Car display on dash - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 11-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 17

Member car:


Car display on dash

Can anyone tell me what a red light at the front of the car hazard display on the dash indicates? Given the door open lights on the side it would suggest the bonnet but there doesn't appear to be anything open.
respace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Spider Tuning box!
AO Member
CheesyGQV's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 64
Images: 6
The open/close switch is obviously stuck in the bonnet open position. You could get a replacement but I just removed mine and taped up the connector. The car now thinks its always closed.

The switch is located under the slam panel, just a few bolts not hard to get to...
CheesyGQV is offline  
Status: profesional ledgend
AO Silver Member
bradpit999's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 2,277
Images: 42
isnt it under one of the headlamps ??? the switch
bradpit999 is offline  
Status: 17" Speedline Enzo's
Club Member
Membro Premio
Stixy's Avatar
Club Member Number: 479
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 1,281
Images: 14
Originally Posted by bradpit999 View Post
isnt it under one of the headlamps ??? the switch
Correct You have to remove the nearside headlight unit to access the attachment bolts for the microswitch assembly
Stixy is offline  
Status: Summer's here - roof is down!
AO Member
Cluffstarr's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 931
Be careful with the headlamp bolts - the captive nuts under one of the bolts on mine had seized meaning I needed to remove the bumper!!
Cluffstarr is offline  
Status: Occasionally driving my Gtv
Club Member
Membro Medio
alexGS's Avatar
Club Member Number: 1265
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
County: Waikato
Posts: 2,361
Images: 36

Member car:

Gtv V6

The micro switch will have broken (lost its click-click action). Two rivets on the plastic bracket can be drilled out, then the switch replaced with one from an electronics parts store (e.g. Maplin or RS).

alexGS is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

car , dash , display

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome