GTV air intake issues - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 17-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
kieranbennett's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 5

Member car:

GTV 2.0 TS

GTV air intake issues

I bought myself a 1998 phase 2 GTV 2.0 TS a couple of months ago.

The car had been well looked after with stacks of service history including recent and past cambelt and variator replacements, recent centre exhaust, plug sets etc. And a few receipts from a local, well known, Alfa specialist.

The only negative aspect to the car was an after market cone air filter hat had been fitted, completely bypassing the standard airbox which had mostly been removed along with most of the origonal pipework.

I can't take pictures at the moment, but he took the 90 degree bend and connected it to the throttle body then attached the MAF and then the cone so its lying alongside the engine

The car drove perfectly though and the engine felt fine so I bought with the intention of returning it to standard and its been in daily use since this with no problems

I bought this from ebay the other day and tried fitting it this morning;

But i've come up against two significant problems.

The first is that with the air intake connected in the right place to the wheel well inlet the bolt holes in the top cover of the airbox don't line up. its probably 25 degrees out, the pipework cant be adjusted because of the bracket holding the rectangular (ish) box to the top of the air box.

The other is the plug on the MAF, mine has 5 pins, the one I've bought only has 4. The bought one also has what appears to be a separate temperature probe in the 90 degree bend.

Is the item I've bought actually suitable for my car or has my car been more extensively modified than I first thought?

If required I can take some pictures but I hope my description is enough to go on.

Thanks, Kieran
kieranbennett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,953
What you've bought is a phase 1 unit. P1 had a separate air temp sensor and MAF whereas phase 2 integrates the two devices in one. That's why your car has the 5 pin MAF and the new intake has 4 pins.
pkr is online now  
Status: more house renovations!
AO Silver Member
alfapash's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,205
You can fit the ph1 air intake hoses and filter housing into a phase 2 but you need either to use you old maf or buy a new one with 5 pins. Mine to was in a hell of a mess when I bought mine, I still had the original filter box but all the hoses had been mucked about with a cone filter gaffer taped on the end. Ignor the 2pin connector in the first hose, ph 2's don't need this. Otherwise it should be fine. You also got a bargain for 29, the housing is about 100 + hoses and resonator box 80 and a maf which you can sell.
alfapash is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 5 Old 21-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
kieranbennett's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 5

Member car:

GTV 2.0 TS

Had another look at this before I send it back, I can't see how it would fit, the intake feed at the bottom of the chamber seems to be at a different angle to the connection at the wheel well.

In addition, the MAF on the Phase 1 unit is bolted to the top of the air box, my old one has circlip connections on both ends.

One of the reasons for changing is that I think the MAF on mine is failing, the idle is getting erractic occasionly. so I would have to buy a new one to fit.
kieranbennett is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
turbonutters's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,035

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

If its not fitting something ells is wrong. The maf fits into the top of the box with a rubber spacer.
turbonutters is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

air , gtv , intake , issues

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome