Sprint 6C build up - Page 49 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
OLD ALF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 393
With diags at hand to follow your movements hope you will describe in more detail what you are doing ,so that we can follow progress and give support as hitherto with the bodywork.
OLD ALF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
Sorry I havent been much help Philip, I've been way too bussy these past days, I havent even been able to go and pick my 2.5ltr v6 either
Supercharged16v is offline  
(Post Link) post #1203 of 1863 Old 23-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

For Young Alf and S16 - referring to the 164register.com M1.7 Injection and Ignition system diagrams
The loom for the injectors hasn't been touched so I have connected the Engine bay loom to the big round connector (G338) on the injector loom. The two power modules are also connected (N21a and N21b)- I don't think it matters which plug goes to which module, as a fault finding technique is to swap them over. The 4 pin Air flow sensor (S5) is also connected but I want to recheck that, as it might be linked in with the throttle body (S38) sensor? More details to follow.
Alfasixnut is offline  
 
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
Philip, sorry for the late reply, I just got my engine home last night so I took some pictures for you.

The pictures named Connector 1 to 4 are the ones that need to be connected on another piece of wiring that goes into the car.

Last edited by Supercharged16v; 27-09-10 at 09:47.
Supercharged16v is offline  
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
the injector/coil harness goes in pairs.

If you attach the harness in its place, the connectors will fall into place

The only thing I'm not sure about is the lamda sensor, as I dont have the sensor itself , just the piece of wiring from the engine wiring loom.
You may be able to figure that out easily.

I'll post some more pictures tomorrow from the throttle side.
Sorry I didnt post those today, but I was in a hurry to come to work and my camera run out of juice while I was taking the pictures

Last edited by Supercharged16v; 27-09-10 at 09:47.
Supercharged16v is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
sudaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mauritius
County: Port Louis
Posts: 447
Images: 7
Good luck with the electronics Alfasixnut. I hope it won't be too hard to sort out

Last edited by sudaddict; 28-11-09 at 19:27.
sudaddict is offline  
(Post Link) post #1207 of 1863 Old 01-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Thanks for great pics S16V (- Chris) and Suddadict - Nothing to report as weekend taken up with work and visit to family.
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
Philip, is your throttle the same as mine in the very first picture ? Electronic ?
Supercharged16v is offline  
(Post Link) post #1209 of 1863 Old 02-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged16v View Post
Philip, is your throttle the same as mine in the very first picture ? Electronic ?
Hi Chris
This is my throttle body and the other pic - is this a knock sensor?
I recently wrote to a previous owner of the car from the (V5) and had a very nice reply giving about five years of the cars history and some pictures. The lady was a Sprint enthusiast having had all the different models including a Trofero!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Camera dec 2nd 2009 048.jpg (120.7 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg Camera dec 2nd 2009 049.jpg (103.1 KB, 21 views)
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: netherlands
Posts: 138
looks more like an oilpressuresensor to me
Graffiaturo is offline  
Status: Drive it Like you Stole it ;)
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 10,277
Images: 27
its in the right place where a knock sensor should be, I cant remember if thats on mine as well.
I'll have a look on mine and let you know
Supercharged16v is offline  
Status: too much DIY to think about cars....
AO Member
 
kammatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
second picture def shows an oil pressure sensor unit .......
kammatic is offline  
Status: Sprint locked away...
AO Member
Sud/Sprint/33 Lounge Winner 09
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 349
Images: 2
Garage
It wont be an oil pressure sensor up in the cylinder head - its always in the block. Im with S16v - i think its a knock sensor.
Greg is offline  
Status: too much DIY to think about cars....
AO Member
 
kammatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
if we are talking about the round thing with the yellow connector on it, trust me thats not a knock sensor, it looks very very much like an oil pressure sensor to me, and yes it may well be in the head because you have oil ways in the head to allow oil to the cam shafts. We have engines in my companies product range with oil pressure sensors in the head,...

this link below shows examples of oil pressure sensor
- engine - block

this link shows a nice picture of a knock sensor
Sensor: Knock Sensor Kit (BOSCH) - Thor Racing (Japanese Performance Car Tuning)

the question is, should that part be screwed there?

phil did you put it there or was it already there before?
kammatic is offline  
Status: too much DIY to think about cars....
AO Member
 
kammatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
actaully also while im on it, the knock sensor is normally screwed directy to the block so it can sense the detonation or pre ignition, it causes high frequency vibrations that excite the piezo stack inside the sensor, sending a voltage to the ecm,. ,. you may find the engine has more than one, maybe one for each bank,...

phil have a good look under the exhuast manifolds and look at the cylinder block to see if they are on there mate
kammatic is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
OLD ALF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 393
The 164 register manual on page 562 as sent to Sshows a picture of one of the two [20a and 20b ]and says they ane to be found on the engine block and in the engine vee.
For the t
OLD ALF is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
OLD ALF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 393
Another clear diagram of the position of the knock sensors on the engine block will be found in your red 164 owners manual 24v version page,173 section 5.22. two sensors component 10.are arrowed.
OLD ALF is offline  
Status: Cento per cento del cuore di sport !!!
AO Silver Member
 
alfa scozia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Posts: 3,097
I reckon we should have a party

A lets muck in and get Philip's 6c started party

We could arrange a date and simply on mass arrive at Philip's home and not leave till the v6 is up and running

The experts could be flown in from all over Europe ... Cyprus, Maritius, Scandinavia.... the more the merrier

In all seriousness would a gathering of the troops help push the 6c along Philip ? I'm sure a few of us could pop up, down & accross to offer assistance
alfa scozia is offline  
(Post Link) post #1219 of 1863 Old 05-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Thanks GTV - and all of you for your support. I will be having a major work week in a weeks time so I am optimistic that the 6C will be fired up before Christmas. I feel a bit guilty that this last lap has taken so long but family stuff and work stuff has had to come first.
Then you will all be invited to a 6C party!
-And if it's still not going a work week WILL be organised for all.....
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: Cento per cento del cuore di sport !!!
AO Silver Member
 
alfa scozia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Posts: 3,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasixnut View Post
Thanks GTV - and all of you for your support. I will be having a major work week in a weeks time so I am optimistic that the 6C will be fired up before Christmas. I feel a bit guilty that this last lap has taken so long but family stuff and work stuff has had to come first.
Then you will all be invited to a 6C party!
-And if it's still not going a work week WILL be organised for all.....
Count me in... I make a decent brew
alfa scozia is offline  
(Post Link) post #1221 of 1863 Old 05-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Well I had a couple of hours so found some more connections and re positioned some bits/wires after the electricians.....I also put in the final rear inner wheel arch and remade the main battery earth lead. With a temp wire to the starter the engine turns over
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: Cento per cento del cuore di sport !!!
AO Silver Member
 
alfa scozia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Posts: 3,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasixnut View Post
Well I had a couple of hours so found some more connections and re positioned some bits/wires after the electricians.....I also put in the final rear inner wheel arch and remade the main battery earth lead. With a temp wire to the starter the engine turns over
That's a positive sign
alfa scozia is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
could be a nice christmas pressie to yourself if it gets running by then, fingers crossed

pleased to see you are still finding the odd other little job to do though
 
Status: got his new 3.2
AO Silver Member
 
fetta head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,210
Ive a 164 24v so if you get stuck and gtvs offer is still on for a helping hand count me in
fetta head is offline  
Status: Nice Bloke
AO Silver Member
 
alfa302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 1,218
Images: 13

Member car:

alfasud V8

Glad to hear your making head way on the electrics Phil, as Kev said a fire up would be a nice xmas present.
alfa302 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint

Tags
build , sprint

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome