Very ill V6!! Help Please - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 32 Old 23-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Very ill V6!! Help Please

I wonder if anyone can help?
Going to work this morning car started to loose power, eventually would not pull at all and had to be recovered by AA, Noticed burning smell which seemed to be coming from around air Box area. I stripped back wiring but could not find any issues. Changed MAF and re-set ECU. Car stars but appears to be running on one cylinder bank only(I now have a big triple!!!) Car is still very reluctant to rev. Any help would be appreciated
Andrew1961 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,437
Images: 2
Don't know much about the v6 but does the loom split somewhere to go to each bank of injectors or coil packs. Maybe one side has shorted out. Try MES, might give you an indication.
spankdanny is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 32 Old 24-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by spankdanny View Post
Don't know much about the v6 but does the loom split somewhere to go to each bank of injectors or coil packs. Maybe one side has shorted out. Try MES, might give you an indication.
The wiring looks in pretty poor condition (perished rubber) I am going to start stripping the loom back over the weekend
Andrew1961 is offline  
 
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Coincidentally I've got one on 3 cylinders until the revs are picked up. Traced it to the rear bank, probably just coil packs which are being checked & replaced on Monday.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 32 Old 28-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Coincidentally I've got one on 3 cylinders until the revs are picked up. Traced it to the rear bank, probably just coil packs which are being checked & replaced on Monday.

Clive
Hi
That,s what is sounds like. I need to tracking wiring back to see if I can find any damage to the loom.I was surprised how poor a condition the wiring loom was in(Perished rubber and loom binding)
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Coincidentally I've got one on 3 cylinders until the revs are picked up. Traced it to the rear bank, probably just coil packs which are being checked & replaced on Monday.

Clive
Now diagnosed as low fuel pressure, changing fuel pump Thurs/Fri.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 32 Old 29-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Now diagnosed as low fuel pressure, changing fuel pump Thurs/Fri.

Clive
That's interesting mine got very hot with burning smell from around throttle body area. Car ticks over OK but will not run under load (Back to 3 cylinders..). I am not sure if I was pushing my luck using a 17 years old Alfa as my daily driver
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
That's interesting mine got very hot with burning smell from around throttle body area. Car ticks over OK but will not run under load (Back to 3 cylinders..). I am not sure if I was pushing my luck using a 17 years old Alfa as my daily driver
Take it to a decent Alfa specialist & get it properly diagnosed.

Clive
130 rosso and alfapash like this.
CGTVs is offline  
Status: more house renovations!
AO Silver Member
 
alfapash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,235
As Clive has said you need a diagnosis. I've run my Spider as a daily driver for 6 years and she is also 17 years. As long as the car is well maintained I see no reason why not, in fact I think cars that are regularly used usually run better than those sitting around looking pretty.
alfapash is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,437
Images: 2
Couldnt agree more. 18 years young, 180k miles ( might be triggers broom mind) still runs perfectly and used everyday. It's peppered with car park dings but It's worth it just for the joy of driving something different to the masses. Besides I'm not saving it for someone else to enjoy.
Mez164, lamby, 130 rosso and 2 others like this.
spankdanny is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Fuel pump changed, now running correct pressure...............but fault's still there.

Now traced to a possible ecu fault.....trying a spare ecu set on Monday.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 32 Old 04-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Fuel pump changed, now running correct pressure...............but fault's still there.

Now traced to a possible ecu fault.....trying a spare ecu set on Monday.

Clive
Car started first time yesterday no warning lights but will not run on 6 cylinders. I had a diagnostic check carried out when I got the car(Piece of mind). Need the Lambda sensors changing. I think my problem is more"old school" electrics rather than electronics
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Car started first time yesterday no warning lights but will not run on 6 cylinders. I had a diagnostic check carried out when I got the car(Piece of mind). Need the Lambda sensors changing. I think my problem is more"old school" electrics rather than electronics
'Ours' always starts 1st time/everytime but shortly after the problem returns. Tried another ecu set, still the same. Already changed a lambda for mot....hmmmm....it was shortly after this it started to play up!!??

It doesn't show the eml/engine management light & it only has 1 fault code stored:'150H/336 Undocumented Code'.......??

Clive

Last edited by CGTVs; 04-07-16 at 16:47. Reason: clarify
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 32 Old 05-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Tested last night this is what i got....
May be time to change a few wires....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fault.JPG (32.0 KB, 42 views)
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Tested last night this is what i got....
May be time to change a few wires....
Thanks for the picture but even having copied it & tried to read it on my computer, magnified or otherwise, I can't read it!?

Please can you type the contents into a post.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Fuel pump changed, now running correct pressure...............but fault's still there.
The rubber pipe from the front bank fuel rail to the rear bank fuel rail can collapse internally.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
The rubber pipe from the front bank fuel rail to the rear bank fuel rail can collapse internally.
Thanks Pud, I'll check where 'we' were reading the fuel pressure from.....I think it was the rear rail though?

Edit: It was off the front rail so we'll now check the rear.

Edit: Rear pressure reads ok as well.

Clive

Last edited by CGTVs; 06-07-16 at 08:44.
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 32 Old 06-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
Thanks for the picture but even having copied it & tried to read it on my computer, magnified or otherwise, I can't read it!?

Please can you type the contents into a post.

Clive
Sorry..Had to compress to upload
Error code
"Anomaly on inlet air mass signal. Check following
Sensor power supply(12 Volt from Main relay) between pin 1(+) and 3(-) of sensor connector
Signal emitted by the sensor, proportional to the flow of the engine, between pin 4(signal) and pin 2(signal ground) by means of multi meter.
Continuity and insulation between pins 2 and 4 of the sensor connector respectively, to the ECU wires bundle connector pins 26 and 7
The reason for this fault is that the ECU has received very high signal from the sensor

Does anyone know where I can get air mass sensor connector from?

Last edited by Andrew1961; 06-07-16 at 11:54. Reason: More information and request
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Check your maf......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Sorry..Had to compress to upload
Error code
"Anomaly on inlet air mass signal. Check following
Sensor power supply(12 Volt from Main relay) between pin 1(+) and 3(-) of sensor connector
Signal emitted by the sensor, proportional to the flow of the engine, between pin 4(signal) and pin 2(signal ground) by means of multi meter.
Continuity and insulation between pins 2 and 4 of the sensor connector respectively, to the ECU wires bundle connector pins 26 and 7
The reason for this fault is that the ECU has received very high signal from the sensor

Does anyone know where I can get air mass sensor connector from?
Ok, finally cured mine.

The main 'problem', apart from diagnosing it, was it had a 'diesel' maf in it!!

Check your maf sensor's Bosch part number, should be: F00C 2G2 030

It also had a TS air filter, at least 1 faulty ign coil & the eml/inj warning led had been 'removed'!! All that kept upsetting our diagnosing.

I sussed it over a week ago but a rear brake pipe had burst beforehand so I couldn't do a proper road test, one mechanic went on holiday & another mechanic, who is mega busy, 'fitted it in' but took from Wed last week until today to replace all rear pipes. Road tested for 20 miles tonight & all's good.

I've got numerous 'old' secondhand mafs which I tried but all were faulty, giving slightly different running misfiring etc. I then swapped with one of my sales GTVs & hey presto!

TSs use the same sensor as do some Vauxhalls, correct sensor is inside this....so I'm told, buying one tomorrow: Brand New Vauxhall Parts | Air Flow Meter / Maf Sensor - 93171356 | 0281002180 - GM Parts Bosch Parts Elring Parts

Clive

www.cgtrading.co.uk
Tel: 01273 85 77 95
Mob: 079 73 39 39 74

Last edited by CGTVs; 26-07-16 at 00:51. Reason: add info
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 32 Old 26-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Hi Clive
Still working on mine
So far ....
Got the correct MAF sensor
Replaced engine bay fuel pipes(small pipe leaking between fuel rails)
Replaced rear bank plugs and coil packs(1 spark plug tube full of oil) Ordered replacement gasket and tubes
Found one stripped thread on intake tube(fixed with Helicoil)
Still working through wiring. Found that wires going into large connector in engine bay are twisted and glued rather than soldered....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Engine.jpg (34.0 KB, 11 views)
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Hi Clive
Still working on mine
So far ....
Got the correct MAF sensor
Replaced engine bay fuel pipes(small pipe leaking between fuel rails)
Replaced rear bank plugs and coil packs(1 spark plug tube full of oil) Ordered replacement gasket and tubes
Found one stripped thread on intake tube(fixed with Helicoil)
Still working through wiring. Found that wires going into large connector in engine bay are twisted and glued rather than soldered....
Have you checked numbers off the sensor rather than the 'tube'?

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 32 Old 27-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Hi Clive
I will check
Thanks
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Hi Clive
I will check
Thanks
Even if it's the correct one, try another from a good running car.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 32 Old 04-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ironbridge
County: UK-
Posts: 41
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6

Got spare MAF(Just in case) Still working through wiring. Coil Pack and injector loom removed(fabric loom tape fell off....)Alfa had used a type of resistance welding rather than solder on wire joints. Not great after 17 years. Stripped back got rid of glue then went for gold old fashioned solder.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Solder.jpg (26.8 KB, 5 views)
Andrew1961 is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1961 View Post
Got spare MAF(Just in case) Still working through wiring. Coil Pack and injector loom removed(fabric loom tape fell off....)Alfa had used a type of resistance welding rather than solder on wire joints. Not great after 17 years. Stripped back got rid of glue then went for gold old fashioned solder.
Don't just try a 'spare' maf but swap one with a known good working one on a currently good running car, I tried half a dozen used ones off the shelf before fitting one from another car........which I then replaced with the correct new Bosch one from Eurocarparts for a Vauxhall Astra!

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome