Mito owner in need of more power!!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 74 Old 28-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
antonio/ferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 20

Member car:

brera 2.4 jtdm

Mito owner in need of more power!!!

Hello Fellow Mito owners

I am a very proud owner of a Mito and it fulfills to please me non stop.
My only wish is for a little more performance at times!

Although the DNA feature is effective at giving the car a little extra kick
I still would like more to satisfy my need for speed.

Could somebody point me in the right direction for some effective modifcations
without the need of doing a j-turn through Halfords
antonio/ferrari is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Resigned to it
Club Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 38,418

Member car:

vRS

Which Mito do you have? Be careful with engine mods, you're in danger of voiding your warranty.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 74 Old 29-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
antonio/ferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 20

Member car:

brera 2.4 jtdm

Help

I have the 1.4 tb. yeah i wouldnt want to muck the warranty up.
Any ideas?
antonio/ferrari is offline  
Status: Resigned to it
Club Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 38,418

Member car:

vRS

performance air filter, there are so many things you could do but keeping the warranty in tact is difficult.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: come on.
AO Gold Member
 
alfapud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,705
Images: 22

Member car:

Alfasud, 33

how about some seat covers?
might add 5bhp
and some racing stripes?
possibilities are endless
alfapud is offline  
Darren156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What's the 1.4 TB got, 120Brake?
 
Status: My real name is DAVE
AO Silver Member
 
anthony1664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,341
mangos turbo mod if it the 155bhp will take you up to 172bhp and they warranty it too, have a look here:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tunin...st-2009-a.html
anthony1664 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 74 Old 29-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
antonio/ferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 20

Member car:

brera 2.4 jtdm

The seat covers and stripes are a brilliant idea........... but unfortunatly im not 17 any more

Is the Autodelta box basically a chip or remap?
Do you know if it affects the DNA feature? (will I still have the option of dynamic, normal and all weather modes)
antonio/ferrari is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,455
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

We remap all Mito,s but as i see you are in Surrey,i think we are a bit too far for you,so why dont you try Adie at AHM on 01252 845717.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: Just when you thought it was safe mwahaha ;)
AO Gold Member
 
Alfa-Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,811
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren156 View Post
What's the 1.4 TB got, 120Brake?
or 155
Alfa-Red is offline  
Status: Mito going strong, under 15k in 2 years!
AO Member
 
FoxRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 592
Images: 2

Member car:

Mito 120 Veloce

What can you remap a 120 to?
FoxRacer is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,455
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxracer View Post
what can you remap a 120 to?
15 but we can get more than that if you are prepared to spend money and upgrade other parts as well.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Thebossman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327

Member car:

Alfa Mito

What's the cost on the basic 120 remap?
What are the other options?
Thebossman is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,455
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

Pm send.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: Mito going strong, under 15k in 2 years!
AO Member
 
FoxRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 592
Images: 2

Member car:

Mito 120 Veloce

I'd like to know the pricing and options too please
FoxRacer is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 74 Old 29-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
antonio/ferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 20

Member car:

brera 2.4 jtdm

cheers for the info ALFA TUNER.

The distance to mangos would have been a little far for me.

I have the 155 do you know what sort of power AHM can get?
antonio/ferrari is offline  
Darren156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Someone get a 155 upto 200BHP as soon as possible, that would FLYYYYY.....
 
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,455
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonio/ferrari View Post
cheers for the info ALFA TUNER.

The distance to mangos would have been a little far for me.

I have the 155 do you know what sort of power AHM can get?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren156 View Post
Someone get a 155 upto 200BHP as soon as possible, that would FLYYYYY.....

Lets just say that both us and AHM have achieved figures as those mentioned ,but anything over 20% increase and the turbo requires substituting with a better one,as well as another intercooler,etc.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
AHM
Status: -
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
AHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 278
Images: 1

Member car:

alfa 33 2.0 race

We can REMAP the full Mito range
The Mito 155 tb we take 180 to 185 bhp the best one ive seen 187 bhp

The Mito 120 to 145/150 bhp
The remaps remove the bad flat spots they have from std
plus this is with the std hardware so the engine bay is std so no warranty problems

we can set the the 180 BHP plus map to The D setting
and the the std 155 to N and A
AHM is offline  
Status: Mito going strong, under 15k in 2 years!
AO Member
 
FoxRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 592
Images: 2

Member car:

Mito 120 Veloce

You say it won't affect the warranty (on the 120tb) but surely it will? I mean if it breaks and I take it to the Alfa Dealer and they plug their diagnostic machine in, will they not be able to tell its been remapped?
FoxRacer is offline  
AHM
Status: -
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
AHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 278
Images: 1

Member car:

alfa 33 2.0 race

They dont have the software or hardware to read the file and compare to std
they only have diagnostic tool
AHM is offline  
Status: Mr mamalasagne
AO Platinum Member
 
Viking Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19,783
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHM View Post
We can REMAP the full Mito range
The Mito 155 tb we take 180 to 185 bhp the best one ive seen 187 bhp

The Mito 120 to 145/150 bhp
The remaps remove the bad flat spots they have from std
plus this is with the std hardware so the engine bay is std so no warranty problems

we can set the the 180 BHP plus map to The D setting
and the the std 155 to N and A
Now that is a bloody good idea!

180 bhp in a MiTo - now that I would like to try
Viking Dad is offline  
Status: Mr mamalasagne
AO Platinum Member
 
Viking Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19,783
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxRacer View Post
You say it won't affect the warranty (on the 120tb) but surely it will? I mean if it breaks and I take it to the Alfa Dealer and they plug their diagnostic machine in, will they not be able to tell its been remapped?
Technically yes, it voids the warranty but it is totally undetectable since there are no hardware mods and the dealers can't compare the ECU settings to standard - all they can do is upgrade the software to the latest Alfa standard. The worst thing that can happen is they wipe the map and you have to have it put back on. I don't know what AHM's policy on this is, but Angel Tuning (for example) will put the map back on for free if it is wiped by an upgrade.

If I were to improve the performance of a 2.4 159 ti still under warranty I would investigate the implications of a map very closely and then probably go for it :innocent: I'd probably do the same with a 2.4 Lusso

Alfa Stalking Trumpeting Muppet No1 & one half of the Scandinavian Trumpeting Pasta Monster
mamalasagne and me, somewhat posher than we ought to be
:trumpetl: :bye: :trumpetr:
159 1.9JTDm SW > a flashy 159 2.4JTDm ti & a lovely 159 2.4 Lusso > Flashy 159 2.4 ti 260bhp & 156 SW 1.8ts > 159ti & 9-3 > 911 & 159ti
Viking Dad is offline  
Status: Mito going strong, under 15k in 2 years!
AO Member
 
FoxRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 592
Images: 2

Member car:

Mito 120 Veloce

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking Dad View Post
Technically yes, it voids the warranty but it is totally undetectable since there are no hardware mods and the dealers can't compare the ECU settings to standard - all they can do is upgrade the software to the latest Alfa standard. The worst thing that can happen is they wipe the map and you have to have it put back on. I don't know what AHM's policy on this is, but Angel Tuning (for example) will put the map back on for free if it is wiped by an upgrade.

If I were to improve the performance of a 2.4 159 ti still under warranty I would investigate the implications of a map very closely and then probably go for it :innocent: I'd probably do the same with a 2.4 Lusso
Thanks Dad!
FoxRacer is offline  
Status: Mr mamalasagne
AO Platinum Member
 
Viking Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19,783
Images: 5
You're welcome
Viking Dad is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa MiTo

Tags
mito , owner , power

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome