Sorry to cover old ground - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
  • 1 Post By BrianB72
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 11-08-15 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Kent

Member car:

GTV 2.0

Sorry to cover old ground

I'm new to GTV ownership so please forgive me if the questions I'm about to asked have been asked over and over again! I bought an in between gtv 2.0ts, been told it's a mix between ph1 and ph2, I've done loads of cosmetic work new badges all round new door rubbers. The clutch went the other month, and being out of work I've had to wait to get it done, I saw the slave cylinder post too late and just made the stupid assumption that the "strange" clutch feel was normal. The engine makes a ticking noise when hot and increases with engine revs, I've added hydraulic lifter stuff to the oil and it seems to have quite end it down, I've also added fuel additive to the tank as it only just passed the MOT on Friday!
So my questions are: any one got a drivers side wing mirror, the chuckle brothers who fixed my car managed to not attach the tow eye correctly and half way up the ramps the old girl decided to have it away on her toes, catching the wing mirror.
This ticking noise: any ideas? I'm thinking to change the oil next.
Oil level hasn't dropped at all since I got it and has remained resolutely on the max mark, implications of too much oil in one of these engines?
I'm looking at doing the timing belt, it was done about 2 1/2 years ago but I want to be sure!
What should I look to get beside belt and tensioner's. Is it advisable to do the water pump and Variator as well?!

I'm sorry it's so wordy but up until today I was contemplating sending it to the scrapper! But I gave it a blast done the motorway today and now it's reignited my love for the car!
Colo likes this.
Sponsored Links
Alfa git