Connecting Speedo Cable - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 07-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 106
Images: 12
Connecting Speedo Cable

Oooops, forgot to reconnect speedo cable before putting engine back in the car. Now seems little hand space to do so. Has anyone got any tips to avoid bruises , cuts and lots of pennies lost to the swearing box ?


alchemicalover is offline  
Sponsored Links
(Post Link) post #2 of 6 Old 13-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 106
Images: 12
No one got any advice on this one then????
alchemicalover is offline  
Status: cuttin' grindin'weldin'
AO Member
135alfietix's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 79
Images: 98
hi really for ease a 2 man job.if ya doing it with inboards either remove osf disc or if on a large pick or bent screw driver ,push cable behind steering rack and align in drive on gbox,then from above get some one to push down on cable as you slide into place in box try long nose pliers or a bent screw driver ,i used a snap on windscreen rubber fitting tool, also make sure grove for clip is clean from dirt or rust and as helper from top pushes down you press into drive and then use long nose pliers to fit clip, fiddley job but can be done
135alfietix is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Fluffyduff's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ireland
County: Louth
Posts: 2,788
Images: 2

Member car:

33 16v

I did it a couple of days ago but I had the bonnet off so was able to get slightly easier access. I guided it into the gearbox with one hand, held the tension on the cable at the bulkhead with the other then slid the retaining clip in. Very fiddley job. not sure there is an easy way tbh.

Best of luck with it. Put the money in the swear box towards plasters!
Fluffyduff is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 14-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 106
Images: 12
Thanks for advice, just wish I'd done it before lifting engine into final position. Maybe I should drop the front crossmember on a jack to get a few inches extra space?
alchemicalover is offline  
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
no need to do that mate, I'm sure you can reach easily as it is
Supercharged16v is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint

cable , connecting , speedo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome