Spider Parts... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 03-08-05 Thread Starter
Spider Parts...

Hi everybody

I'm new to the Alfa forum (I'm usually found on Pistonheads), but I though I'd best come and ask the experts seeing as I have some Alfa specific questions.

I'm having a Alfa Spider (1998 2.0 Lusso) checked out by my mechanic today.

Owning both older Jags and TVRs I have found there to be a ready supply of reasonably priced parts from various sources . My only concern I have is over the rumours I've heard about the price of Alfa parts. Is this true? And if so, are there other sources of parts other than the Alfa main-dealers?

Also I have heard that parts availability is not always good and that people have had to wait quite a wile for them to arrrive. Any truth in this?

Oh and as an aside, the car I'm looking at is supposedly a Lusso but doesn't have the power hood but does have air-con. does this sound correct or is it a non-Lusso car that had air-con specced as an extra when new?

Thanks in advance for all advice received.

Last edited by Bobfrance; 03-08-05 at 10:00.
Sponsored Links
Re: Spider Parts...

Hi Bob...welcome.

Your Spider is indeed a Lusso but with manual hood. The earlier cars were sold like this, ours is the same.

As for parts, there are a couple of worthy companies out there such as EB Spares, Shop4parts and buypartsby. The Alfa Romeo Owners Club mag does a directory which is very useful...but you have to join up for that

Dealers for parts, depends what you want and at what time of the year. Italy has a two week shutdown (August??) which can slow things down and some of the more obscure parts are troublesome. But, everyday stuff is usually about 2-3 days.

AO Member
County: -