The Beast lives on! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 14-03-12 Thread Starter
County: -

Member car:

Alfa 156V6

Wave The Beast lives on!

Hi to all and first of all a big thank you to everyone who has posted technical info and fixes - It has greatly increased my Alfa car knowledge and given me the courage to have a go at various repairs which I otherwise wouldn't have known where to start on.

At this point though I thought I should introduce myself as I think I may have just crossed the line and become a hardened Alfa addict. I've been driving Alfas for the last 16 years - first a beautiful red 164 V6 Lusso and then my current 156 V6 for the last 12 years - so it's not exactly a new obsession but it's just taken a new more serious turn.

The other day my beloved 156 started and then packed in with what sounded like a thump. Having neglected it a bit of late and failed to change the cambelt I thought the worst and figured that this was probably terminal but as it was being towed away I just couldn't bear it - I love this car - so I promised myself that if the engine was still intact I would spend a whole heap of money on repairing all known faults - and there are quite a few - and bringing it back to near showroom condition.

Well, the good news is that it's fine - belt was fine and no damage , just an ECU glitch it seems - and with a reset it's now going faster than ever.......but now my promise.