GTV 2.0 V6 TB - THERMOSTAT is less expensive from 3.0 V6 ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 26-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Portugal
County: Açores
Posts: 13

Member car:


GTV 2.0 V6 TB - THERMOSTAT is less expensive from 3.0 V6 ?

I'm looking for a new thermostat for my GTV 2.0 12v V6 TB .

I found that the original PN it's very expensive, but the PN for the version 3.0 V6 it's 1/4 of the price.

Is it possible to use the 3.0 interior with the 2.0 V6 TB housing ?

sandrade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,953
Originally Posted by sandrade View Post
Is it possible to use the 3.0 interior with the 2.0 V6 TB housing ?
No idea, but it would not be a good idea even if you could.

You're ignoring the most important part of the thermostat - its operating parameters. The V6 thermostat opens at 87C whilst the TB thermostat is 83C.

( Both figures +/-2C )
pkr is offline  
Status: in UK, but w/o the GTV...
AO Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: -
Posts: 66

Member car:

Alfa GTV 2.0 TS

Hm, I believe I did research on this once and found out that the opening temp was 83 for both, or that somehow some N/A V6 thermostats open at 83 and others at 87. I might be "riding a bicycle" (a Swedish expression meaning that you're mixing stuff up and don't know what you're talking about )
Freelancer is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
hermanoli's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Romania
County: Arges
Posts: 21
Images: 14

Member car:

'47 JTDm, GT V6

Couple of months ago I had the same issue with my brothers 2.0 V6 Turbo GTV: we had to change the thermostat. After an investigation we found out that the thermostat from an 3.2 engine fits perfect into the housing of the 2.0 V6 Turbo one.

So, just buy an 3.2 thermostat and re-use the housing of the old one.

Last edited by hermanoli; 30-05-13 at 16:40.
hermanoli is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Portugues's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 135

Member car:

AR GTV 2.0 V6 TB

i've tried it and work very well
Portugues is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

expensive , gtv , thermostat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome