loose gearbox selector - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 25-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: proud owner of a 159 too now
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 896
Images: 4
loose gearbox selector

hell there.
just got my alfa spider. the gear shift is very very sloppy, sometimes can't even find 1st
did notice that on top of gearbox the bracket that holds the selector in place has worked loose and two bolts need tighten, but don't know if i can get to them.
any i ideas or comment will be appreciated thanks paul

fixed it now had a loose mounting gearbox top,bloddy hard to do 5 hours but gear change back to normal now.
their are 2 bolts which hold the L shaped bracket t0 the top of ger box these had worked loose. HAD TO REMOVER the top rocker connecor first.
not a easy job as space is an issue. watch out for washers that jump out anf rubber o ringds going flying. next job is a new cv inner, going to try a strech one.
cheers paul happy vroooooom

Last edited by phwspider; 28-09-11 at 16:54. Reason: fixedit now.
phwspider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 35
I have had this problem on two GTVs I've had.
No easy fix unfortunately. You have to get under the car and remove the exhaust and a long metal cover to get access up under the plastic part that the lever sits in so you can get a spanner on the nuts.
Pain in the bum to fix something that could have been avoided with better design.
Very hard to do if not on a hoist.
Barryco is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 26-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: proud owner of a 159 too now
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 896
Images: 4
thanks for a quick reponse, but its not their. the loose mount is actually on top of the gear box inside engine bay, by the selectors on top of the gear box. i will take some photos soon. regards Paul
phwspider is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
jonnogtv's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Antrim
Posts: 1,237
Images: 4

Member car:


Have a read of this mate http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...ear-lever.html

I never got round to doing this to my TS and I'm not sure if it will cure you problem but its a cheap fix so might be worth a try.
jonnogtv is offline  
Status: Summer's here - roof is down!
AO Member
Cluffstarr's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 931
For phwspider - did you manage to take any pictures? I have a problem such take the gear lever itself is quite loose in that the level will lift slightly when changing into third / fourth (these gears are quite stiff and I believe I need to get the end of the gearbox off to clean out the swarf). I'd like to investigate the issue further to save myself a few quid come service time...

Cheers, CLuffstarr
Cluffstarr is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

gearbox , loose , selector

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome