Sprint 6C build up - Page 3 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #51 of 1863 Old 07-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Hi Fruitbat
I will make my own cage - I've done it before by hiring a tube bender and welding it in situ for my drag race cars. (however nowadays they need certificating for race use I believe) but as I will not be racing it's not a problem.
On another bright note I've just put a battery on the Silver Sprint and the engine came to life on the 6th turn of the key. By the 10th turn it idled, then settled cleanly and when a bit warmer revved like a "Good-un" with good oil pressure. The clutch and reverse gear also work!
Alfasixnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Greek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greece
County: -
Posts: 2,986
Images: 13
Re: Sprint 6C build up

The boxer engine is bullet proof...
Greek is offline  
Status: Car in bits again...
AO Silver Member
 
Spacenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 1,566
Images: 14

Member car:

Nova T33/1.5

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasixnut View Post
I will make my own cage - I've done it before by hiring a tube bender and welding it in situ for my drag race cars.
Good move - with your engine mounted in the middle, you can use the cage for additional bracing of the engine/transmission and rear suspension turrets. Its unlikely that a standard race cage would fit around your engine without modification anyway.

Green Machine has a roll hoop with diagonal bracing going backwards and picking up on the gearbox top mount and spring towers before intersecting the chassis rails at the top wishbone mountings. Again its bespoke, but is at least proper FIA approved CDS tubing, and the additional torsional rigidity it imparts is substantial!

Lauren
Spacenut is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,449
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Great news about you being able to make your own cage. Wish I could do that.

rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
(Post Link) post #55 of 1863 Old 12-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Well the Silver Sprint has got a fairly rotten bonnet (Front edge and rear shot! ) However thanks to the wonders of E-Bay I now have a second - hopefully much better - Silver bonnet! so progress continues......And I now have a much better Bootlid - also in Silver from the same seller on E-Bay!

Last edited by Alfasixnut; 13-04-08 at 15:10.
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: Nice Bloke
AO Silver Member
 
alfa302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 1,218
Images: 13

Member car:

alfasud V8

Re: Sprint 6C build up

have a look at the silly suds on the alfasud register

The Alfasud Register | The site dedicated to the Alfa Romeo AlfaSud models

mick has put 2 v6 engines into a sud so may be able to help you with info for your project.

good luck with it

Eddie
alfa302 is offline  
(Post Link) post #57 of 1863 Old 14-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Thanks Eddie - I have seen pics of the "Bimotor Sud" and am on the Alfasud register - but progress on my project will be a bit slower whilst I regain domestic harmony ..... it seems three Sprints are seen as too many...
Alfasixnut is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasixnut View Post
Thanks Eddie - I have seen pics of the "Bimotor Sud" and am on the Alfasud register - but progress on my project will be a bit slower whilst I regain domestic harmony ..... it seems three Sprints are seen as too many...
nonsense! put your foot down, demand to be given some respect from your other half
then go hide one sprint and say you have 'got rid' of one to keep the peace
 
Status: Nice Bloke
AO Silver Member
 
alfa302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 1,218
Images: 13

Member car:

alfasud V8

Re: Sprint 6C build up

can you put some pics up as you go along with the build?
alfa302 is offline  
(Post Link) post #60 of 1863 Old 15-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Hi Kev
Thanks for the advice I thought having two Sprints stashed away from the house in the "Big Shed" down the road would be sufficient .......???? but I have been spending too much time getting mucky and oily!! so its grovelling and gardening till I'm back in good books
- I also have a couple of Frogeye Sprites and it's the Sprite 50th party at Goodwood, so I've also had to get one MoT'd for that - more car time!!!

Alfa 302 - I will be posting pics as and when
Alfasixnut is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasixnut View Post
Hi Kev
Thanks for the advice I thought having two Sprints stashed away from the house in the "Big Shed" down the road would be sufficient .......???? but I have been spending too much time getting mucky and oily!! so its grovelling and gardening till I'm back in good books
- I also have a couple of Frogeye Sprites and it's the Sprite 50th party at Goodwood, so I've also had to get one MoT'd for that - more car time!!!

Alfa 302 - I will be posting pics as and when
blimey you have got it bad not content with alfa's you have old sprite's as well
no wonder you are in the dock
can we all use you as an example that WE are not as bad as others
 
(Post Link) post #62 of 1863 Old 18-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Well Kev I've now cut the grass and we are off to Mother-in-laws...... And I've been ok'd to pick up the Bonnet and Boot (well they are "A couple of car bits"??
If I'm to be an example should I also mention the custom Yamaha XJ600?? ... and the hardtail FJ 1200 project..........
Alfasixnut is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sprint 6C build up

browney points must be building up now
you will be getting that ebay white sprint now i guess
 
(Post Link) post #64 of 1863 Old 20-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Brownie points gained so I've been able to strip out the back of the Silver Sprint (See Pic)
But I also have a query - The engine is supposed to be a 1490cc but the car doesn't have inboard discs and looks to have the same heads as my 1.7. It was first registered in 01 04 87 the log book engine no is AR30146036986. So is it a 1.5 or is it a 1.7??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg silver sprint pics april 08 012.jpg (92.9 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by Alfasixnut; 04-08-09 at 06:14. Reason: engine pic removed to save space
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 234
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Check the top of the block behind the waterpump inlet block for an '85' or '87' - 87 is a 1.7 85 a 1.5 motor.
If the V5 says 1.5 keep it like that regardless- lot cheaper tax !
Don't know how you get away with it by the way !
KR James
James&Nick is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sprint 6C build up

well done on getting the car stripped those heads certainly do look like 1.7's, the same set up as was on my old sprint check the engine code stamped into the block, its on a smallish flat part of the block next to the dipstick hole. give it a good clean to see what you have. my sud (1.5) is an ar30146 and it has the different heads with the removable cam-covers. pretty sure yours is a 1.7, i guess that at some point in the last 21 years someone has put a 1.7 in for a bit of extra performance, think the 8v fits fairly easily without modification so would have been an easy enough upgrade they obviously kept it quiet from the insurance though
 
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Quote:
Originally Posted by James&Nick View Post
Check the top of the block behind the waterpump inlet block for an '85' or '87' - 87 is a 1.7 85 a 1.5 motor.
If the V5 says 1.5 keep it like that regardless- lot cheaper tax !
Don't know how you get away with it by the way !
KR James
beat me to the reply again
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Greek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greece
County: -
Posts: 2,986
Images: 13
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Yes , seeing the heads it must be a 1.7 and if you are a lucky one you propably have mechanical tappets which is better if you want to use moded cams....
Greek is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,449
Re: Sprint 6C build up

There is a thread in this section about engine No.s
Officially its listed as being :

301.46 - Sud 1.5 ti/Sprint/33 105hp

That only means the block origins. Wouldnt stop it having been rebuilt.
Sorry rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,449
Re: Sprint 6C build up

Where did you get the engine No from? if its off the V5 that would explain it. If No you gave is off block must be originally 1.5.
No. can be found facing upward on raised lug (about 1mm x 25mm) above dipstick hole at back of block underneath twenty plus years of oil and rust. I use a razor blade to make it visible.
The thread with engine no's gives a fairly complete list of what was fitted to what.
rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
Status: Car in bits again...
AO Silver Member
 
Spacenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 1,566
Images: 14

Member car:

Nova T33/1.5

Re: Sprint 6C build up

I've never seen a later set of heads before. I was going to ask how you do tappet adjustment and then it dawned on me (duh!) that these engines have hydraulic tappets...

...I guess everyone is right about hydraulic cam grinds not being as good as mechanical ones, but I thought you were going to fit a complete V6 in the back?

(Actually, like the chap with the bimotore Sud you could use the front engine to run around with until the rear engine was commissioned )

Lauren
Spacenut is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Greek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greece
County: -
Posts: 2,986
Images: 13
Re: Sprint 6C build up

What is the size of the carbs?
Greek is offline  
(Post Link) post #73 of 1863 Old 21-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Hi folks
The engine number was from the logbook Fruitbat - I will now have a go at finding the one on the block and check on the carb size. Yes Lauren, the plan is to put the V6 in the Silver Sprint - I may keep the front engine in for the time being to be able to move it between my garage and the Big Shed! However the engine will then go into the engine and boxless Red F Reg Sprint (which is registered as a 1.7 so if my engine actually is a 1.7 will make that tidy )but it will be completed and sold..... at some stage.
Then I will change the engine details on the Silver Sprint registration as I'm sure somebody may notice the extra two cylinders,two cams and 16 valves!
Alfasixnut is offline  
Status: Sprint locked away...
AO Member
Sud/Sprint/33 Lounge Winner 09
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 349
Images: 2
Garage
Re: Sprint 6C build up

If you cant find any engine numbers, just pop the plugs out, put a piece of rod down a plug hole, turn the engine over by hand and measure the stroke - you will of course need two people for this task!
That will 100% tell you if its a 1500 or 1700.
Greg is offline  
(Post Link) post #75 of 1863 Old 22-04-08 Thread Starter
Status: finaly on the road in the 6C
AO Silver Member
 
Alfasixnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Market Harborough
County: Leics.
Posts: 2,828
Images: 17

Member car:

Ex 3 Sprints

Re: Sprint 6C build up

Thanks guys
From what I can see the engine is the one in the V5 and it has Dellorto DHLA 36 carbs - so a 1.5 after all
Alfasixnut is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint

Tags
build , sprint

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome