Which stereos will put the ariel up only when the radio is on? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 20-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
GTVDAN's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
County: -
Posts: 381

Member car:


Which stereos will put the ariel up only when the radio is on?

Sold my Becker and now on the look out for another stereo with USB, I saw a thread on here a few weeks ago where someone said their stereo had a function which only put the ariel up when the radio was switched on.
GTVDAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
biggreenzebra's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,084
I have got a Sony one in P3 that only puts aerial up for radio not CD USB etc
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,953
Bear in mind though, that if you have traffic alerts selected, then the aerial will ( or at least should! ) still go up.
pkr is offline  
Status: Please look after this possum
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
Gaz's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 62,404
^^ That

If your new head unit has a manual AF/TA selection button then when you are listening to CDs or MP3s and have it disabled the aerial should stay retracted
Gaz is offline  
Status: Back up to full power again. Weeeee!!!
AO Member
Hobson284's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 917
I put a switch in the aerial control cable, so I could switch it as I please, as I'm not a fan of the look with the aerial up, but still want radio capability if I want it. I put a discrete and OEM looking switch where the sunroof switch would be in my old GTV, I.e. by the mirror control switch. In my new GTV, I've put it by my left knee in the footwell. Works a treat, and is relatively hidden.
Hobson284 is offline  
Status: Saving my GTV!
AO Member
Mr PheR's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
County: South Australia
Posts: 261
Images: 4
i have installed 2 kenwood head units in my gtv and they have a wire from the back of the head unit which was blue [i think] that powers the antenna only when you select radio as source input and retracts when you use cd usb etc.
Btw i think the antenna power cable on the gtv was red/green. Not sure if it will be the same on yours.
Mr PheR is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

ariel , put , radio , stereos

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome