshire
Hi and welcome
Hi. still own a 328i sport E36 but on the lookout for a 159 2.4 jtd,Hoping to find a nice 4WD model.