No brown key - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 06-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
County: Estonia
Posts: 28
No brown key

If I buy a car that doesnt have the brown alarm key, how could I get one?
Pine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
AnthonyJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 2,058
Images: 4
I think that the brown key is only the 'master' to allow you to code other keys with all the original information. If the red key works OK you should be fine as long as you don't lose it or otherwise you'll be stuck. I've got a brown key for both my Spider and my Cup but in 16 years of 916 ownership have never needed to use them !!!
AnthonyJohn is offline  
Status: GTV bits everywhere
AO Member
 
Matt GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 887
Images: 4

Member car:

2000 V6

Yep, just get the red key cloned at Timpsons or somewhere


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Matt GTV is offline  
 
(Post Link) post #4 of 8 Old 06-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
County: Estonia
Posts: 28
Oh ok. I asked the seller and he said there is only 1 red key and I went into panic mode.

So basically if I have a key that works then taking the battery off etc. doenst really affect my ability to use the car?
Pine is offline  
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,312
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pine View Post
.....So basically if I have a key that works then taking the battery off etc. doenst really affect my ability to use the car?
Yes, that's right

As stated above, the brown key can be used to program new keys into an ECU/ Code box e.g.....

1) your main ECU is kaput, and you source a 2nd hand ECU, immobiliser code box and keys from another car (minimum is the brown key). Your existing keys won't be recognised by the new ECU/ immobiliser and the replacement keys don't fit your locks. with the immobiliser chip from the replacement brown key, you can program your old keys into the replacement ECU/ code box. (I had to do this) If you don't have the replacement brown key chip, then you would have to change all the locks to use the replacement keys

There are other ways to overcome a duff main ECU, getting a virgin ECU/ code box - the 1st key used will become the 'brown' key. Or if you are an electronics expert you can program the ECU/code box directly

2) you buy new keys from alfa dealer. The brown key can be used to program the new keys

If you get the red key cloned at Timsons, then you don't need the brown key except as above. Taking out battery etc is not a problem

Rich http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/images/smilies/wink.gif

Last edited by Rich_wookey; 06-10-16 at 15:15.
Rich_wookey is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 8 Old 06-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
County: Estonia
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_wookey View Post
Yes, that's right
2) you buy new keys from alfa dealer. The brown key can be used to program the new keys
So I couldnt buy new keys from the retailer if I didnt have the brown key?
Pine is offline  
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,312
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pine View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_wookey View Post
Yes, that's right
2) you buy new keys from alfa dealer. The brown key can be used to program the new keys
So I couldnt buy new keys from the retailer if I didnt have the brown key?
You can get your current key copied by a high street key cutting service. They 'clone' the immobiliser chip in you current key, the car would think both keys were the the same key

But if you buy a key from Alfa dealer, you would need the brown key to register it into the ECU - the immobiliser chip would not be recognised by your car (unless you paid Alfa dealer to do this - lots of money)

So the only issue you would have without the brown is if the ECU/ code box fails, that's very rare, but not impossible

Rich
Rich_wookey is offline  
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
 
rgwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burnley-ish
County: Lancashire
Posts: 9,301
Doubt whether there will be a Timpsons in Estonia......
rgwm is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
brown , key

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome