Giulia 180 diesel No throttle responce - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
User Tag List

 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
Giulia 180 diesel No throttle responce

First problem

Pulled out at a busy junction in rush hour traffic, no throttle!!!

As i started to move across junction the throttle failed to respond and the car started to literally crawl, the throttle returned after about 5 or so seconds but very dangerous if i had lost it for longer as i drove across the junction. Not impressed.

Lookers are contacting Alfa as it could cause a accident.

No warning lights on the dashboard
159Bob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Sorry to hear that. Is the 180 diesel a new engine or carry over from existing models?
cue2 is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
New engine
159Bob is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: SORN. driving an XC90.
AO Silver Member
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Images: 10
Blimey not good. Hope some fault was stored so they can see what happened.
alfabeat is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Images: 45
Could it be traction control related? ASR kicks in & Chops the power?

I'd be surprised as the current systems are really quite sophisticated and seem to strike the right balance between stopping the slip & moving forward.

My betting. Somewhere between "it's a characteristic Sir", "they all do it, Sir" or "no fault found".
Squadrone Rosso is online now  
(Post Link) post #6 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
would not think so, not a wet road and just pulling away on to the junction, if they mess me about they can have it back. its a very dangerous fault and could have serious problems for Alfa if i had a smash because I could not get out of the way
159Bob is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Never noticed any TC issues in the 180 I drove for a week in Spain, and that had some pretty filthy wet roads to deal with. The only traction related issue was punting it up very steep hairpins, when the drive got very unhappy, but the car still had throttle.
rxe is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Code Red
AO Member
 
Papa Gallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New South Wales Australia
County: Australia
was it possibly stuck in a high gear?

does auto show which gear you are in on the display ?
Papa Gallo is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
No it doesn't. It shows D(number) when you use the paddles, but quickly reverts to just "D" if you leave the paddles alone.
rxe is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 45 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Did the engine go into crawl home mode? Should be logged by the ECU from the sounds of it.
thrillhouse is offline  
Status: Code Red
AO Member
 
Papa Gallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New South Wales Australia
County: Australia
no it just temporarily lost throttle response by the sounds, or the dual clutch was confused and went up a gear when it stopped and didnt adjust properly

were the revs high, but motion slow ? that you can recall
Papa Gallo is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 45 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
Revs where both times at idle

Just happened again

Centre of Cardiff in traffic about 25 mph, gentle throttle, nothing for about 3 seconds. In then returned and nothing since

Not a happy bunny
159Bob is offline  
Status: Giulia??
AO Member
 
metalgod23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kent
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 159Bob View Post
Revs where both times at idle

Just happened again

Centre of Cardiff in traffic about 25 mph, gentle throttle, nothing for about 3 seconds. In then returned and nothing since

Not a happy bunny
Has the dealer looked at it yet? What did they say? Not at all good on a brand new car.
metalgod23 is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 45 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
Going into be plugged in Friday afternoon
159Bob is offline  
Status: "Investing" ; in a 156 V6
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Limerick
Early adapters are always going to be real world beta testers arent they? Hopefully its nothing major and just an ECU reset is required. It would be quite disconcerting if it happened when i pull out of my drive way!
samsemtex is offline  
Status: Giulia arrived
AO Member
 
gazc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 159Bob View Post
Revs where both times at idle

Just happened again

Centre of Cardiff in traffic about 25 mph, gentle throttle, nothing for about 3 seconds. In then returned and nothing since

Not a happy bunny
Is this in A mode? I've had a similar effect where it's changed hear a couple of times at just the wrong time, so has been going up to 5th, then changed down one as you push the throttle then again as you go a bit firmer because nothing seemed to happen. There seems to be so much gearbox activity all between 1200 and 2000 revs in A mode.
gazc is online now  
Status: GQV TCT finally here...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Lothian
Images: 4
If there was no throttle at all, it could be a faulty throttle position sensor. Sadly, everything is drive by wire these days.
Ali_ is online now  
Status: Until it blows..
AO Member
 
ionutp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: -
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by 159Bob View Post
Going into be plugged in Friday afternoon
Any news?
ionutp is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 45 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
ok, back from garage, the AR tech found 17 software issues, the Alfa tech spoke to ARUK who took him through resetting settings and clearing codes etc, one of the codes was my occasional use of my left foot to brake? They think that may be the issue as my right foot might have been very slightly touching the throttle pedal causing confusion in the software.

He cleared everything went on test with the tech and the diagnostic kit plugged in reading live date, nothing everything working as it should. So left and went for 20 mile test mixture of motorway and back to normal traffic when they issues happened nothing, on the motorway it went very well (will not say speed) and no problem in traffic so I'll have to see if its gone, I hope!
BrighouseAlfa likes this.
159Bob is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
17 software issues??? how so many?
cloverleaf159 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Images: 4
Confused Software!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 159Bob View Post
ok, back from garage, the AR tech found 17 software issues, the Alfa tech spoke to ARUK who took him through resetting settings and clearing codes etc, one of the codes was my occasional use of my left foot to brake? They think that may be the issue as my right foot might have been very slightly touching the throttle pedal causing confusion in the software.

He cleared everything went on test with the tech and the diagnostic kit plugged in reading live date, nothing everything working as it should. So left and went for 20 mile test mixture of motorway and back to normal traffic when they issues happened nothing, on the motorway it went very well (will not say speed) and no problem in traffic so I'll have to see if its gone, I hope!
Software which gets confused, in a manner which affects safety, by someone left foot braking isn't very good software in my book.

However, for such a new car there are bound to be some bugs which only time and unusual circumstances will reveal. In time the bugs should be eliminated / reduced as software updates come out.

Hopefully, AR UK will report this problem back to Italy and it will feature as a high priority issue on their snag list.

Andy
Oggy_GTA likes this.
Andy Bowden is offline  
Status: There. For the time being...
AO Member
 
freelunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Was stop/start enabled/disabled? Can you disable stop/start? I could see how stop/start would be confused with a foot on each pedal.
freelunch is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Images: 9
My 04 156 1.9 JTD would go into limp mode (briefly) and register a fault if I braked and used the throttle at the same time.
TOX1C is online now  
(Post Link) post #24 of 45 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
Stop/start was disabled and always is.
159Bob is offline  
Status: GQV TCT finally here...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Lothian
Images: 4
That's just dumb. Using the left foot to brake on an auto makes perfect sense. The TCT on my GQV gets confused by that as well. Software should mimic a real throttle and not try to be clever!
Ali_ is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulia

Tags
180 , diesel , giulia , responce , throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome