Why am I wrong? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Why am I wrong?

A new MAF for a V6 costs upwards of 150. The advice on here is always to pay top dollar for one from a specialist. These people are selling one (minus plastic tube) for 60.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Air-flow-mass-meter-sensor-ALFA-ROMEO-166-0280218054_W0QQitemZ370086088872QQcmdZViewItemQQpt ZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item370086 088872&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1689|66 %3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1318

My thought processes are:
1. Electronics are electronics, they will either work or not and there probably wont be that much difference between Bosch or anyone else's.
2. If originals are so good, why do they fail so regularly?

So why am I wrong to consider one?

Edit: Can some one make that link work for me please? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
symon's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,580
Images: 13
Re: Why am I wrong?


This one?

It is a fake.

I am not sure why the fake ones don't work well, but the fact is they are generally a waste of money.

I Can't remember the last time someone posted up and said their non bosch MAF actually worked ok.

The Bosch ones are not too bad, OK they do fail occasionally but normally its because of dirt/oil contamination. I have been driving MAF equipped Alfa's and Fiats for over 10 years and I have only had one dodgy one, and it was faulty when I bought the car.

Also remember that Bosch also make the ECU and other management parts. The Bosch parts are designed to work with each other.

Electronics are not nessesairy electronics, a top Notch Sony TV will work better than an Argos own brand one for instance.

You will never be cool driving a Vauxhall.
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
AMV's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 275

Member car:

GTV 3.0 v24

Re: Why am I wrong?

Originally Posted by symonh View Post
normally its because of dirt/oil contamination.
I had only one broken MAF, I found dead fly on the element. Some days after air filter change, the box was poorly cleaned. As long as anything else than air is kept away, they work fine.
AMV is offline  
Status: older and stupider :D
AO Gold Member
GTV/Spider Lounge Winner 09
alfa-female's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Monmouthshire
Posts: 9,245
Re: Why am I wrong?

i had a 'other' MAF fitted for 80 quid...lasted 4 mths....paid and had a bosch part 146 quid..the car is totally different.....
alfa-female is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,139

Member car:

P2 GTV 3.0

Re: Why am I wrong?

You need the Bosch original, others don't work, presumably so it speaks to the Bosch ECU. A boffin on sportsalfa(well, GTVV6).com did a lot of work on this and claimed he had got a different make to work, but no-one was particularly convinced. It seems to be the phase 2 models that have a fragile maf but don't know if P1s are different - perhaps just fewer of them around.
SimonT is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Markos's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 1,280
Images: 5

Member car:


Re: Why am I wrong?

I think it was a Pierburg unit or something Simon.

Thing I don't understand is why the part still costs so much, the price doesn't seem to have come down much over the last 5 years.
Markos is offline  
Status: No more GTA
AO Silver Member
pcbuild2k's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 1,496
Images: 25

Member car:

156 JTS

Re: Why am I wrong?

i have read before that the actual element from the maf is the same for the v6/ts and it is only the outside tube that is different, if that is correct then a saving could be made by purchasing a ts maf and swapping the internals with your old v6 one

as for the cheap maf, a mate of mine bought one from ebay for his laguna, i fitted it for him, worked perfect for 1/4 of a mile then failed
that is my only experience of the cheap copys and as such would recomend a genuine bosch part
pcbuild2k is offline  
Status: Constantly Nagging Lincolnshire Members !
Regional Support
For Lincolnshire - AOL
Nige005's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincs
Posts: 16,083
Images: 22
Re: Why am I wrong?

As far as I know the P1's are different as in fact they have an AFM rather than a MAF.

I believe that that the AFM idea has two sensors, one for airflow and one for air temperature. Seems that these are more reliable.

Not 100% sure on this though, clarification/confirmation would be nice.
Nige005 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 60
Re: Why am I wrong?

from a bit of research I did recently there are two ways that air flow is generally measured.. one uses a tiny web like filament that is directly in the air flow, the other uses two wires that are above or to the side of the air flow.. obviously the newer web filament type is more sensitive and should give more accurate information to the ecu but it is more delicate.. the older type is more robust but doesn't give such accurate numbers to the ecu..

someone will be on in a bit to explain it properly I'm sure..
mjltigger is offline  
Status: Its not a car its a tax on love
AO Member
johnnystealth's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 453
Images: 17
Re: Why am I wrong?

Firstly, I just bought a new maf from Steve at Alternative Autos- genuine, boxed, brand new for 120 plus vat. This is pretty good from what I hear of other places.
Secondl, what is really weird is that the maf is the same one as on Fiat coupes, and they never fail, but the GTV munches them. This can only be due to contamination; probably the GTVs rubbish air filter location and the fact that the airbox gets cracked, and the bolts shear off where the filter element sandwiches to the box, thus letting dirty air in. Both myself and my mate with his 156 v6 have found this out in the last week....

Ph2 GTV: Nuvola Blue, 3.2 engine, Alfatune map, Alfaholics exhaust, GTA 330mm Brakes, Tarox, Bilsteins, BMC CDA airbox, Q2 diff, GTA clutch & flywheel
johnnystealth is offline  
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
symon's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 33,580
Images: 13
Re: Why am I wrong?

Fiat coupe ones do fail. Trust me.

IIRC the 20V Fiat shares the MAF with some TS Alfa's. (Ally topped I think)
symon is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome