Retrofitting kit to my 166 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 09-05-06 Thread Starter
Status: Summer's here - roof is down!
AO Member
Cluffstarr's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 931
Hmmm Retrofitting kit to my 166

Hello Everyone. I'm off travelling around Europe from next February for a good chunk of the year in my 166. My car currently has no CD player or Sat Nav and I am thinking of changing this through this summer ready for my adventure next year.

I have a tape adapter for my MP3 player and it plays really well through the ICS but i am thinking of getting the CD autochanger fitted. Other than my concern over the price of getting the unit fitted (we all know how rediculous it costs for this specialised autochanger...) my only other question is does the Becker Silverstone play CD-Rs? Ideally I'd like to keep my original CDs at home and just use copies whilst on my travels.

With regard to Sat Nav, I know it would be a lot easier to buy an OTS unit from Tom Tom, Road Angel or Garmin, but I must admit to being quite excited about having GPS Sat Nav integrated into my ICS. Does anyone out there know how much a dealer would quote to retrofit it (just out of curiosity - am sure it's more than a small country's GDP!!) Also, what does the media cost (ie Mainland Europe and GB??). If the cost of the dealer doing it is crazy I would attempt it myself, however kit rarely appears on our old friend EBay...

Thanks for reading my ramblings - as always, any help is much appreciated.


History - 1999 156 2.0 TS - 1999 GTV 2.0 TS - 2000 GTV 2.0 TS, 2000 166 2.5 V6 24V - 2002 147 2.0 TS - 2004 147 2.0 TS
Current - 2001 Spider 2.0 TS, 2006 Jaguar XK8, 2006 VW Golf GTi
Cluffstarr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: 193K miles and still good.
AO Member
bww's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: France
County: Provence
Posts: 99
Re: Retrofitting kit to my 166

I have the 6 CD standard Becker in the boot and it plays CD-Rs just fine.
Don't have the GPS though so use a Garmin i3 which is brilliant for the money.
Maps for France etc are about £90 including VAT.
There are lots of threads on here regarding retro fitting CD players and GPS if you do a search.

Best Regards
bww is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
boyse7en's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Devon
Posts: 173
Re: Retrofitting kit to my 166

just to contradict...

My CD changer is a bit hit and miss with CD-Rs. They will usually play as long as I'm not driving. Otherwise they skip quite badly. Some discs are better than others, but on a bumpy road they all skip eventually.
boyse7en is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11

Member car:

ALFA 166

Re: Retrofitting kit to my 166

The Silverstone 2660 works just fine, if you can find one it comes
complete with the cabling to your ICS. If you are lucky you might
just find the cabling exsists in the boot of the car probably behind the battery.
I have retrofitted a SatNav from scratch the cost of this I kept to
500 pounds compared to an alfa dealer quote of 2000 thats if you
could persuade one of them to take on the job.
You will need
1. The wiring loom (supplied by alfa at a cost of about 140.00)
2. eper online software for part numbers etc
3. Dte software for wiring diagrams for the Satnav to ICS.
4. As you do not appear to have the carrying case for both CD
changer and Satnav you will need one of these (refer to eper for
5. If your car uses the G2 navsat technology then you need to search
out a Satnav on Ebay with code, you could also try breakers yards
and wait about 10 weeks for alfa to provide you with the code.
Finally you need about 8 horrible hours to to fit it.
Good luck !!
mdowns is offline  
Status: Alfa-less :(
AO Gold Member
niallmoran's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,287

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: Retrofitting kit to my 166

my 2660 is a bit hit or miss with cd-r's....seems much more prone to skipping with them than with "proper" CD's - i might try cleaning it though and see if that helps....

Wiring for the changer should be in the boot - proper alfa CD changers are quite hard to come by but they do appear every so often on ebay.

Good luck!
niallmoran is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 164 & 166

166 , kit , retrofitting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome