Page displayed but with errors - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Announcements & Comments A lounge for staff announcements.
If we have ideas, requests or something to tell you, it will go in here.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 24 Old 26-01-07 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 29,888
Images: 45
Help Page displayed but with errors

I'm getting this message today, together with the little yellow triangular icon with an ! in it in the lower left hand corner of the screen:-

Error: Syntax error
Line: 2
URL:http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/

All other sites seem fine

Any ideas

Thanks,
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broken again...
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 17
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,663
Images: 6
Garage
Re: Page displayed but with errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadrone Rosso
I
Error: Syntax error
This generally denotes a spelling mistake or a non-conforming usage of command.

Could be that the php parser on the server is screwing up because of the hits it is taking and the code it's outputting to your browser is screwed up.

I just checked and there was something like a 3:1 ratio of non members and members browsing the forum. Maybe a way to battle the downtime and errors would be to make some of the other area's members only like the images section.

What do you reckon Ian?

P.S. Mind if I write a begging letter to Alfa UK to get them to subsidies costs? Great PR for them

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,758

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I've been seeing that error message for days (can't recall exactly how long). I just assumed it had something to do with the settings of my security software (which has been giving me a bit of grief lately).
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alfa78PP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bledlow, Bucks
Posts: 780
Images: 8
Re: Page displayed but with errors

I've been experienccing a similar problem and wondered if it had something to do with this link:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/annou...-disabled.html
Alfa78PP is offline  
Ant
Status: Always hopeful yet discontent.
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Ant's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 92
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Somewhere far beyond...
Posts: 38,299

Member car:

2014 Honda CR-V

Re: Page displayed but with errors

Yup, it started displaying the error thingy today for me...
Ant is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 24 Old 27-01-07 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 29,888
Images: 45
Re: Page displayed but with errors

That explains why I can't find the search function as well
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,044
Images: 83

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I dont get the page displayed with errors in ie7 or firefox? WHat browser you guys using please?

AO
alfaowner is offline  
Status: The BSD says konnichiwa
Global Mod Team
 
BigFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Italy
County: Milano
Posts: 113,594
Images: 14
Garage
Re: Page displayed but with errors

I with Safari and haven't experienced this problem.
BigFoot is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 24 Old 27-01-07 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 29,888
Images: 45
Re: Page displayed but with errors

IE 7 but with a BT total broadband twist Still getting the same message tonight

You're back though - that's all that matters
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
mikebrown
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Page displayed but with errors

IE 7 with no problems..



 
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,248
Images: 2
Re: Page displayed but with errors

Dear All, Thank the Lord! It's up and running again, FANTASTICICO! In future I will moderate my opinions and over exuberance, just in case I was part of the problem. Seriously though, sincere thanks to all behind the scenes who make this a superbly unique, well presented site. From one little minnow, Thanks Z.F.
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Wrenched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,807

Member car:

GTV 24v

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I'm still getting this problem, sent Gruppenfuhrer a note about it.
Crappy I.E. 6.0.2800.1106 updates sp1, Q810847, etsc etc ZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Wrenched is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,248
Images: 2
Re: Page displayed but with errors

Can only offer my sympathy Wrenched, failing that what about the Obergruppenfuehrer? Oder?
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3

Member car:

GTV 2.0 Lusso

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I'm also having this problem. It appears to be a java script error in the prototype js file. That's as far as my techiness goes...
Tilse is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfaredthegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,262
Re: Page displayed but with errors

FYI

I get this problem consistently in both IE7 and Firefox2.0

Everything (except the shop!) seems to function preoperly though.
alfaredthegreat is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,044
Images: 83

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I found it, but I cant fix it yet, leave this with me Although i must say, I dont get this error on either the latest IE7 or the latest FF?
alfaowner is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jamieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,485
Re: Page displayed but with errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaowner
I found it, but I cant fix it yet, leave this with me Although i must say, I dont get this error on either the latest IE7 or the latest FF?
Just to let you know, I get the error on the latest versions of both.

IE7 gives the "done, but with errors on page" whereas FF looks like there are no errors until you look in Tools - Error Console.

It's by no means a big deal, though, just letting you know.
jamieboy is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,758

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Re: Page displayed but with errors

I view AO with IE 6.0.xxxx and I get the error. I haven't tried the site with my old version of FF yet.
Toronto Spider is offline  
Status: cornea come l'inferno
AO Silver Member
 
Hoygaard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
County: Kobenhavn
Posts: 4,156

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: Page displayed but with errors

No probs with firefox, IE 7.0 showing the error msg
Hoygaard is offline  
Status: cornea come l'inferno
AO Silver Member
 
Hoygaard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
County: Kobenhavn
Posts: 4,156

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: Page displayed but with errors

Oops, just read the post above Tor's;

Warning: Error in parsing value for property 'position'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/forum...th-errors.html
Line: 00
Hoygaard is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,758

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Re: Page displayed but with errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoygaard View Post
Oops, just read the post above Tor's;

Warning: Error in parsing value for property 'position'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/forum...th-errors.html
Line: 00
No reason for the "oops." It's just that somebody upstream mentioned they only saw the problem with newer versions of IE. I just wanted to point out that it's happening with older versions too.
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jamieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,485
Re: Page displayed but with errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto Spider
No reason for the "oops."
I read that as "oops" because he'd said he didn't get the error in FF but after checking the Error Console realised that he did, it just didn't tell him?
jamieboy is offline  
Status: cornea come l'inferno
AO Silver Member
 
Hoygaard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
County: Kobenhavn
Posts: 4,156

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: Page displayed but with errors

Exactly Jamie, but kudo's to Tor for not going for my throat
Hoygaard is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,758

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Re: Page displayed but with errors

Actually I think the oops should be on my part for misreading Hoygs' post. But I'm not going to bother.
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Announcements & Comments

Tags
displayed , errors , page

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome