Hello from South Yorkshire! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 3 Old 05-06-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: South Yorkshire
Hello from South Yorkshire!

As a lifelong petrol head and pushing 44 I only got my first Alfa a couple of weeks back...and I gotta say I'm very pleased. I only went for a 156 Sportwagen 2.0 TS so it's a little tame compared to my mates 156 3.2 GTA, but none-the-less I still like it. I'm not completely convinced the guy who I got it off was totally honest with me, but hey, even though it's a while since I did it as a job, I am a mechanic by trade, so I should have read up more on 'common faults'. I found out the crank sensor was playing up after a few days, common fault on many cars so not 'Alfa' specific. Cutting out when warm, starting when cooled down, could only be one thing. After digging round on here I found out where it was and various ways to tackle it. I normally have access to a ramp but didn't on the occasion, not a complete nightmare but tight to get to. Took the air intake off, battery out and battery tray, moved the two hoses to the side and managed to get down without removing the starter and throttle body. It's one of those jobs that once you've done one, the next one would be fairly easy. The first one is a bit of a learning curve with what tools to use to get in etc. Anyway, job done, no more cutting out, runs smooth as.