Multicuescan - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mitch916
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 09-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fife
Posts: 118

Member car:

'99 GTV 3.0

Multicuescan

I have a 98 3.0 GTV & a 2003 2.4 10v 156.

I plan on selling the GTV but it's failed on emissions issues & I need to check with diagnostics.

My far-more computer techy daughter has installed the software.

I have had an ELM327 (probably a Chinese copy) bought but never used for a Mondeo, so I don't know if it works or not.

Plugged into both cars it's giving different results.

The GTV says 3-pin adaptor required. The computer/cable powers the engine fan continuously. There are different engine management systems listed.....how does one tell which one?

In the 156 the message says there is no Com Port.


I have no idea how to proceed from here. Should I maybe buy a different interface cable.....are there any that are straightforward to use....I need one that has the drivers downloadable as the disc drive doesn't work.

Another option might be any helpful member in the Fife area.....anyone know of anyone that I could visit & check the laptop/software/hardware is working?

Gary
Ex-105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,409
Images: 2
I would start with getting some quality cables. I got mine http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/buy_me_fro..._sop=12&_rdc=1

You will need the 3 pin adapter for phase 1 cars.
spankdanny is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 6 Old 10-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fife
Posts: 118

Member car:

'99 GTV 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by spankdanny View Post
I would start with getting some quality cables. I got mine http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/buy_me_fro..._sop=12&_rdc=1

You will need the 3 pin adapter for phase 1 cars.
Ok.....thanks.
Ex-105 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Nellytheroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by spankdanny View Post
I would start with getting some quality cables. I got mine http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/buy_me_fro..._sop=12&_rdc=1

You will need the 3 pin adapter for phase 1 cars.
Which one would I need for a Phase 2?
Nellytheroc is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fife
Posts: 118

Member car:

'99 GTV 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellytheroc View Post
Which one would I need for a Phase 2?
The cable/info mentioned above.
Mine's a Phase 2, & I've been told that I'm selecting the wrong thing in the programme that's causing the '3 pin' information message.
Ex-105 is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,813
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-105 View Post
The cable/info mentioned above.
Mine's a Phase 2, & I've been told that I'm selecting the wrong thing in the programme that's causing the '3 pin' information message.
Possibly selecting the wrong ecu

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
spankdanny likes this.
Mitch916 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
multicuescan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome