Parking sensor fault 159, help! - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #26 of 50 Old 26-07-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTA View Post
Ill change the connector that i can access from under the rear bumper. It looks ok, but easy to change to rule that one out. It is out in the open so maybe some water damage could have happened.
I will update when the connector has been changed with another waterproof connector.
I have now changed the connector under the rear bumper, but no change.
I am waiting for a OBD tool so i can post the full fault code and text, maybe that will help in finding the source of the problem.
HTA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #27 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Finally, i got the OBD tool and the registered version of MES.
This is the fault code i get:
C1009 - Sensor Power Supply

Anyone that knows where this problem lies?
Attached Images
File Type: png MES_C1009 forum.png (107.9 KB, 15 views)
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
You have a problem in wiring between ECU unit in a boot and master connector under the bumper.
it also may be a place inside spare wheel space where this cable goes from inside to outside.
sure it is not a sensor(s). This case ECU would tell you which one is faulty ( front/rear, inner/outer, left/right ).
BuonGiorno is offline  
(Post Link) post #29 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Here is what I have done now.
I have replaced the bumper connector: no difference.

I have checked for faults along the wiering between the bumper connector and the ECU (and the Spare wheel entering) but I could not find any obvious problems.

When I unplugged the bumper connector I get fault codes for all the rear sensors. Plug it in again and the same code "C1009 - sensor power supply" comes back.
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
Check the pins at final connector.
BuonGiorno is offline  
(Post Link) post #31 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuonGiorno View Post
Check the pins at final connector.
What do you mean by final connector?
At the ECU or the sensors?

Could it be a faulty ECU?
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTA View Post
What do you mean by final connector?
At the ECU or the sensors?

Could it be a faulty ECU?
I do not think so. For main unit failure should be unique code.
Final I mean one under bumper. Pin(s) might bent while connecting.
Are you a first user of the car ??? Are you sure no PDC repair has been done before ???...
BuonGiorno is offline  
(Post Link) post #33 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuonGiorno View Post
I do not think so. For main unit failure should be unique code.
Final I mean one under bumper. Pin(s) might bent while connecting.
Are you a first user of the car ??? Are you sure no PDC repair has been done before ???...
Just making sure, this is the connector (See picture)
I have changed it out with another. And before i changed the connector i had the wires de.isolated and just twisting the wires together, no difference.

What wire is the power supply for the sensors?
In the fault code it says "Signal Low"
There has been some fault searching done by the previous owner
Attached Images
File Type: jpg af1c1565d60592e4b2f19a3a4ad49e94_zps61ef9i9r.jpg (162.3 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by HTA; 25-10-15 at 16:53.
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
Yes exactly... There are no any other connectors behind this one ( reason to call it final ) apart of 4 ones at every sensors.
Every sensor is 3 pin- pole connected.
all sensor are connected in Christmas garland way - one lamp faulty, all garland do not work.
I do not know the colour of wire involved.
The problem is you have either cut or shortage it PDC system. You should check every cm actually.
I would still insist to strip bumper off. Nobody knows how it may behave.
I have just assumed that some soldering\re-soldering might be involved before become dodgy now.
BuonGiorno is offline  
Status: Workshop Controller
AO Silver Member
 
Mito_No3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Images: 12
Sensor wiring, Pin 3 is earth, Pin 2 is signal and Pin 1 is live
Mito_No3 is offline  
(Post Link) post #36 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
The six wires I have going to/from the connector are:

1)Blue/Orange to Black/Red
2)Blue/Brown to Blue
3)Black/Purple to Blue/Yellow
4)Brown/Yellow to Blue/Black
5)Brown/Orange to Orange/White
6)Brown/Orange to Orange/Blue

How do the 6 wires connect to the 4 sensors if there are 3 pins on the sensor?

Last edited by HTA; 25-10-15 at 19:15.
HTA is offline  
Status: Workshop Controller
AO Silver Member
 
Mito_No3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Images: 12
4 separate signal wires then they share the lives and earths. Once it goes through the 6 pin connector the lives and earths split off to the sensors

On the 6 pin connector in the boot Pin 1 is the earth, Pin 6 is the live and 2,3,4 &5 are the signal wires.

Last edited by Mito_No3; 25-10-15 at 19:34.
Mito_No3 is offline  
(Post Link) post #38 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mito_No3 View Post
4 separate signal wires then they share the lives and earths. Once it goes through the 6 pin connector the lives and earths split off to the sensors

On the 6 pin connector in the boot Pin 1 is the earth, Pin 6 is the live and 2,3,4 &5 are the signal wires.
Ok. So it might be an idea to check the voltage of the live then?
HTA is offline  
Status: Workshop Controller
AO Silver Member
 
Mito_No3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Images: 12
Yea I would check at the plugs at the sensors
Mito_No3 is offline  
(Post Link) post #40 of 50 Old 25-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Pin one is Orange/Blue = ground
Pin six is Orange/Brown = live

Will check voltage at the connector tomorrow
HTA is offline  
(Post Link) post #41 of 50 Old 26-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mito_No3 View Post
Yea I would check at the plugs at the sensors
Was hoping to avoid taking the bumper off.
So ill try to measure the voltage coming from the Ecu to the connector and also just after the connector.
And also dobble check the cables I can access.

Then the bumper might have to come off...
HTA is offline  
(Post Link) post #42 of 50 Old 28-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Just finished playing around with my multimeter.
When all cables are connected I get nothing from the live wire just before the connector. Just some milivolts.

But when I disconnect the live wire that goes from the connector to the sensors I get 12v from the live wire conning from the ECU at the connector.

Where to look further?
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
Means you have a shortage between live and earth either in wire\connector or in sensor (s).
If live\earth are equal for all sensors OBD never show you which sensor is involved.
BuonGiorno is offline  
(Post Link) post #44 of 50 Old 28-10-15 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuonGiorno View Post
Means you have a shortage between live and earth either in wire\connector or in sensor (s).
If live\earth are equal for all sensors OBD never show you which sensor is involved.
So my fault should then lie in the live or earth cable going from the connector until it splits up going to each sensor?
HTA is offline  
Status: #RussiansDidIt
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Russian Federation
County: St. Petersburg
Personally I do hardly believe ex factory routed cable fault. But it still may happen and nobody know any eventual repair before involved. It is still may be a sensor fault that it lost resistance between earth and live inside.
You should disconnect one by one sensors and watch for OBD reaction. It should eliminate shortage fault you have and initiate another one by operative signal. This case OBD should confirms. Switch sensor with another one and watch for OBD again. If OBD switches accordingly you should replace sensor. If not watch for dedicated sensor connector and wiring.
Hope It will do.
BuonGiorno is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Portugal
County: -
I need to change one parking sensor. This one work with no problems? (alfa 159 2.4jtdm).

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PDC-Parkin...UAAOxykmZTMxTJ

Thanks
Dissectory is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Garage
I'm having trouble with this too. And given that my local dealer quoted 120quid for a single sensor, whereas eBay looks like 13 or 18 I'm looking at doing it myself!

Only trouble is there are a couple of different part numbers on eBay... Anyone know what the correct part number for the offside, outside sensor (ie the one furthest to the right)? I'm assuming it's the same regardless of model of 159...
cheesemaster is offline  
(Post Link) post #48 of 50 Old 16-07-16 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
What I have done now:
I have removed the bumper so I have access to all the wires and sensors.
My theory was that the power cable going from the connector under the bumper had a shortage before it splits up to the 4 sensors.
This because I measure 12v from the power cable going to and from the connector and the fault code concerns all 4 sensors.

I cut of the original power cable splutter and made a new splitter and 12v cable from the connector.

But the same fault appears....
I have not reset the parking sensor fault code, because that one resets automatically right? Since before it was more a "on-off" problem.

Any thoughts?
Could a single sensor shortage cause this?

Sent fra min HTC Desire 816 via Tapatalk
HTA is offline  
(Post Link) post #49 of 50 Old 27-07-16 Thread Starter
HTA
Status: --
AO Member
 
HTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG1305.jpg (112.0 KB, 6 views)
HTA is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
County: -
And what was it?
kabar is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , fault , parking , sensor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome