Phase 1 (TRW2) airbag diagnostics - Solved!!! - Page 6 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 76

Member car:

147

Hey, im stuck......

I have followed the above line by line (i think) but i keep getting ecu time out errors...

I have used a spare multiplug to solder the resistors etc as follows...

Pin 1-2, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11 to 3.3Ohm resistors.
Pin 9 to the K Line on the KKL adapter.
Lamp joined between Pin 13-15
Pin 14 ground
Pin 15 12v.

I then attached the 12v from ECU and the 12v crocodile clip from KKL adapter to a power supply.
Then grounded the ground from ECU and the ground crocodile clip from KKL adapter.
I then connected my USB OBD2 adapter to the KKL adapter and plugged it into the laptop.

The software starts up fine, it finds one device, then i get ECU time out repeatedly.

The lamp does light up as soon as i connect to power supply, and remains lit until i disconnect.

I have tried to bridge connections from pin 7 to pin 3 on the KKL adapter as i read this somewhere else.

Nothing makes a difference! Im hoping im making a school boy error and somebody can point me in the right direction!

Thanks in advance!
beatmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 76

Member car:

147

Bump
beatmaster is offline  
(Post Link) post #128 of 159 Old 09-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: Spinning like a cat
AO Member
 
redtop_68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 515

Member car:

GTV 2.0TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatmaster View Post
Hey, im stuck......

I have followed the above line by line (i think) but i keep getting ecu time out errors...

I have used a spare multiplug to solder the resistors etc as follows...

Pin 1-2, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11 to 3.3Ohm resistors.
Pin 9 to the K Line on the KKL adapter.
Lamp joined between Pin 13-15
Pin 14 ground
Pin 15 12v.

I then attached the 12v from ECU and the 12v crocodile clip from KKL adapter to a power supply.
Then grounded the ground from ECU and the ground crocodile clip from KKL adapter.
I then connected my USB OBD2 adapter to the KKL adapter and plugged it into the laptop.

The software starts up fine, it finds one device, then i get ECU time out repeatedly.

The lamp does light up as soon as i connect to power supply, and remains lit until i disconnect.

I have tried to bridge connections from pin 7 to pin 3 on the KKL adapter as i read this somewhere else.

Nothing makes a difference! Im hoping im making a school boy error and somebody can point me in the right direction!

Thanks in advance!
Sounds like you are doing things right. Might be that the airbag ECU itself is faulty and cannot communicate.
redtop_68 is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
naanbread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 170
Hi guys,

Im getting the software to work but everytime it runs a scan of faults it comes back with "ECU Reponse timeout!"

What does this mean?
naanbread is offline  
(Post Link) post #130 of 159 Old 04-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Spinning like a cat
AO Member
 
redtop_68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 515

Member car:

GTV 2.0TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by naanbread View Post
Hi guys,

Im getting the software to work but everytime it runs a scan of faults it comes back with "ECU Reponse timeout!"

What does this mean?
It means that the ECU doesn't respond. Double check that the L-Line isn't connected!
redtop_68 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
naanbread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by redtop_68 View Post
It means that the ECU doesn't respond. Double check that the L-Line isn't connected!

The L-line is blue and white isnt it?
naanbread is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
naanbread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 170
I have cut the L-line and still doing it. Its very annoying as it was perfectly find before I accidentally removed the seats with power still attached
naanbread is offline  
Status: just bought a 3.0V6 Spider-yikes!
AO Member
 
Alfa_Awfulsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 85
Images: 8
ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr View Post
I've now made an interface and wanted to test it out. It was with some feelings of foolishness and quite a lot of unease that I set an error on my ECU.

Good news is, the interface and software work just fine. Huge sense of relief to me when the light went out as my airbag light has never been on ( except on power on self test! ) and I didn't want it on!

My interface is somewhat similar to the one pictured by redtop_68 in post 20. In order to make it I had to buy parts some of which had a minimum quantity. I therefore have a surplus of parts so if anyone is interested, I could make up a few more and post them out for some beer tokens ( not sure how much at this stage ).




I have a working setup and live in Bedfordshire ( not far from M1 J12 ). If it's not too far for you, I'm happy to help.
I live 4 miles from junction 12 M1 and was wondering if I could beg, borrow or steal it to solve my airbag light issue before I lose the will to live? Best regards Mike 0792 6966651
Alfa_Awfulsod is offline  
pkr
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,102
Let me dig it out and I'll get back to you.
pkr is offline  
Status: just bought a 3.0V6 Spider-yikes!
AO Member
 
Alfa_Awfulsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 85
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr View Post
Let me dig it out and I'll get back to you.
Thank-you!
Alfa_Awfulsod is offline  
pkr
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa_Awfulsod View Post
Thank-you!
Well, no problem finding the airbag lead - it was exactly where I thought it was. However, I can't, at the moment, find my 16 pin to 3 pin ( Fiat ) adaptor. I normally leave it plugged in to the OBD lead ( which I have got ). I don't recall lending it to anyone so it should be a matter of looking in the right place. How much of a hurry are you in? MOT?

If I can't find it, I'll have to buy another but I should be able to find it with a bit more searching!
pkr is offline  
Status: just bought a 3.0V6 Spider-yikes!
AO Member
 
Alfa_Awfulsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 85
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr View Post
Well, no problem finding the airbag lead - it was exactly where I thought it was. However, I can't, at the moment, find my 16 pin to 3 pin ( Fiat ) adaptor. I normally leave it plugged in to the OBD lead ( which I have got ). I don't recall lending it to anyone so it should be a matter of looking in the right place. How much of a hurry are you in? MOT?

If I can't find it, I'll have to buy another but I should be able to find it with a bit more searching!
That's ok as I have all the diagnostic leads myself! MOT not imminent but the light is annoying! Happy to pop over with the leads over the week-end if you are not busy?
Alfa_Awfulsod is offline  
pkr
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,102
I could do tomorrow morning.

Let me know and I'll send a PM with my details.
pkr is offline  
Status: just bought a 3.0V6 Spider-yikes!
AO Member
 
Alfa_Awfulsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 85
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr View Post
I could do tomorrow morning.

Let me know and I'll send a PM with my details.
I'm off all day!
Alfa_Awfulsod is offline  
pkr
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,102
Just tried to call you on the number above. Left a garbled message! But you'll have my number to return the call.
pkr is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 2.0 TS 1999

Hello,

Does anybody have a good dump for the 60625181 airbag ecu? I've tried a few and none worked.

I always get the ECU FAULT error.
arfreak is offline  
Status: just bought a 3.0V6 Spider-yikes!
AO Member
 
Alfa_Awfulsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 85
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfreak View Post
Hello,

Does anybody have a good dump for the 60625181 airbag ecu? I've tried a few and none worked.

I always get the ECU FAULT error.
Stick one in the post to me and I can try to clear the code using the software I now have?
Alfa_Awfulsod is offline  
(Post Link) post #143 of 159 Old 08-11-14 Thread Starter
Status: Spinning like a cat
AO Member
 
redtop_68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 515

Member car:

GTV 2.0TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by arfreak View Post
Hello,

Does anybody have a good dump for the 60625181 airbag ecu? I've tried a few and none worked.

I always get the ECU FAULT error.

Try this one. Remove the .pdf extension and unzip.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 60625181 - 200033 - 10217570418EH cleared.zip.pdf (271 Bytes, 39 views)

Last edited by redtop_68; 08-11-14 at 18:17.
redtop_68 is offline  
(Post Link) post #144 of 159 Old 08-11-14 Thread Starter
Status: Spinning like a cat
AO Member
 
redtop_68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 515

Member car:

GTV 2.0TS

arfreak: If you check the TRW2.OBD script file there is a section "Index of Defective Devices".
Remove the comment char (#) and you will get extended info on the ECU error.


Index of Defective Devices

Index 01: DC/DC converter (out of tolerance)
Index 02: Energy charger capacity defect.
Index 03: Signal threshold S1, or defective integration.
Index 04: Defect on accelerometer.
Index 05: Power sage (-) for driver airbag defective.
Index 06: Power sage (+) for driver airbag defective.
Index 07: Voltage of energy charger out of tolerance.
Index 08: S.C of safing sensor.
Index 09: Defect on the power comparator.
Index 10: Safing sensor power supply defect.
Index 11: Memory defect.
Index 12: Not used.
Index 13: Power stage (-) for passenger airbag defective.
Index 14: Power stage (+) for the driver + passenger pretensioner defective.
Index 15: Power stage (-) for the driver pretensioner defective.
Index 16: Power stage (-) for the passenger pretensioner defective.
redtop_68 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 2.0 TS 1999

Quote:
Originally Posted by redtop_68 View Post
arfreak: If you check the TRW2.OBD script file there is a section "Index of Defective Devices".
Remove the comment char (#) and you will get extended info on the ECU error.


Index of Defective Devices

Index 01: DC/DC converter (out of tolerance)
Index 02: Energy charger capacity defect.
Index 03: Signal threshold S1, or defective integration.
Index 04: Defect on accelerometer.
Index 05: Power sage (-) for driver airbag defective.
Index 06: Power sage (+) for driver airbag defective.
Index 07: Voltage of energy charger out of tolerance.
Index 08: S.C of safing sensor.
Index 09: Defect on the power comparator.
Index 10: Safing sensor power supply defect.
Index 11: Memory defect.
Index 12: Not used.
Index 13: Power stage (-) for passenger airbag defective.
Index 14: Power stage (+) for the driver + passenger pretensioner defective.
Index 15: Power stage (-) for the driver pretensioner defective.
Index 16: Power stage (-) for the passenger pretensioner defective.
Thank you redtop_68!

I got indexes 01 and 02. Any chance to repair this ECU?
arfreak is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 2.0 TS 1999

Quote:
Originally Posted by redtop_68 View Post
Try this one. Remove the .pdf extension and unzip.
No luck, I keep getting ECU fault and indexes 01 and 02.
arfreak is offline  
(Post Link) post #147 of 159 Old 10-11-14 Thread Starter
Status: Spinning like a cat
AO Member
 
redtop_68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 515

Member car:

GTV 2.0TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by arfreak View Post
Thank you redtop_68!

I got indexes 01 and 02. Any chance to repair this ECU?
Probably easier to get a used one from a scrap yard/breaker, but if you are curious, try changing the three large capcitors and see if that makes any difference.
redtop_68 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
County: -
Posts: 1

Member car:

Alfa GTV

Hy everybody,
I'm trying to use this trw2scan software with no success I tried to reset my ecu, but unfortunately "ecu response timeout". I tried everything, (another cable, windows8 and xp too, another driver) but the result was: lamp still on and can't connect ot ecu.
I decided to buy a new (second hand) ecu. I hooked it up to check with the trw2scan software, but still no succes. I connected it to 12V and the lamp goes on for ~ 0.5 seconds and suddenly goes off. If I remove one of the dummy resistor there's still not happening anything. Of course I can' use the softeare, because: "ecu response timeout". BUT with lower supply (~9V) the lamp goes on and not goes off, but I still can not connect to the ECU.
Has anyone faced similar problem? (PS: Can be problem, that I try to test with AC/DC 12V adapter)

Last edited by yoman917; 20-01-15 at 08:38.
yoman917 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Jowey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 295

Member car:

GTV 916C1 24v V6

I have desk built a circuit for resetting the TRW2 ECU.

I cant get the USB drivers for the cable to work in Windows
possibly the FTDI software I had downloaded disabled my cable
Cheap Chinese Diag Cables with counterfeit FTDI Chipset disabled by FTDI software

I ran the TRW2Scan software instead on my Mac.
It seems to read a number of faults and attempt to clear them.
The process then loops showing the same faults.
(have added a screenshot of this in the attachments below)

I have 3 of these ECU's I would like to reset.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 10.46.06.png (162.0 KB, 27 views)

Last edited by Jowey; 09-02-16 at 11:06. Reason: formatting
Jowey is offline  
pkr
Status: Planning the next project ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jowey View Post
The process then loops showing the same faults.
What's your power source voltage?

I've noticed when doing this for someone else, the ECU seems to be quite sensitive to the supply voltage and won't reset if the voltage is too low. Off a 12v battery, the same as you. Switching to a 13.8v mains supply, no problem.
pkr is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
airbag , diagnostics , obd , phase , phase1 , solved , trw , trw2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome