Starting Problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 22-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 347
Starting Problem


Yesterday I attempted to start my sud.

The ignition lights came on but when I switched further the starter engaged but failed to turn the engine over, the lights flickered, I heard a clicking noise and now the ignition light does not come on.

My battery is fitted on the boot floor and in addition I have an isolator switch fitted in the cabin.

The battery gives out 11.84 volts when disconnected to the car's terminals.

It gives out 11.84 volts where the cable ends at the forward bulkhead, but only when disconnected from the original postive battery terminal.

When connected to the original positive terminal, the voltage drops to 1.4 and the ignition lights do not come on.

All fuses are intact and I have continuity to the starter motor.

I'm confused..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0284.jpg (95.2 KB, 12 views)
ad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Should I get a Sud?
AO Silver Member
SteffenJ3316V's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denmark
County: -
Posts: 1,047
Get a new battery
SteffenJ3316V is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 724
Sounds like a duff battery. Voltage reading on a good battery should be around 13.5V.
markp2 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 9 Old 23-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 347
Thanks for the (obvious) advice gents - I should have checked this first.
For some reason I thought that as the battery is a sealed racing type it was slightly lower voltage and higher amperage than a normal car battery.
I'll let you know what happens when I change it.


ad is offline  
Status: Cultural Attache
AO Silver Member
David Jarrett's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,899
The only thing to add is to make sure the terminal post connections are 100% clean, clamped on and have a smear of vaseline.
David Jarrett is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,255
Images: 2
As has been said by the above. Good Luck.
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: A Golf just isn't a Sud, it sucks
AO Member
rat trap's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 799
Images: 6
I would say 11.84v will start the car and is normal and battery is OK? (That's why it's called a 12 volt battery) When engine is running the alternator will generate 12-14.5 volts when you put a meter across battery terminal posts. This is not the voltage in the battery but the generation capacity of alternator in the charging system. Make sure posts are clean and +/-properly tight.

My guess is check the ignition module plug by the coil is in properly. it's a square affair that plugs in just under the coil from memory Mine came out once, and had me scratching my head for best part of the day. I worked out by retracing my actions in engine bay I had knocked it when changing the HT leads.

My lights came on but there was just nothing going on. Hope you sort it.

Yeeeeahhhhhh Kevin... To the Rat Mobile....

Last edited by rat trap; 25-03-10 at 13:50.
rat trap is offline  
Status: Married
AO Member
Iain.Oglethorpe's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 918
Images: 2
If your battery is reading high on amps then it needs a charge , When you FULLY charge a battery the amps should be low not high, if its high then it does not have the how shall I put it....umph to turn the starter over. As I understand it your battery has the capability of coping with High ampage but if it exceeds its ampage it will need a charge.
Iain.Oglethorpe is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 9 Old 25-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 347
Thanks for the advice so far gents.
Been busy this week and will have a closer look this weekend.

ad is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint

problem , starting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome