Hi all, from Melbourne, Australia. ['85 33 Wagon] - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 19-06-09 Thread Starter
County: Victoria
Hi all, from Melbourne, Australia. ['85 33 Wagon]

So as the title states, I'm from Australia..

I'm a 22 year old guy, I am studying Audio Engineering at university in 3rd year (this semester's getting to be a bit of a drag though) and I'm also an Assistant Mechanic and Auto Electrician.

I work at a panel workshop that also rebuilds transmissions, mostly automatics, and the owner is a Mercedes wrecker. We do basically any mechanical repair as well so I've learned heaps there and every day I go to work is a learning experience. Still haven't seen an Alfa come through the doors yet. Plenty of Fords, Holdens, Peugots, Mercs, some vintage cars, some classic cars..

I picked up my 33 wagon because it was just gonna be scrapped otherwise. My best friend's mum owned it, but she already had a 90 and was buying a used (dirt cheap) Ford Taurus. Her brother was working on the 33, but unfortunately he and his wife were killed in a motorcycle accident. He was an Alfa / Ducati mechanic (not to say he didn't work on other cars/bikes). So I was half-arsedly helping out with cleaning out his garage, and someone made a comment that the 33 wagon was in the way, and then we got to talking about what to do with it, basically they wanted to scrap it, and I said that I'll take it, knowing that it needed some work. So a week later I managed to drive it up onto a trailer (on 3 cylinders).

So far, I've replaced 2 welsh plugs and some globes and done a little bit of wiring on it. Still needs a fair bit of work. I want to kit it out with all new gaskets, welsh plugs and whatever else needs doing these holidays.

The engine is a 1.5L from a Sud, apparently it was built for a racing car, and is at 1.6L.