Help Multiecuscan on phase 2 V6 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 78 Old 23-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Help Multiecuscan on phase 2 V6

Hi

I have done the searches and read loads but still can't sort my AirBag light out. I don't seem to be able to get the lap top talking to the ECU. This is what I have done:

bought this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3308643778...84.m1497.l2649

downloaded the driver software on my laptop (running on windows 7)
In device manager set the latency to 1 and com port 3 (it says device working properly)
downloaded multiecuscan 1.3 and set the interface type as k-line/VAGCOM and com port 3. ran test parameters ok
turned the ignition key to MAR position (no lights on dashboard)
on the cable i set the pin to position 3, connected it to the car (near fuse box, red LED is on on the cable)

selected GTV 3.0 V6 24V from the list on multiecuscan, selected airbag and TRW MY97 AIRBAG (2F.2P) and tried to connect.

It just timed out and connection failed, tried other options on GTV in multiecuscan but nothing. tried other switch positions on the cable still nothing. scanned for ECU's nothing. turned the ignition on.... nothing.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
J5. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 250

Member car:

GTV V6

Have you tried to read the engine ECU yet in order to prove the lead/setup (pin 7 or position 1), you will probably find Multiecuscan will flash up with "ECU not supported in free version" if you are using the free version but at least it will prove your setup.
Also are you sure you are on the right com port, if you look at the device manager and then unplug the lead from the USB port com port 3 should disappear and reappear when you plug the lead back in.

Last edited by ken0062; 23-03-13 at 15:12.
ken0062 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Thanks for the response.

Tried as described, engine ECU, cable on position 1 pin 7. No joy, message no response from ECU.

checked in device manager and unpluged the cable the device disappeared.

Any other suggestions?
J5. is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,304
Are you using these drivers:
Virtual COM Port Drivers
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

In my device manager is says I am using FDTI 2.8.24.0, this I think is on the no longer supported list on the link you sent. Do you think I should therefore change it to 2.08.28?

How do you do that then?
J5. is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Downloaded driver, re-booted and device manager now showing 2.8.28.0 as the driver.

Tried it in the car on both cable pin 3, position 2 on both GTV 3.0 V6 24V and GTV'98 3.0 V6 24V airbag ecu settings on multiecuscan.... still no joy. checked still com 3

......... just realised didn't check latency....its at 16!!! ill put it back to 1 and try again.
J5. is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

No joy..... beer and F1 could be the answer.

Can someone please confirm I should have the key in the MAR position and therefore no lights on the dash.

Can't see where else I might be going wrong. any more suggestions?
J5. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 250

Member car:

GTV V6

Does the LED on the lead light up when you plug it into the socket on the car ?
ken0062 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 250

Member car:

GTV V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by J5. View Post
No joy..... beer and F1 could be the answer.

Can someone please confirm I should have the key in the MAR position and therefore no lights on the dash.
You need to have the ignition on but vehicle not running i.e. lights should be on the dash.
ken0062 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by J5. View Post
Can someone please confirm I should have the key in the MAR position and therefore no lights on the dash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0062 View Post
You need to have the ignition on but vehicle not running i.e. lights should be on the dash.
Exactly... either he is confused about what the "MAR" position is, or there is something very wrong if he has no lights at all on.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Thanks for the help guys.

The LED light on the cable is on.

tried with the dash lights on (key position just before start) .... didn't work. I had previously not had the dash lights on as looking at the ignition barrel the MAR position was one position/click away from the postion where you pull the key out.

When I run a test on the interfaces in multiecuscan I get :

VagCom/KKL

Testing latency with 200 bytes of data...
Min latency: 2
Max latency: 4


Testing timers...
(The acceptable tolerance for results is ~5 ms)

System supports high resolution timer.

Testing timer with 1000 ms...
..result: 1014 ms

Testing timer with 250 ms...
..result: 251 ms

Testing timer with 750 ms...
..result: 752 ms

Testing timer with 100 ms...
..result: 102 ms

and scanning for interfaces I get:
Scanning ...

VagCom/KKL interface found at port COM3
COMPLETED


Scanning for ECU's I get "completed" with no list.
J5. is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by J5. View Post
...I had previously not had the dash lights on as looking at the ignition barrel the MAR position was one position/click away from the position where you pull the key out.
Key positions are:
Park (parking lights on, you can also take the key out)
Off (engine off, the position you normally take the key out)
Mar (dash lights on, also the normal running position)
Start (engine start, after releasing the key it will return to "Mar")


Should be obvious, but you sound a little confused!
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 78 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

got the key positions cracked, that''s the simple bit.

just changed the latency value to 2 as is said min 2 in the interface scan above.... did it work..... na.
J5. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North London
Posts: 70
I'm getting exactly the same issues with my Phase 2 V6. So watching this thread.
Gwynley is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 250

Member car:

GTV V6

Have you given the engine ECU a try again now with the ignition switched on ?
ken0062 is offline  
Status: Suspension re-build complete, what next?
AO Member
 
GTV_Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 920
Images: 9

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6 24v

You have to turn off the Windows firewall and any other virus protection firewall.

When you open the connection settings in MultiECUScan have you used the button to scan or connect (can't remember the terminology) to your KKL? I found this was setting the COM port to a different port and had to manually adjust the setting to COM3.

Once you have set that up press "SCAN" on the front screen of MultiECUScan? It should list the available ECU's before you press connect; I found it didn't work if I missed this step and just tried to connect!

Gary

"When I see an Alfa Romeo I lift my hat" - Henry Ford
GTV_Blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 78 Old 25-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Right tried again.....

Windows firewalls were "ON" they are now off, thanks for that.

In multiecuscan in settings I scanned for interfaces and it came up with my cable in COM3

I double checked the settings in device manager ... COM3 etc. Ran scan for ECU's F11 in multiecuscan and it just said completed .... no list (Question: what position/pin should the cable be on for scanning for ECU. I tried position 2 pin 3 as after the airbag but also tried and position 4 pin 12/13.

Tried also to connect to the airbag ecu... no luck..... usual message of check ports and settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0062 View Post
Have you given the engine ECU a try again now with the ignition switched on ?
Tried this with cable in position 1 pin 7 and ignition on, firewalls off, com 3, latency 1... red light on cable.... didn't connect.



Appreciate you help people....
J5. is offline  
Status: Suspension re-build complete, what next?
AO Member
 
GTV_Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 920
Images: 9

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6 24v

Are you running it as an administrator? heres a link for XP, I think it's the same in Vista, not sure about 7;
Microsoft Corporation

Try re-installing the Virtual COM port driver while MultiECUScan is running. I still have to re-install this driver occasionally even when it was working perfectly the last time I used it

Also, I think I set the latency to "lowest" or "low".
GTV_Blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 78 Old 30-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

Right I am back on the case.

I am an administrator and I did as you said and ran multiecuscan and downloaded the driver software again. Then checked the settings and went for connect to the airbag ecu. i got a different message from multiecuscan this time ..... access to com 3 denied??? firewalls still off etc

any ideas?

i might try another lap top....
J5. is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by J5. View Post
Right I am back on the case.

I am an administrator...
Just because your user ID is an "administrator" doesn't mean the program will "run as administrator".
David C is offline  
Status: GTA...do I want one?
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 121

Member car:

2001 156 2.0ts

Have you tried looking on Multiecuscan website.They have Q&A/forums etc.The remedy is always a simple "click" away,but takes an infuriating amount of time to get there.Is there not a member on here who is close to you that can help? Good luck.
melo is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 78 Old 30-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

ahhh ....ok thanks, I just ran multiecuscan as a administrator (right click when opening multiecuscan and its a option from that menu - for anyone else trying). .....No ECU response check port setting etc....god dam!!

When I download the driver it does say it may not have installed correctly... it gives me two options to say it has installed correctly or download again using recommended settings.... download again and it says it hasn't updated as my driver is fully up to date.

I am going to try another lap top.....
J5. is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 78 Old 30-03-13 Thread Starter
J5.
Status: -
AO Member
 
J5.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 147

Member car:

GTV V6

driver is good. no messages just simply you have the most up to date driver.

I did discover a couple of bent pins in the cable, thought here we go. fixed them ensured it was connected, tried it in multiecuscan scan ecu and also connect to airbag ecu and....... well F.A

So I decided to try DnEcuDiag to verify the system.... connecting to engine Bosch Montronic ME7.3.1, position 1 pin 7 cable .....and MY97 position 2 pin 3. No joy error message ensure connected and key is in MAR position... which it was for both.
J5. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 250

Member car:

GTV V6

When using DnEcuDiag did you check the box "use FTDI USB driver" in the device configuration, I have found that you need to do this using this type of lead.

Failing that it is looking very suspiciously that you may have a faulty lead.
ken0062 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,141

Member car:

P2 GTV 3.0

Seems like a daft question given all the above but does this thing usually work - is it worth buying? Anything else recommended?
SimonT is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
multiecuscan , phase

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome