Change browser!!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Announcements & Comments A lounge for staff announcements.
If we have ideas, requests or something to tell you, it will go in here.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 23-01-04 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wimster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Belgium
County: Antwerpen
Posts: 8,140
Images: 108
Idea Change browser!!!

For all of you who say the forum is slow, change your browser!
Try Netscape or Mozilla or Opera or whatever.. I had problems with the OLD forum in the past (slow and unstable) until I changed to Netscape.. Now everything works fine. My browser never crashes anymore. It takes a bit longer for the initial loading of webpages, but once they're cached, I surf at light speed
At work, I still use IE, and there the forum (and other sites) are much slower, although the connection speed should be much quicker (LAN)
Try it!!!
Wimster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Dunfermline, Scottyland
Posts: 1,212
Re: Change browser!!!

lol... whim... you serious?

It's like playing solitair on the PC... it crashes or runs slowly i'll wipe windows and install linux.

Nah... dreaming mate... not moving to that Netscape crap.
The guys will eventually sort the problem out

hmmmmm beginning to look like microsoft has taken over lol... yes it is better honest... we just need to plug something to help
(before someone goes mad... warning! tounge in cheek comments made here )

j
jason77 is offline  
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Mooney Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
It's like playing solitair on the PC... it crashes or runs slowly i'll wipe windows and install linux.
Exactly what should be done!!

Quote:
Nah... dreaming mate... not moving to that Netscape crap.
Netscape is crap... Mozilla beats IE any day... DON'T use IE it's crap!

Pasi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Che Boludo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dublin, Shamrocklandia
Posts: 943

Member car:

a DIRRRRRRTY 145

Re: Change browser!!!

I use Mozilla in work for all my non work-related stuff cos it doesn't crash like IE does!
(have to use IE for some work related stuff which crashes, can't have that affecting my surfing now!!)
No speed problems with AO yet.
-Nick
Che Boludo is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Change browser!!!

I've just downloaded Mozilla as recommended, it does appear to be a lot faster but is doing all sorts of strange things to the pages!! Some are wider than my screen, one post was in a little box to the right and some are the same as normal....huh??? Also jerky now, didn't have any of this with IE.

wrinx
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Change browser!!!

Don't do it!!! Mozilla is pants I've had some pages 50% bigger than they should be when showing and more posts to the right...gets worse if you refresh the page Back to IE for me.
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Dunfermline, Scottyland
Posts: 1,212
Re: Change browser!!!

think the point is that we shouldn't need to change browser



J
jason77 is offline  
MT
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 3,288
Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinx
Don't do it!!! Mozilla is pants I've had some pages 50% bigger than they should be when showing and more posts to the right...gets worse if you refresh the page Back to IE for me.
Each browser has it's own way of rendering or interpreting HTML, a lot of pages/sites are tested in IE without being tested in other browsers which is why this problem occurs.
As Jason says we shouldn't need to change browser though, and the site works fine for me in IE.
MT is offline  
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Re: Change browser!!!

I use mozilla at home and IE at work... and have no problems with neither browser (if we don't count that IE crashes atleast once every day while mozilla doesn't)...

And the width thing occurs both in IE and in mozilla for me ... So don't blame mozilla!
Pasi is offline  
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063
Images: 16

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: Change browser!!!

I use IE and it doesn't crash any more than any other Microcrap product.

Is it just me or does WinXP seem to have more problems than previous Windows editions.
Pascs is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
McGuinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland.
Posts: 3,194

Member car:

145 1.8 TS

Re: Change browser!!!

95% of the world can't be wrong if they use IE...
I haven't had a browser crash in 4 months...
Just get to know how to clear the cache and cookies as needed... all sorted.
McGuinn is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasi
And the width thing occurs both in IE and in mozilla for me ... So don't blame mozilla!
I will continue to blame Mozilla thank you...especially as I have never had a problem with IE and it certainly has never done the width thing!

Agree with Jason...changing the browser should not be necessary...I don't for any onther website.

wrinx
 
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinx
I will continue to blame Mozilla thank you...especially as I have never had a problem with IE and it certainly has never done the width thing!

Agree with Jason...changing the browser should not be necessary...I don't for any onther website.

wrinx
Ofcourse, changing the browser isn't the solution... It's like saying you should drive an audi instead of Alfa Romeo because it might break down...
Pasi is offline  
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Thumbs Up Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by McGuinn
95% of the world can't be wrong if they use IE...
Ask yourself why 95% are using IE ??

If windows wouldn't be the most common OS or if IE wouldn't be integrated in the windows OS, would you think 95% of the browser users would be using IE ?!?!?!

It's like most "common" Alfa drivers are totally satisfied with the default exhaust system, but some who know better have removed the original and installed something better... Think Mozilla as a better performance aftermarket spare

(Sorry I'm not that good at ranting in English )
Pasi is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Treffynnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: surrey.uk:80
Posts: 2,193
Images: 8

Member car:

Sold :(

Re: Change browser!!!

Get Opera its the best in my opinion

I have used all the common web browsers and some obscure ones I find that it runs the best. It also runs on most OS's unlike internet explorer. I don't test my websites on IE anymore its not worth the effort. MS should stop writing there own codes and stick to the W3C recommendations. Besides who could browse without tabs!

Besides all that who could go past the better cache management (meaning that unlike IE you don't download the exact same page twice for no reason) and faster rendering times. Plus its a lot more customisable and has a nice light email component built in.

Simon

http://www.SimonHolywell.com
http://www.FullOctane.com
http://www.alfasprint.co.cc

"Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel." Samuel Johnson
"Patriotism is the virtue of the vicious." Oscar Wilde

Last edited by Treffynnon; 05-02-04 at 08:55. Reason: missed something out
Treffynnon is offline  
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Mooney Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eminence
I don't test my websites on IE anymore its not worth the effort.
That's not very wise... It might give a wrong idea of your skills

Quote:
Originally Posted by eminence
MS should stop writing there own codes and stick to the W3C recommendations.
I think so too, but that is their way to do business, implement these non-standard "shiny" things that don't work in other browsers to make their product look better... And atleast IE 6.0 has had broken CSS parser right from the begining and M$ doesn't do anything about it...
These are the kind of things that give webdevelopers a headache!!
Pasi is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eminence
Get Opera its the best in my opinion


Simon
I looked at Opera and read some reviews about it that were not very favourable! Also couldn't find a free download that wasn't Ad supported

wrinx
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Wisrute B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: idle to 7500rpm
Posts: 2,115
Images: 9

Member car:

156 & WRX PPP

Re: Change browser!!!

The problem is that I've already been using Mozilla Firebird and Safari (on Mac) since the old forum. So there isn't any other browser to change to! Opera is about the same speed as the two browsers above anyway.

But yes other browsers are generally faster than IE.
Wisrute B. is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Treffynnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: surrey.uk:80
Posts: 2,193
Images: 8

Member car:

Sold :(

Re: Change browser!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasi
That's not very wise... It might give a wrong idea of your skills
By that I mean that when I produce a website I just give the once over with IE and if nothing crops up then so be it. Besides some of my friends use IE so I just ask them to do it for me! Novice users are better testers anyway and a developer is usually the last person who should be testing their own work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrinx
I looked at Opera and read some reviews about it that were not very favourable! Also couldn't find a free download that wasn't Ad supported
Thats because its not free software and I don't think it has ever been free. But there are three options:
  • Put up with the minisule ad
  • Buy the software
  • Go to a crack website - Don't do it. Support the developer.

If you love IE so much then try: http://www.myie2.com. Its basically IE with some enhancement to bring the browser into the modern age.

Simon
Treffynnon is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Announcements & Comments

Tags
browser , change

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome