have I found a drop in Spider 916 replacement sub woofer ? - Page 5 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: Spider is ready for the summer time
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
Henrik_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
County: Aalborg
Posts: 550
Garage
Each pair of the four wires are Left/Right channel so you can't wire it differently.

Unless you want to have a seperate mono amplifier for the speaker then you can wire the two coils in paralel if your mono amplfier can drive 2 ohm.
But you will not have more power out of the speaker compared to drive each coil with it's own amplifier.
Henrik_45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 53

Member car:

Spider -98

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrik_45 View Post
Each pair of the four wires are Left/Right channel so you can't wire it differently.

Unless you want to have a seperate mono amplifier for the speaker then you can wire the two coils in paralel if your mono amplfier can drive 2 ohm.
But you will not have more power out of the speaker compared to drive each coil with it's own amplifier.
Ok, I was afraid of hearing this
So, the striped wire is negative I suppose? Or is it?
What about the crossovers? There's no use to send high notes to woofer, tweeters and mid range speakers are for that, right?
FinSpider is offline  
Status: alive n kicking!
AO Member
 
rickie_20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 82
I have to agree, mine has turned up and I am thinking it's not all that, but for 17 all in what can you expect.

On the topic of wires I have wired mine with stripe as positive which as far as I know in normal terms would be correct, can someone confirm this is correct?
rickie_20 is offline  
 
Status: Spider being painted!
AO Member
 
Vansflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 481
With a good head unit it sounds great, for its size and cost. It's a single cone speaker, no crossover is required if you can live with midrange coming out of it. You can't change its impedance, It is what it is (away from home and can't remember). I put one of the spare units in an old Kenwood sub housing and when amped it sounds very good... For its size. It ain't ever going to "blow the bloody doors off" .. It's too small. If you want more sound out of it put an amp in with a crossover and it will punch quite hard. The whole point is that it "drops in" to the original speaker space and replaces a crap oem speaker.
Vansflyer is offline  
Status: Alfa V6 - the bestsounding V6
AO Member
 
markymarkspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 602
Images: 22
Value for money its a good buy. Not audiophile quality of course - but then that's why I have a V6 with stainless exhaust! :-)

I actually didn't have an original speaker in mine at all. no wires or anything. Just a hole/grille.
markymarkspider is offline  
Status: Long live the nice weather
AO Silver Member
 
GT Paddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,133
What wattage is your head unit? Mine sounds pretty good at 45 watts per channel
GT Paddy is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,597
I've just fitted one but the car had a big power amp behind the driver's seat, crossovers in the doors & upgraded speakers & tweeters already fitted. The upgraded cubby hole speaker was in a makeshift wooden box but this tidied it up nicely & it sounds the biz.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 53

Member car:

Spider -98

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT Paddy View Post
What wattage is your head unit? Mine sounds pretty good at 45 watts per channel
So you have an extra amp on your system?

There is no headunit in the market that can give over 15W (almost all of them are 10W to 12W at best), what ever the package says.

My headunit is a new Alpine CDE-183BT.

This http://www.alpine.co.uk/p/Products/c...ts19/cde-183bt
FinSpider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 53

Member car:

Spider -98

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGTVs View Post
I've just fitted one but the car had a big power amp behind the driver's seat, crossovers in the doors & upgraded speakers & tweeters already fitted. The upgraded cubby hole speaker was in a makeshift wooden box but this tidied it up nicely & it sounds the biz.

Clive
Yes, those upgrades would make a difference and to get some bass especially the closed woofer box.
If I can talk myself to the task, I may make one myself too.
FinSpider is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinSpider View Post
Yes, those upgrades would make a difference and to get some bass especially the closed woofer box.
If I can talk myself to the task, I may make one myself too.
I didn't refit the wooden woofer box as it was broken........the new speaker still gives plenty of bass without it + you don't lose the cubby hole space.

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
Status: Spider is ready for the summer time
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
Henrik_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
County: Aalborg
Posts: 550
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinSpider View Post
There is no headunit in the market that can give over 15W (almost all of them are 10W to 12W at best), what ever the package says.
That is not completely correct.

The amplifiers in most Headunits are of the bridge type where there is an amplifier on each side of the speaker coil.
The amplifiers are caused to be in anti-phase.
In other words, as the signal in one amplifier is swinging positively, the signal in the other is swinging negatively.

By this means the peak voltage across the speaker coil will be the battery voltage.
Let's say 13.2V

So the maximum power will be:

4 ohm speakers
Pmax = Vpeak^2/(2xSpeaker impedance) = 13.2^2/(2x4) = 21.8W

8 ohm speakers
Pmax = Vpeak^2/(2xSpeaker impedance) = 13.2^2/(2x8) = 11.9W
Henrik_45 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 53

Member car:

Spider -98

Still trying to make some mods to get better bass (without an amp) with this Pyle.
I was thinking that maybe it would be a good idea to add a LPF to the lines. That way I could block the higher frequencies and the sound from the Pyle would be more "pure".
What do you think?
FinSpider is offline  
Status: New
AO Member
 
eyespyjts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 16
Thanks to op for this. Very straight forward install .
Anyone know which wires to swap on the head unit to keep memory?
eyespyjts is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 53

Member car:

Spider -98

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyespyjts View Post
Thanks to op for this. Very straight forward install .
Anyone know which wires to swap on the head unit to keep memory?
I answered you on your own topic, see there.

Also, I desided to go on with an extra amp.
As known, it makes a total difference on the sound.
Pretty happy with it now.
FinSpider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
TheKevlarKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 13
Garage
Kicker also do a direct replacement mid sub that drops right in. Its also dual voice coil, so with a decent head unit its got enough thump for most people - certainly better than the original p.o.s. - no idea what that was like new, but at 18 years old its ******...
TheKevlarKid is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
County: -
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by reveds1969 View Post
Yes the grille sits as originally intended i only removed it for you guys to see that it sits nicely.
You are more than welcome to come and have a listen.
I hope that this will get through to you as it has been 2 years since the post.

Does the Kicker sub you have installed needs an enclosure or you have installed as is ? If indeed you have an enclosure (box) could you please share more information about that ?

Thank you.
SirBokias is offline  
Status: Cup-A-Likes are nice too
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
CGTVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBokias View Post
I hope that this will get through to you as it has been 2 years since the post.

Does the Kicker sub you have installed needs an enclosure or you have installed as is ? If indeed you have an enclosure (box) could you please share more information about that ?

Thank you.
I installed one....'as is'......no enclosed box, very easy....I did it!

Clive
CGTVs is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
solaris998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wiltshire
County: UK
Posts: 68
Garage
Pyle from amazon.co.uk

Well I've jumped on the band wagon too and got the Pyle sub-woofer but I got mine from Amason.co.uk

https://www.amazon.co.uk/PLPW6D-6-In...+Ohm+Subwoofer

plugged it in as is (no amp) and it works fine with my Sony Head unit DSX-A200UI. OK might be better base with an amp, but it's a whole heap better that the standard fit one. also decided to replace the door speakers too. so much better all round.
CGTVs likes this.
solaris998 is offline  
Status: Lots to do
Global Mod Team
 
paul.o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,863
Images: 58
Garage
Mine should arrive next week, what door speakers did you fit?
paul.o is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
solaris998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wiltshire
County: UK
Posts: 68
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul.o View Post
Mine should arrive next week, what door speakers did you fit?
Hi Paul.o

I fitted these speaker to the door

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

they sound OK better that the speakers that were there.
solaris998 is offline  
Status: Lots to do
Global Mod Team
 
paul.o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,863
Images: 58
Garage
Thanks, were the adaptors rings ok and did you have buy any wiring adaptors?
paul.o is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
solaris998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wiltshire
County: UK
Posts: 68
Garage
Well the adapters were already in my doors, but they did supply new ones and they looked like they would fit, and I used a block terminal to connect the wiring in the door.
solaris998 is offline  
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,312
Garage
I use these to connect to the original speaker terminals

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/250514639073?_mwBanner=1

Rich_wookey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 28
Just as a note on this, I fitted the Kicker unit without an enclosure and it's way better than the standard speaker but it really does need an enclosure. It vibrates badly with any volume. I'll try and solve it some how but an enclosure would be best.
This is the unit I bought
spiderman1976 is offline  
Status: Lots to do
Global Mod Team
 
paul.o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,863
Images: 58
Garage
Will be fitting mine at weekend
paul.o is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
916 , drop , found , replacement , spider , woofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome