Does the Blue and Me detect the USB key ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 22-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: Married with TI
AO Silver Member
 
mikeyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,207

Member car:

159 TI

Does the Blue and Me detect the USB key ?

Or do you have to tell it to search for it ?

Having problmms with mine so going to try another usb pen to see if that works

As things stand not even got a media player option as I scroll through the sources...
mikeyw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: waiting to buy a weekend car
AO Silver Member
 
Seasider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,130
Images: 3

Member car:

Various VAG

mikey you get to play the usb via either spoken options or the buttons on the steering wheel ... if you push the phone button (left on the left on the steering wheel face) this should come up with a menu on your dash display between the main dials ... if you then use up and down (again on the steering wheel) 'Media Player' should be an option ... either that or use the right button on the left on the steering wheel face and give one of the voice commands ...

"Play Anything"
"Artists"
"Albums"

Oh and "Autoplay Off" "Loop Off" and "Stop Music" are very useful phrases to remember

as to it detecting usb sticks ... sometimes it takes a while as it only searches for it when you turn the car on and then every few mins afterwards ... and if you have lots of music it will take a while to be ready as I think it scans the tracks first for titles/artists/etc
Seasider is offline  
Status: Fiesta Zetec S until I decide next proper car..
AO Member
 
Withy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 252
Images: 11
Did you disconnect the battery and reconnect to reset it? You can hit the CD button twice to select Media Player if the USB key is connected. There is a menu selection for autoplay too, can't remember exactly where though
Withy is offline  
Status: New old Spider owner
AO Silver Member
 
chuckyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,061
Images: 10
Mikey, I had the same problem with mine using a 16GB USB stick. It often would not detect it at all (no matter what buttons I pressed or voice commands I gave) or halfway through a trip would lose it. Since I have switched back to smaller sticks (4GB), I have not had that problem. Not sure what size USB device you're using but you may wish to try my solution. Hope I am not tempting fate here now
chuckyb is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
goceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 26
Images: 2
On a side note, I got told that you can have either the USB stick or the stacker work, i.e. Only one can be connected/wired at one time. So I've got a stacker sitting in the back for nothing.

THis doesn't make any sense to me, is it true?

I have the standard head unit.

Cheers
G
goceb is offline  
Status: New old Spider owner
AO Silver Member
 
chuckyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,061
Images: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by goceb View Post
On a side note, I got told that you can have either the USB stick or the stacker work, i.e. Only one can be connected/wired at one time. So I've got a stacker sitting in the back for nothing.

THis doesn't make any sense to me, is it true?

I have the standard head unit.

Cheers
G
I don't have the stacker fitted so cannot comment. Sorry.
chuckyb is offline  
Status: waiting to buy a weekend car
AO Silver Member
 
Seasider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,130
Images: 3

Member car:

Various VAG

I use an 8Gb USB stick
Seasider is offline  
Status: Fiesta Zetec S until I decide next proper car..
AO Member
 
Withy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 252
Images: 11
I use 2 different 16GB sticks with no issues
Withy is offline  
Status: ready
Club Member
 
andypj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,109
Images: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by goceb View Post
On a side note, I got told that you can have either the USB stick or the stacker work, i.e. Only one can be connected/wired at one time. So I've got a stacker sitting in the back for nothing.

THis doesn't make any sense to me, is it true?

I have the standard head unit.

Cheers
G
It shouldn't make a difference with blue&me. It would if you were using a cd changer emulator (dension icelink, connects2 or Xcarlink) that uses the cd changer connector as their input then it would, but from what I understand (and you are welcome to shoot me down in flames if youknow better) blue and me does not work this way.
andypj is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Specially bought 16GB is not recognised.

both 8GB and 4GB ones work, but at some point you can no longer
look at artists or albums info. Still seems to play the music though.

Flakey. Need to find the right one and stick to it, I'll bet.


Can we start a sticky detailing stick that do/don't work?

 
Status: quo ante bellum
Club Member
 
Stewart1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,230
Images: 11
Kingston 32GB Data Traveller stick works for me. Only problem is with a stick that big it takes quite a few minutes to build the library. On the other hand, with a stick that big you don't need to change it very often!
Stewart1 is offline  
Status: Stealth mode.
AO Member
 
dcystar147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 417
Images: 7
16 GB Kingston Data Traveller works fine for me but......:-

When first inserted appeared to do nothing. Gave up and drove on listening to radio. Stopped car and came back a bit later and hey presto, media player working.
I never received any messages about building a library, just nothing on the first startup, and then working on the second startup.

Confirm it's in the right way and then leave it. It may suddenly decide to work.
dcystar147 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > ICE & Blue&Me

Tags
blue , detect , key , usb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome