changing GTV V6 thermostat - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

changing GTV V6 thermostat

Hi

i'm replacing the thermostat on my GTV. Got it sat here, just waiting for my antifreeze to be delivered *** the last lot got lost in the post!!

Anyways, I was having a nosey under the bonnet yesterday to have a look at the thermostats location etc & noticed there's a black box sat over it with some elec connections inside. I can't see for the life in me how the hell you remove this box so i can get to the 3rd thermostat bolt!!

I've also got a workshop manual on cd, doesn't really say a great deal on there about it!!

any hints/advice welcome!!


Craig
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
JR Racing's Avatar
Status: GTA Tiiiiiiiiiime!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,573
Images: 5

Member car:

147 GTA, SC 16v, Punto GT

Do you know what the box is??

If you are referring to the airbox piping and resonator from the throttle body, this is simply a case of removing the hose clips the pulling the pipework off.

I did the g/f's the other week and as far as I can remember was very straight forward - just don't drop any bolts down into any holes - all I removed was the airbox piping.

Cheers

jrr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,147
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

I don't think you need to remove anything on a GTV to get to the thermostat. I didn't on my car, there is enough space along side of the intake hose to remove the stat without disconnecting any of it.

Are you sure you are actually looking at the right bit actionman?

Here is a picture of where it is.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a2...Thermostat.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
Status: Confused
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 74

Member car:

Cup #40, SEAT Leon

Hi,
I think Symon may have a Ph1? On the the Ph2 there is a box obscuring the 3rd bolt, if you move the cables within the box to one side (I didn't dare split the connector!) you can get at the bolt underneath, remove this (Allen head I think) and you can move the box enough to get at the thermostat bolt. Don't drop anything!!
Hope it goes well, it makes a hell of a difference for a small amount of money / effort.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,147
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

Originally Posted by MURPHSDAD View Post
Hi,
I think Symon may have a Ph1? On the the Ph2 there is a box obscuring the 3rd bolt, if you move the cables within the box to one side (I didn't dare split the connector!) you can get at the bolt underneath, remove this (Allen head I think) and you can move the box enough to get at the thermostat bolt. Don't drop anything!!
Hope it goes well, it makes a hell of a difference for a small amount of money / effort.

Jeff
Nope that picture is from a Phase 2 that was only 2 weeks old.

Even if you do need to remove the intake hose it is only a couple of clips, so its not the end of the world.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
Status: Confused
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 74

Member car:

Cup #40, SEAT Leon

You can see the box here:

PistonHeads.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 2,825
Images: 6

Member car:

GTV V6 & GT 170 Q2

The box he's referring to is in the bottom right of this photo http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images/72-5-800.jpg just below the breather.

As said above remove the cables from it gently and there is a bolt at the bottom of the box
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,147
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

Originally Posted by MURPHSDAD View Post
You can see the box here:

PistonHeads.com
That would explain it. That car is a CF3
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

Originally Posted by symon View Post
I don't think you need to remove anything on a GTV to get to the thermostat. I didn't on my car, there is enough space along side of the intake hose to remove the stat without disconnecting any of it.

Are you sure you are actually looking at the right bit actionman?

Here is a picture of where it is.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a2...Thermostat.jpg
As i have the new thermostat here i'm pretty i sure know what i'm looking for!! lol!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

My engine looks the same as the engine in the links the MURPHSDAD & rmaxeman posted
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,147
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

Originally Posted by actionman View Post
As i have the new thermostat here i'm pretty i sure know what i'm looking for!! lol!!
Ahh I see.. I wasn't trying to tell you how to suck eggs.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
Alfa.Romeo's Avatar
Status: Angel tuned tyre burner
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,017

Member car:

159 Ti 2.4 Qtronic

Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket £25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-10
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,147
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

Originally Posted by GTVLee View Post
Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket £25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
The gauge does tend to read a bit low on these, mine reads 70ºC in general driving where as my fan comes on at just over 80ºC (On the gauge).

I hooked the car up to Unidiag and the actual coolant temp is around 10ºC higher than the gauge is reading.

60ºC does sound too low however.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 11-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

Originally Posted by GTVLee View Post
Just ordered a new stat today for Shop4parts.New stat & gasket £25 to my door,not bad Only getting it as the temperature drops to 60 degrees while driving, a bit low dont you think?
yep, same here!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 11-03-10
siandsue's Avatar
Status: Looking forward to weekend
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Ordered one myself after reading this. My car doesnt get up to temp at all unless I'm in heavy traffic.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 12-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

Job done today!! That little black box thing was a bit on the fiddly side to shift out of the way to get to the 3rd thermostat bolt!!

I also decided not to undo the plugs inside it!! would've been much easier if i had undone them though but didn't want to upset anything!! lol

Gave the rad a right good flush out with the hosepipe. TBH looking at the coolant & lack of crappy bits in the drained fluid it looks like it was changed not that long ago!! anyways, doesn't matter, now got new theromstat & a system full of Comma Xstream longlife red antifreeze

Next job on the list is gearbox oil!! Got some Fuchs Titan Sintopoid 75w90 sat here waiting to go in!!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 15-03-10
siandsue's Avatar
Status: Looking forward to weekend
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Whats with the hose clips, they arn't like jubilee clips. How do they work? Sorry if its just me being thick.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-10
actionman's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 213

Member car:

04 Vectra 3.0 V6 CDTi SRi

They're a bit fiddly!! not sure how to put into to words how to remove them!! I just used a flat bladed screw driver under the raised section to unclip it, then to refit it i just used a pair of pliers to pich them together!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 21-03-10
siandsue's Avatar
Status: Looking forward to weekend
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 32

Member car:

GTV Cup

Changed the thermostat this weekend, went like a dream thanks to all the help on this thread. Moving all the wires in that black box is scarey, I was sure something wouldnt work afterwards but all is well.

Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
changing, gtv, thermostat

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa Romeo GT Jts...
alfa romeo 147 t...
Alfa romeo 147...
Alfa Romeo GTV V6 -...
Alfa romeo 147 1.6...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Alfa 147 Gta 2014...

View Sam_clmnt's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
We take privacy seriously, this is why we advise you to check your privacy settings by visiting your profile area and selecting "Profile Privacy".


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83