Possible MAF problem - need help understanding diagnostics - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 18-02-10 Thread Starter
AO Member
Possible MAF problem - need help understanding diagnostics

Hi all,

My GTV TS suffers from intermittent idle hunting. Having just got a lead and diagnostics software, I'm not seeing any error codes, but what I am seeing is the O2 sensor reading fluctuating madly and the fuel mixture oscillating between Rich and Lean. I have little knowledge or ability when it comes to such things; is this what you would expect to see with a faulty MAF? I'm reticent to fork out for a new one without some confirmation that it is the likely culprit. Btw, I've checked the hoses and they seem sound.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: West Midlands
I'm not an expert in diagnostic but all I know is when my MAF sensor was dead, the diag was showing 0 for the quantity of air going in the engine. So if you see 0 with the engine running or maybe in your case weird oscillating values even if the engine is @ idle, it could be that but I'm not 100% sure
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 18-02-10 Thread Starter
AO Member
Hmm, not the number of responses I had hoped for! Just to add a bit more information in a not so subtle attempt to bump the thread, it's the O2 sensor voltage reading I'm talking about and it fluctuates wildly between about 50mv - 800mv. Is this normal? It's a bit of a downer to have got the diagnostic software (FIATECUSCAN16) working, but then not to understand what it is telling me. I was hoping for some obvious errors. On a related note, when the idle does steady for any length of time, a nudge of the steering or turning the blowers on, causes it to fluctuate again! Sounds weird but no doubt you expert types will hopefully make sense of it.
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 18-02-10 Thread Starter
AO Member