Handbrake!!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a

Does anyones handbrake work on their GTV? I've had mine looked at a couple of times and it still doesn't work. First I was told it was the rubber gaiters, then I was told it was the cable?
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Schrodinger's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 540

Member car:


Re: Handbrake!!!

Mine works. It's not brilliant, but it's OK.
Schrodinger is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
Spiderman's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 8,688

Member car:

2007 Ford Focus!

Re: Handbrake!!!

Same here.Works but not great on steep hills.Mind you the one in my Rover 75 isn`t much better.
Spiderman is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 236
Re: Handbrake!!!

Mine is much better since I had rubbers and cables replaced..... they didn't seem to tighten it eenough when they did it, so I got them to do that, and now it feels pretty strong.
Giles is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Re: Handbrake!!!

No, mine neither. Just had all the brakes done and it's still not possible to handbrake the car. Not that I'd want to knacker my 18"s though...
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 22

Member car:

GTV 2.0 TS

Re: Handbrake!!!

Hi guys - im having a similar problem with my 2.0 gtv at the minute - the handvbrake doesnt seem to even hold the car (well it does when standing but wouldnt like to accend everest and stop on the way)

is the4 only answer replacing rubbers and cables or is it possible to tighten them?? where do you tighten it??

any advice will save my MOT fail - 25% efficiency at the mo on the hand brake test just wont cut it.

any advice welcome (also posted a main thread)

benjid is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
Gary Slegg's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Wales
Posts: 16,710
Re: Handbrake!!!

Mine works okay at the moment...
Gary Slegg is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
howmuch's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 578
Re: Handbrake!!!

Hi trying to undo the adjuster which is inside the handbrake lever aperture 13mm nut becarefull not to undo to much as it will come off the threaded bar take the GTV out on road and really work the brakes then try adjusting the cable again it normally stops been a good handbrake if cable is to tight and this stops the self adjusting calipers from working leave a little slack on the cable this alloys self adjustment to work allow 4-7 notches on ratchet, ie if not working could be calipers not working on internal ratched, good luck!
howmuch is offline  
Status: -
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 3

Member car:

33, GTV, Spider

Re: Handbrake!!!

Haveing problems with mine to, fails MOT only 14%, I have fitted new cables, caliper and pads, adjusted ok, I am at a loss as to what to do. any help would be appriceated.
33 alfa nut is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
Ralf S.'s Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The land that Time forgot
Posts: 12,568
Images: 18
Re: Handbrake!!!

Are the rear discs shiny silver or a bit corroded and dark? If the discs aren't shiny-clean you could just have knackered calipers.

Ralf S.
Ralf S. is offline  
Status: NEW ALFA! :D
AO Silver Member
SpiderMJ's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 1,104
Images: 1
Re: Handbrake!!!

I recently got new rear discs and pads fitted and already they started to show signs of uneven wear, darker areas in the disc.

I have stopped using the handbrake altogether when parking (unless on steep hill) and over the last few weeks the situation on the discs has gradually improved.

Not sure if this means my calipers are buggered or if its using handbrake when the discs are hot that is problem.. I could get the pads refitted to see if that helps I suppose.
SpiderMJ is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
nrj's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 60

Member car:

gtv ts lusso

Re: Handbrake!!!

my hand brake only just passes the mot , i have had an advisory on it for the last 3 years. Seems ok to me though so wont do any thing until it fails ....... or rolls away.
nrj is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome