changing GTV V6 thermostat - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 10-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
changing GTV V6 thermostat

Hi

i'm replacing the thermostat on my GTV. Got it sat here, just waiting for my antifreeze to be delivered *** the last lot got lost in the post!!

Anyways, I was having a nosey under the bonnet yesterday to have a look at the thermostats location etc & noticed there's a black box sat over it with some elec connections inside. I can't see for the life in me how the hell you remove this box so i can get to the 3rd thermostat bolt!!

I've also got a workshop manual on cd, doesn't really say a great deal on there about it!!

any hints/advice welcome!!


Craig
actionman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: GTA Tiiiiiiiiiime!
AO Silver Member
 
JR Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,573
Images: 5
Do you know what the box is??

If you are referring to the airbox piping and resonator from the throttle body, this is simply a case of removing the hose clips the pulling the pipework off.

I did the g/f's the other week and as far as I can remember was very straight forward - just don't drop any bolts down into any holes - all I removed was the airbox piping.

Cheers

jrr
JR Racing is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,307
Images: 13
I don't think you need to remove anything on a GTV to get to the thermostat. I didn't on my car, there is enough space along side of the intake hose to remove the stat without disconnecting any of it.

Are you sure you are actually looking at the right bit actionman?

Here is a picture of where it is.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a2...Thermostat.jpg
symon is offline  
Status: Confused
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 74
Hi,
I think Symon may have a Ph1? On the the Ph2 there is a box obscuring the 3rd bolt, if you move the cables within the box to one side (I didn't dare split the connector!) you can get at the bolt underneath, remove this (Allen head I think) and you can move the box enough to get at the thermostat bolt. Don't drop anything!!
Hope it goes well, it makes a hell of a difference for a small amount of money / effort.

Jeff
MURPHSDAD is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,307
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MURPHSDAD View Post
Hi,
I think Symon may have a Ph1? On the the Ph2 there is a box obscuring the 3rd bolt, if you move the cables within the box to one side (I didn't dare split the connector!) you can get at the bolt underneath, remove this (Allen head I think) and you can move the box enough to get at the thermostat bolt. Don't drop anything!!
Hope it goes well, it makes a hell of a difference for a small amount of money / effort.

Jeff
Nope that picture is from a Phase 2 that was only 2 weeks old.

Even if you do need to remove the intake hose it is only a couple of clips, so its not the end of the world.
symon is offline  
Status: Confused
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 74
You can see the box here:

PistonHeads.com
MURPHSDAD is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 2,838
Images: 6

Member car:

GTV V6 & GTA SW

The box he's referring to is in the bottom right of this photo http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images/72-5-800.jpg just below the breather.

As said above remove the cables from it gently and there is a bolt at the bottom of the box
rmaxeman is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,307
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MURPHSDAD View Post
You can see the box here:

PistonHeads.com
That would explain it. That car is a CF3
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 28 Old 10-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by symon View Post
I don't think you need to remove anything on a GTV to get to the thermostat. I didn't on my car, there is enough space along side of the intake hose to remove the stat without disconnecting any of it.

Are you sure you are actually looking at the right bit actionman?

Here is a picture of where it is.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a2...Thermostat.jpg
As i have the new thermostat here i'm pretty i sure know what i'm looking for!! lol!!
actionman is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 28 Old 10-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
My engine looks the same as the engine in the links the MURPHSDAD & rmaxeman posted
actionman is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,307
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionman View Post
As i have the new thermostat here i'm pretty i sure know what i'm looking for!! lol!!
Ahh I see.. I wasn't trying to tell you how to suck eggs.
symon is offline  
Status: Angel tuned tyre burner
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa.Romeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,121
Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket 25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
Alfa.Romeo is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,307
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTVLee View Post
Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket 25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
The gauge does tend to read a bit low on these, mine reads 70C in general driving where as my fan comes on at just over 80C (On the gauge).

I hooked the car up to Unidiag and the actual coolant temp is around 10C higher than the gauge is reading.

60C does sound too low however.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 28 Old 11-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTVLee View Post
Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket 25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
yep, same here!!
actionman is offline  
Status: Looking forward to weekend
AO Member
 
siandsue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Ordered one myself after reading this. My car doesnt get up to temp at all unless I'm in heavy traffic.
siandsue is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 28 Old 12-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
Job done today!! That little black box thing was a bit on the fiddly side to shift out of the way to get to the 3rd thermostat bolt!!

I also decided not to undo the plugs inside it!! would've been much easier if i had undone them though but didn't want to upset anything!! lol

Gave the rad a right good flush out with the hosepipe. TBH looking at the coolant & lack of crappy bits in the drained fluid it looks like it was changed not that long ago!! anyways, doesn't matter, now got new theromstat & a system full of Comma Xstream longlife red antifreeze

Next job on the list is gearbox oil!! Got some Fuchs Titan Sintopoid 75w90 sat here waiting to go in!!
actionman is offline  
Status: Looking forward to weekend
AO Member
 
siandsue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Whats with the hose clips, they arn't like jubilee clips. How do they work? Sorry if its just me being thick.
siandsue is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 28 Old 18-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
actionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 214
They're a bit fiddly!! not sure how to put into to words how to remove them!! I just used a flat bladed screw driver under the raised section to unclip it, then to refit it i just used a pair of pliers to pich them together!!
actionman is offline  
Status: Looking forward to weekend
AO Member
 
siandsue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Changed the thermostat this weekend, went like a dream thanks to all the help on this thread. Moving all the wires in that black box is scarey, I was sure something wouldnt work afterwards but all is well.

Thanks guys.
siandsue is offline  
Status: Now a GTV v6 owner
AO Silver Member
 
fewleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 2,482

Member car:

Alfa 147 GTA

When taking the old stat off, is there going to be much leaking?
fewleh is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,295
Images: 2
Best to take the bottom hose off the radiator and drain into a bucket as otherwise coolant will go everywhere.
spankdanny is offline  
Status: Now a GTV v6 owner
AO Silver Member
 
fewleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 2,482

Member car:

Alfa 147 GTA

Thanks for the tip. Is it easily accessed if do I need to take the bumper off? Any chance of a pic so I can definitely take off the right thing ?
fewleh is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,295
Images: 2
You can reach down the back of the radiator to get to the clip holding the hose on. Best to have some new clips to hand in case the old aren't reusable. It's a good idea to flush the system with a hose pipe while its apart too. When its back together, refill with fresh coolant and run the engine with the expansion tank cap off and the heater control set to hot. This will bleed air out the system so keep an eye on coolant level and top up. Stick cap back on and check for leaks.
spankdanny is offline  
Status: Now a GTV v6 owner
AO Silver Member
 
fewleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 2,482

Member car:

Alfa 147 GTA

Thanks very much. How much coolant will I need and where can I grab some clips from ? Are they just 'x' mm hose clips? Wondering what to look for on the bay. Def good to have some spares. Just I'm sat in hospital at the moment unable to check and would like to order some asap. Thanks again, much appreciated. Just picked up my gtv yesterday and building up a list of jobs..
fewleh is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 490
Did mine this week. Didnt drain the radiator as the clip for the bottom hose was hard to unscrew so just stuck an oil draining pan under the car (it was on ramps), disconnected the hose from the thermostat and unbolted it. about Three quarters of the contents of the resevoir tank leaked out but that was it so just topped it up and ran the car to its operating temperature with the heating on and the reservoir cap off to bleed the system
sraouf is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
changing , gtv , thermostat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome