KKL Cable - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 11-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Julianf77's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 147
KKL Cable

I'm going to tackle the air in my ASB so I need to purge them.

so I'm looking on ebay for a car to laptop cable KKL type and then use the multi scan software.

The V.A.G. connectors show only one cable (blue connector) but all the ones for FIAT etc show two. Plus the VAG's are cheaper.

What is the second cable for?


Julianf77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,393
Images: 2
As far as I know no one has been able to operate the ABS valves using readily available software. I have tried and tho I could connect, couldn't activate anything. Having spoken to Duncan Slade from alfanet, a well respected Alfa mechanic, its totally unnecessary anyway. He's never had a problem and just bleeds Alfa's the normal way. I have just done the brakes on mine including all four hoses. I used blutac to seal any pipes while they were apart so as not to drain the system.
spankdanny is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
purple145's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,026
when I had a Saab it was recommeded to bleed the brakes with the ignition on so the ABS system was live which helps purge it of air. I guess Alfas will be the same.

purple145 is offline  
Status: GTV bits everywhere
AO Member
Matt GTV's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 841
Images: 4

Member car:

2000 V6

Just for info I sent this to the MES team. I have not tried vers 2.4 yet, has anyone?

E-mail to MES:
A registered version of MES will not operate the abs (Bosch 5.3) purge valves. This operation is necessary to remove trapped air from the ABS module during the bleeding process. The software gives the option but nothing actually happens. It is a recognised issue with MES (please see Alfaowner forum). GTV 3.0 V6 (98 on).

Did you try this with Multiecuscan 2.4? We did some fixes of the procedures for Bosch ABS 5.3 in Multiecuscan 2.4 which should resolve this problem.
Matt GTV is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 12-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Julianf77's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 147
I have tried bleeding with ignition on and to no avail. Alfatecnico had a go it improved slightly but no way as good as before. I think it needs a bit of time and patience.
........so what's the other cable for?

If anyone gets the abs to purge via the software please let me know.

Julianf77 is offline  
Status: In an Alfa again!
AO Member
Mark Cooper's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Africa
County: KwaZulu-Natal
Posts: 619
See if you can find a workshop with "Examiner". This is the only software that will do the trick on the earlier 916's. I has the same issue with my '97 Spider. Only connecting to "Examiner" worked.

Good luck.
Mark Cooper is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

cable , kkl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome