Alfa hood "not quite" fixed - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 04-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 2

Member car:

1998 GTV Spider

Alfa hood "not quite" fixed

Hi guys, the dealer took $2000 off the price of the car because the automatic hood would not work.

the car in question is a 1998 Spider, high kms but with the engine already replaced.

This is the problem...

the scenario is a car with the roof stowed. I turn the key to start, the LED comes on once and then goes out. I press the switch to close the roof, the rear opens, releases the roof which then travels all the way to the windscreen, the rear then closes and the back window panel of the roof starts to close but then stops, still well clear of its mating points.

The hydraulic tank is full, the motor works fine (white plastic gear just replaced). The engine is running throughout the operation and the switch is pressed for the entire time.

I have to then close the back of the roof using the manual switch and applying gentle pressure to the back of the roof. This is done with engine off but ignition on.

So then the roof is closed, completely. But when I turn the ignition back on I get the 10 flash error code from the LED

Any suggestion? The srtuts for the rear of the roof look ok, no corrosion and no sign of leaks. The hydraulic tank was bone dry when I bought the car, the white plastic gear was wrecked. These have all been repaired or made good as per the description.

Quite frustrating to get this far and not be 100% fixed

shay1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: clutch in the bin
AO Member
JamieH2304's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 263
Images: 6
The roof seems to be mechanically operational from what you say. The hood has switches that are depressed by the hood frame as it moves so the ecu knows where the hood is and what process to operate next.

I am guessing you either have a dodgy switch, or like mine which did exactly the same as yours, one of the pivot bolts to the frame was loose meaning the frame didn't make contact with the switch as it passed it.

Its best described as being like the centre bolt of a pair of scissors. If that is loose the blades don't come into close contact and the switch is located in one of those blade.

My dodgy bolt was on the passenger side, access gained by simply lifting the rear of the hood away from the hood stow cover as normal operation would do.

JamieH2304 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 4 Old 04-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 2

Member car:

1998 GTV Spider

thanks for that, I will check it on the weekend. I should then have the hood operational just in time for winter, haha (live in the land of Oz)
shay1000 is offline  
Status: Alfa V6 - the bestsounding V6
AO Member
markymarkspider's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 602
Images: 22
The roof's more of a sunhat for you guys down there!
markymarkspider is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

alfa , fixed , hood , not quite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome