Attachments... how do you reuse...? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Announcements & Comments A lounge for staff announcements.
If we have ideas, requests or something to tell you, it will go in here.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 20-03-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,938
Attachments... how do you reuse...?

With the new system it won't let you attach an image to a reply if you have already uploaded it in a previous thread. I can't see a way of linking to existing attachments either...
I tried simply renaming the pic on my PC and uploading it again, but the system wouldn't let me do that either...
David C is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

You've done the right click/properties I guess?

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 17 Old 20-03-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,938
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

on what, where??
David C is online now  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Right click on the foto itself (where it is already posted) then click properties to get the foto's link. No idea if it will help in this case but that's the easy way to link directly to fotos....but I would think you'd know that?

wrinx
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

test
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Mmm, doesn't work....sorry

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #7 of 17 Old 21-03-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,938
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinx
Right click on the foto itself (where it is already posted) then click properties to get the foto's link. No idea if it will help in this case but that's the easy way to link directly to fotos....but I would think you'd know that?
Yep, tried that, didn't work.
So it looks like there is no way to use the same pic twice, if that is the case what is the point of being able to see all your own attachments in your profile (if you can't actually do anything with them)?

This "new improved" attachment system isn't looking like an improvement at the moment!!
David C is online now  
Status: -
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
kurzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 45,472
Images: 1

Member car:

156 2.0 JTS

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinx
test
Sorry if this post makes no sense, but I can see an image and can click on it, to enlarge in separate window... in your post

I'm going to download and attach here.

Could this be another classic/modern skin difference/bug?

EDIT2: Switched to Classic and I could see the attachments Sorry for the confusion.

EDIT1: I can attach the pic and see it down there:
.¦
.¦
\¦/

Last edited by kurzon; 21-03-06 at 18:19.
kurzon is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 17 Old 21-03-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,938
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

To test it properly you need to try it with an image that you have already used in a different thread.
David C is online now  
Status: -
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
kurzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 45,472
Images: 1

Member car:

156 2.0 JTS

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Yep you can't re-upload a pic which you already have.

Testing Wrinx's idea...

1) can't link URL in attachment

2) try paste here:-

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attac...1&d=1142962754

That works... any help?

Ideally we want to be able to link in the attachment bit I suppose. I can see a list of all my attachment so I guess we need a select facility?
kurzon is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 17 Old 21-03-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,938
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attac...1&d=1121597354

It is a start, but yes it would be better to be able to select one or more of your own attachment to use in a reply.

Last edited by David C; 21-03-06 at 19:02.
David C is online now  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 1561
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Netherlands
County: -
Posts: 12,865
Images: 305

Member car:

busso powered

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

I am trying to find a solution to re-use the stored images.

For the time being you can store an image more then once which means you can at least download them from the old thread and upload them to the new thread.

When the structural solution has been found I will mention that in this thread.
selespeed is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,044
Images: 83

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C
Yep, tried that, didn't work.
So it looks like there is no way to use the same pic twice, if that is the case what is the point of being able to see all your own attachments in your profile (if you can't actually do anything with them)?

This "new improved" attachment system isn't looking like an improvement at the moment!!
Hi David, firstly, thanks for asking this question, I would much rather you ask than don't. The attachment system is certainly not improved over the old one, however, it will attach and download faster, but the functions are exactly the same. We can quite easily allow permanent attachments to be uploaded more than once, but this is just a terrible waste of very limited resources and cash. Therefore we have to make compromises, however, I am willing to look at the linking issue to find a resolution.

The reason for being able to see your attachments in your profile is so that when you reach your maximum allocation of attachment storage space, you are forced to delete attachments off. But by the trend we have seen so far, this is a long way off as our storage space is still massive. But as we grow so does the attachment databases and by some multiplier!! So we members must have a way to delete them off other than an Admin using the brutal way of pruning by x,y,z date and pressing mass delete from all accounts and forums lounges.

Stick in there, Ill find a reliable and efficient way... So in the mean time, please tell me the possible reasons as to where and why you would need to link to the image so I can make sure we get it right first time.

Thanks again for asking this...

AO
alfaowner is offline  
Status: up to my eyeballs in work :-(
AO Gold Member
 
Green Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 7,160
Images: 13
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Surely, if the issue is storage space and the system knows that you have already used the same image before, why can't it duplicate the link to the image in the second thread. This would therefore allow us to reuse the image without storing it again on the server.

Or have I over-simplified the problem?

(sorry, I have no idea how the forum software works)
Green Cloverleaf is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 1561
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Netherlands
County: -
Posts: 12,865
Images: 305

Member car:

busso powered

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

It is of course possible to post a link to the image, like this:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attac...9&d=1142625271

but it would be nicer to show the thumbnail again
selespeed is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,044
Images: 83

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Cloverleaf
Surely, if the issue is storage space and the system knows that you have already used the same image before, why can't it duplicate the link to the image in the second thread. This would therefore allow us to reuse the image without storing it again on the server.

Or have I over-simplified the problem?

(sorry, I have no idea how the forum software works)
Er, this is what we will try but with a thumbnail link instead of text, but its not on my list of priority as we are still building the site at the moment
alfaowner is offline  
Status: up to my eyeballs in work :-(
AO Gold Member
 
Green Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 7,160
Images: 13
Re: Attachments... how do you reuse...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaowner
Er, this is what we will try but with a thumbnail link instead of text, but its not on my list of priority as we are still building the site at the moment




Thanks, Ian - I look forward to it




[Green Cloverleaf - recycling attachments at a forum near you! ]
Green Cloverleaf is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Announcements & Comments

Tags
attachments , reuse

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome