New Alfista In da House - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 01-09-10 Thread Starter
County: Ash Shariqah

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 147

New Alfista In da House

Hey Guys,
Imran here. Im 23 years old and I'm from India. Yes, Im sure I'm 1 of the rare few Indians in town to own an Alfa. Or am I??

Im not exactly a total noob coz I bought my 147 from this lebanese dude back in April '10. Over the months I met and spoke to a lot of passionate Alfa owners, 1 among them Stephen Manjai. He introduced me to the Alfa Owners Club and here I am. And ever since I got my car, I've been soooo deeply in love with it, I thought I'd write an ode to the famous Italian marquee:

Its been my childhood dream to own an Alfa Romeo. Stemming way back in '98 when the then ground-breaking 156 burst into the scene becoming European Car of the Year!! That's the year I moved to Dubai from Chennai, India. And everytime I spotted an Alfa from the schoolbus window, me and my cousin would go nuts!! Everything about them, the invisible backdoors, the super gorgeous interiors, that trademark front-grill, that sexy European car exhaust note and ofcourse... the beating heart underneath the bonnet.

TopGear further fuelled my desire for Alfas... making them seem like the coolest cars to own in their brilliant show. That line by Jeremy Clarkson, "You're not a true petrol-head if you've never owned an Alfa" had me sold from there!!!

So it was no surprise that once I began working, the search for my very first car started with an A. I couldnt afford a brand new and I've heard a lot about the great value for money a 2nd-hand Alfa goes for. I really wanted a small nippy but fast car, basically a hatchback. And I'd remembered long ago that the 147 was European Car of the Year (2001).