156 2.0 ts cambelt change - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 27,749
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

EB Spares will ship a set of camlocks to you.
They are used to exporting outside of the UK, so could be your best bet.
David C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

if the timing has been compromised (which it possibly has slightly but not enough to cause valve/piston contact), and assuming you can not get access to cam locks (which you cant easily), the best way to set the timing is to insert a rod into the spark plug hole on cylinder 1, then rotate the engine using a ratchet on the crankshaft pulley bolt until cylinder 1 is at TDC of the compression stoke. at that point inspect the rockers for cylinder 1, they should be perfectly level (both valves closed), and on cylinder 4 they should be perfectly level too (again both closed). knowing the firing order is 1 3 4 2 you know that the rockers for cylinder 2 should be in the position for exhaust (inlet fully closed exhaust fully open) and on cylinder 3 should be in the positon for inlet (inlet fully open exhaust fuly closed). people may argue that you cant use the rockers for this because there is a good 15degrees of movement where the rocker would be in the fully open position, so you should rotate each camshaft slightly (and carefully) once the belt is removed to watch the rockers move so you make sure you have them in the centre of the 15degrees range. then use the new timing belt's teeth to dictate exactly how each cam pulley will sit. if you dont feel comfortable doing this take it to a garage, any mechanic can do it easily.
jug is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 27,749
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by jug View Post
...at that point inspect the rockers for cylinder 1,...
rockers...
There are no rockers in a 16v TS engine...
David C is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

sorry, the cam lobes
jug is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

anyway what the hell am i thinking, just set the crank in line with the timing mark then set lobe5 on the inlet fully up and lobe3 on the exhaust fully up (that is all the cam locks do, lock those lobes when fully up)
jug is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 27,749
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by jug View Post
set lobe5 on the inlet fully up and lobe3 on the exhaust fully up (that is all the cam locks do, lock those lobes when fully up)
Are you sure: see pic here
David C is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

you're right they are off by a few degrees. in that case you cant use the timing mark for the crank and you'll need to set piston1 to TDC using the rod method instead. the crank timing mark must be slightly before TDC?
jug is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31,358
Images: 13
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Does anyone know if there is a haynes manual for a Fiat Punto HGT? as the method of locking cams and setting timing is the same. It even uses the same cam locks.

I have used haynes manuals in the past for other cars, mostly Rovers and to be honest I have never found them much help.
symon is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

i have the mk2 punto manual, but to be honest i cant remember if it covers the 1.8, i think it does. i know the bravo/a manual covers the 1.8, and apart from the variator difference its the same job (same block, slightly different head) but the variator difference doesn't affect a timing belt change so you can use the bravo/a haynes (it describes both cam lock and normal methods and instructions to make a cam pulley tool).
jug is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by jug View Post
i cant be bothered to argue this point but i promise you you're wrong, ask any other mechanic, or read any haynes manual for any model of car.

No you're wrong and Dave is 100% correct. To do the job without camlocks is a bodge.
 
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Images: 1

Member car:

156

Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

You Could Always Mark The Cam Lobes As Well As The Pullys With Tipex.........
PINFOLD0_2 is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31,358
Images: 13
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by PINFOLD0_2 View Post
You Could Always Mark The Cam Lobes As Well As The Pullys With Tipex.........
You could but you still wouldn't know if the timing was correct when you started. It should be but you cannot take it for granted.
symon is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,680
Images: 23
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris155 View Post
No you're wrong and Dave is 100% correct. To do the job without camlocks is a bodge.
99% of independant garages do it without the locks simply because they cant afford to buy locks for every job, haynes manuals tell you that locks are not needed and describe the alternative process, are you seriously suggesting you know better than haynes and the entire industry?
jug is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31,358
Images: 13
Re: 156 2.0 ts cambelt change

Quote:
Originally Posted by jug View Post
99% of independant garages do it without the locks simply because they cant afford to buy locks for every job, haynes manuals tell you that locks are not needed and describe the alternative process, are you seriously suggesting you know better than haynes and the entire industry?
Thats why you should take it to a specialist. They will have the correct tools for the job.

Having the cam timing out even slightly reduces the performance a lot. I found my car a lot better after I had changed the belt using the blocks as the timing was quite a way before I started. The previous owner had been driving the car for 44,000 miles with the cam timing set wrong.

The balance shafts weren't lined up either but thats another story.
The garage that fitted the belt before were only a general garage, and not a specialist.

symon is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
156 , cambelt , change

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome