engine mods - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 16-05-11 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: South Australia
engine mods

hi all. my 33 will probably need a rebuild soon or a donor engine built up to go straight in. so my main question is. firstly is it easier to drop the engine out underneath the car or hoist it up and out. secondly i would like a bit more performance out of the engine so i was wondering if you can suggest anything. i notice there are a few of you who race 33s so i was hoping some one would be able to help me with relatively cheap mods to get a bit more go out the engine.
cheers for your help
as an addition im a student so that probably gives a decent budget guide cheers
silly me for missing the important info its a 88 8valve 1.7
Sponsored Links
AO Silver Member
County: Louth

Member car:

33 16v

Drop the engine and box as one unit and bring it out under the car. much much easier than lifting it out.

Im not sure cheap performance gains and boxer engines go hand in hand but im sure some of the racers can clear that up.
AO Member
County: Aberdeenshire
First question, raise the front of the car as high as you can and drop the unit of a trolley jack. Split the engine and gearbox once it's on the ground. I used to be able to do an engine change in one day working myself with just axle stands and a trolley jack.

Fitted a 1.7 8V to my Sud many years ago. It had the following done to it:-

Bottom end lightened and balanced.
Inlet manifolds matched to heads.
Valves de-shrouded and 3 angled.
Up-rated valve springs.
Deck height reduced to increase compression ratio.
Trumpets with socks.