Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Announcements & Comments A lounge for staff announcements.
If we have ideas, requests or something to tell you, it will go in here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: The Bored, BORED
AO Gold Member
 
Snokio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 6,453
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Thought there was a domain name server problem. I was lonely - and bored!!
BORED huh :Bored:

:flirt:




Gibbo, have you left costa-del-Luton for good
Snokio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,877
Images: 12
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfafamily View Post
It worked all day at work but still can't connect via Sky broadband at home. Connects OK using my phone. Is the problem ISP influenced (on static IP at work with Supanet).
Same here ... so I've updated my DNS servers to use OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet ...and now it works ...
156Chris is offline  
Status: Being of sound body
AO Platinum Member
 
73GTVJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 23,146
Images: 32
Garage
Re: Alfaowner access issues

I have only just managed to get back on a minute ago (8.07pm).

I was getting quite concerned yesterday and today.
73GTVJim is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,877
Images: 12
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Would it be possible that when problems like this happen that we are emailed stating there is a problem ... or at least the active members ... well maybe just the paying members ... actually just email me
156Chris is offline  
happy man
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How do I get sky to connect I can see AO on me phone but not on me laptop
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Carlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midlands
Posts: 119

Member car:

159 2.2 JTS

Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
I just went on forum.alfa156.net and gave them some abuse instead

We used you as our ***** for the evening.....we liked you
Carlb is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,877
Images: 12
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlb View Post
We used you as our ***** for the evening.....we liked you
It's quite funny over there ... looks like I'll a double forum poster from now one
156Chris is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,876
Images: 2
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snokio View Post
Gibbo, have you left costa-del-Luton for good
Yes chap. You need to catch up on all the threads about me marrying Lynn and moving to live in Bristol etc etc
Gibbo is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,822
Images: 4

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy man View Post
How do I get sky to connect I can see AO on me phone but not on me laptop
I cant connect from work but home is ok, looks like AO is running partly on a backup dns server so might be a while before its all back
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Carlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midlands
Posts: 119

Member car:

159 2.2 JTS

Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
It's quite funny over there ... looks like I'll a double forum poster from now one

you would be welcome
Carlb is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 833
Re: Alfaowner access issues

... back out of rehab
caradoc is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 833
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by caradoc View Post
... back out of rehab
....didn't realise I was so dependant!
caradoc is offline  
happy man
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Thanks Jack so it looks like my home link is fooked then
 
EddieGTA
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy man View Post
Thanks Jack so it looks like my home link is fooked then
If it is DNS issues, then it may be some time for the servers your connection use to resolve names to pick up changes. Follow the opendns link earlier in the thread and it should change the servers your PC is using to look convert names like alfaowner.com to IP addresses and with a bit of luck start working.

Just remoted into my PC at work and still can't alfaowner there, bit s... considering we are pretty much on the internet backbone!
 
Status: R.I.P Allan Simonsen
AO Silver Member
 
philoldsmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,190
Re: Alfaowner access issues

i ws on the phone to a saleen mustang owning friend last night when i mentioned the alfa owner forum being down. he took the ****, saying about it being broken because it has alfa in the name.

he then went out and broke his mustang!!

i should point out that i have a mustang too...... it is also broken. soon to be fixed and sold
philoldsmobile is offline  
Status: R.I.P Allan Simonsen
AO Silver Member
 
philoldsmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,190
Re: Alfaowner access issues

things have got so bad with the lack of AO, i have started watching wine TV
philoldsmobile is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
rancido64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 2,987
Re: Alfaowner access issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFoot View Post
Man, I was hyperventilating for almost a day
x2!

I thought it had been taken away
rancido64 is offline  
Status: .................... ...
Regional Representative
For United Arab Emirates - AO-UAE
 
Stephen Manjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Arab Emirates
County: -
Posts: 1,214
Images: 28
Re: Alfaowner access issues

I still don't have access if i use internet explorer the normal way i always do... and with AO being my default page when i got a 404 error - page not found... ..i was livid to say the least, then a feeling of depression came through afterwards, now i know i'm addicted to AO...

to get on today i'm using anchor free hotspot sheild which changes your ip address, sounds shady... yes but its the only way i can get my daily dose of AO now, ridiculous....
Stephen Manjai is offline  
Status: The BSD says konnichiwa
Global Mod Team
 
BigFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Italy
County: Milano
Posts: 113,594
Images: 14
Garage
Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

Why not empty the cache and try again? Perhaps that'll sort the issue out
BigFoot is offline  
Status: .................... ...
Regional Representative
For United Arab Emirates - AO-UAE
 
Stephen Manjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Arab Emirates
County: -
Posts: 1,214
Images: 28
Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

Thanks Maurizio, will try that new and see what happens..!!
Stephen Manjai is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
County: -
Posts: 164

Member car:

Alfa 147 1.6 TS

Problems entering the site?

Hi,

I used to enter this web site from different locations and different computers. I did not think it would be a problem but I guess it was. Now I am not able to enter neither from my home pc nor from my office pc. I get message - your browser is not able to find the URL.
Am I being banned or something? I really like the forum and if I did something wrong it was not on purpose.

I use wireless router at home and I am now able to enter the forum only because I have plugged the internet cable directly in my laptop.

Is there a problem with my IP?

What do I have to do to fix this?

Thanks.
kkkrisss is offline  
Status: .................... ...
Regional Representative
For United Arab Emirates - AO-UAE
 
Stephen Manjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Arab Emirates
County: -
Posts: 1,214
Images: 28
Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFoot View Post
Why not empty the cache and try again? Perhaps that'll sort the issue out
This is what my internet explorer says to me...

now using hotspot sheild and this is what i go through before coming on here... have to change my bloomin ip address... not cool...

Last edited by Stephen Manjai; 02-02-09 at 09:30.
Stephen Manjai is offline  
Status: STAYING ALIVE IN MY 3.0.....
AO Silver Member
 
broom_zoeyellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Sao Tome upon The Grand Union
Posts: 1,482
Images: 4
Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

not resolved yet....wondering when ill get the error 404 msg again...
broom_zoeyellow is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
County: -
Posts: 164

Member car:

Alfa 147 1.6 TS

Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFoot View Post
Why not empty the cache and try again? Perhaps that'll sort the issue out
Does not help. I can only enter if I change my IP address or through a proxy.
Both my office and home pc are blocked from entering the site.
I believe this has something to do with people who enter the forum from different computers and different IPs.

Any ideas?
kkkrisss is offline  
Status: Now driving a BMW :(
AO Platinum Member
 
RicksAlfas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 17,033
Images: 11

Member car:

1750GTV 147Lusso

Re: Alfaowner access issues - RESOLVED

Some peeps on Pistonheads can't get on either...
What has happened to Alfaowner?
RicksAlfas is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Announcements & Comments

Tags
access , alfaowner , issues , resolved

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome