My 33 needs a new gearbox - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 20-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2013
County: -
Posts: 4
My 33 needs a new gearbox

Hi everyone,

Al from the Isle Of Man here. Pics of car here:
1988 Alfa Romeo 33 Photos by al-iom | Photobucket

It's currently stuck in 5th so I'm gonna need the box repairing. Spoken to Cloverleaf transmission who seem like the best option. Unless anyone knows of a box for sale?

Al IOM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
Pasi's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
I got 3 extra.... Shipping might be a hassle thou.
Pasi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 276
I need to check, but pretty sure i have a box with 42000 miles,
it came out of a one owner car, were are you based in the I,O,M.
Could you get a price for shipping from the uk? the steam packet company?

88liam is offline  
Status: Married
AO Member
Iain.Oglethorpe's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 918
Images: 2
Iain.Oglethorpe is offline  
Status: -
SoReT's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Spain
County: Madrid
Posts: 7
Friend, a few weeks ago a member had apparently the exact same problem back at the Spanish forum. His exact words were

It is solved. In the picture you can see, on one finger, the fork, and in the other, the cam that moves the forks. The solution is to remove the screw of the fork, move the cam to its correct place and put the screw back on again ... It took me 5 minutes.
Both the fork and the cam seemed in good condition. I really do not understand how it came out.
and his pic was

Unfortunately, I've only seen both cases on pictures, so I can't really tell If you're really having the same problem he had. Hope this helps, and that it doesn't confuse you.

SoReT is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,239
Have seen this before also. Easy to correct, but the question is why did it happen. I guess if it doesn't do it again, it's a win, and if it does, maybe you just put another gearbox in and carry on.
sprint_veloce is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
edward's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 3,000

Member car:

156GTA & 33racer


if none of these come through, I have a spare 16v gearbox, sitting in a purpose made crate (wooden box) ready to go, if it suited you.

PM me if I can help.


(Also have a complete spare engine if anyone needs one….)

Last edited by edward; 21-11-13 at 22:56.
edward is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome