Aux in for Alfa 159 MY2006 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 31 Old 16-05-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 Lusso JTDM

Aux in for Alfa 159 MY2006

This post applies to anyone with an Alfa 159 manufactured in 2006 and that would like an aux in for there MP3 player or phone. I've just fitted this to my standard HU and it works a treat:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Celsus-AUX22...Celsus+aux2225

Needed:
1. Item linked above
2. An extension cable
3. A Drexel or an ability to remove a wire from an audio connector (I don't have this ability hence the Drexel)
4. Some garden wire to help pull the wire through to where you want it
5. A bright torch
6. Insulating tape
7. Cable ties
8. Radio removal pins (can be bought off Amazon for 99p)

Steps
1. Remove radio using pins
2. Rest radio against gear stick (I didn't disconnected the battery, I left the power cable connected)
3. Remove the top left cable group of connectors, includes a blue and yellow connector.
4. Detach the yellow connector and extract the brown wire (this is where the Dremel came in handy).
5. Insert the brown wire into the new connector (the Celsus cable) and reattach this to the group and insert back into HU.
6. Test that it works; this is where the extension is first used
7. Assuming it works you'll need to lift the gear stick cover (other posts cover this) and shine the light so you can see it to thread through some garden wire.
8. Use the garden wire to pull through the extension cable
9. Use the tape and cable ties to insulate the wiring and make sure the extension won't separate if pulled to hard.
10. Thread the wire through a safe area around the gear stick and reattach the cover
11. Reset the HU back in its cradle and jobs a good'un

To test press the CD button twice, it should say Aux. Bear in mind that you'll need to turn your attached devices volume to max

Hopefully this will be helpful to someone. Good luck.
159DRS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
no grip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 477
Garage

Member car:

Spider 2.4 jtdm

I had no luck with my grunt level HU - the yellow connector only has a pin out for a sub woofer. Did your HU have more pins for the yellow?
I tried a generic Aux blue connector in the empty slot but no joy. I've now bought a device to feed via the aerial cable but not fitted it yet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0573a.jpg (81.7 KB, 72 views)
no grip is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
V8VANTAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 72
I'm debating whether to try this. I have the bose/10CD setup in my Brera but I don't know whether the connection is already being used. The HU already has an AUX mode when I press the CD button twice but I can't find an 3.5mm connector anywhere.
V8VANTAGE is offline  
 
(Post Link) post #4 of 31 Old 17-05-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 Lusso JTDM

No grip: the Celsus cable I bought has two (maybe 3 - can't recall) wires coming out of the yellow end. However the slot which is currently being used (as seen in your photo) is empty. I basically removed this wire from the original connector (which was hard work hence the Dremel) and inserted it into the new connector.

In answer to your question. No my connector looked exactly the same as yours.

V8VANTAGE: I can't comment on the Brera HU but I'm sure there's loads Of advice in the ICE section of the site.
159DRS is offline  
Status: Preparing to brexit ...
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 30,066
Garage
The Brera & 159 have identical HUs.


Whether this works depends on if you already have B&M fitted or not
and also which version of firmware the HU was manufactured with.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ireland
County: Limerick
Posts: 11

Member car:

Alfa 159

My 2006 159 doesn't have a "cd" button, just a source button, won't work I'm guessing, last car I had my iPod hooked up up to the aftermarket head unit, I don't want to put in an aftermarket unit but really want my iPod again.
Jack 159 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
M_john_ m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
County: -
Posts: 29
Can this be done if you have the sat nav system installed? I have just ordered an FM transmitter so I can play my music, would be a lot better to have an actually aux port!

Mine is a brera 2006
M_john_ m is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
County: -
Posts: 1

Member car:

Alfa Spider

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_john_ m View Post
Can this be done if you have the sat nav system installed? I have just ordered an FM transmitter so I can play my music, would be a lot better to have an actually aux port!

Mine is a brera 2006
Have you been able to get a working aux port to your Brera yet? I have a similar situation in my Spider 2007. I have connected an aux cable with blue connector to the CD changer slot, but it doesn't work.
Ronja is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
I spoke to the supplier it isn't possible if you have Blue and Me and they don't know of a alternative solution.
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

Only solution for us with Blue&Me is CD changer interface. More expensive than cable for 2€
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by qpkqkma View Post
Only solution for us with Blue&Me is CD changer interface. More expensive than cable for 2€
What is this?

Will Blue and me still work?
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

Yes, B&M will still work, but no CD changer

http://loudlink.eu/webshop/cd-change...-aux-p-19.html

There are for sure alternative brands like Yatour , but Loudlink work good for a lot of users
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Cool have you used this product?
Having problems with modules like this when you have Blue&Me
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

No problems yet, there´re a lot versions / brands of this boxes. With BT, AUX, USB etc...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-Romeo...674&rmvSB=true
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Just contacted the company and it doesn't work with Blue and me.
The only thing I can do is either a new head unit of use a just-connect module
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

It doesn´t cooperate with blue&me, but i doesn´t see any problem here to use it separate. Just unplug CD changer and plug that box.
Blue&Me in our 159 is not capable of streaming music or something.
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
finalfisti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 393
Images: 4

Member car:

159

Just bought this Celsus product for my 2007. It's the second time I try installing an aux-cable, the first one went wrong and I lost the taste for it.

Could anyone please explain what a Drexel is? Google search only shows up dremel tools, which I doubt is the tool needed for this case...

Last edited by finalfisti; 18-07-16 at 11:17.
finalfisti is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
You can't have a CD charger with Blue&Me from my understanding.

Unless you unplug the Blue&Me maybe, I don't know if this is possible electrically. I have never heard of anyone doing so.
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

I have 159 Sportwagon 1.9JTDm 2006 HIGH with Factory Blue&Me and CD changer
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by qpkqkma View Post
I have 159 Sportwagon 1.9JTDm 2006 HIGH with Factory Blue&Me and CD changer
And you have this device working?

Do you have any images or working instructions?
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_The_Spider View Post
And you have this device working?

Do you have any images or working instructions?

Blue connectors (big lonely one and small) is Blue&Me, yellow is changer.

Was testing Loudlink and works fine
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1464772538688.jpg (67.0 KB, 30 views)
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by qpkqkma View Post
Blue connectors (big lonely one and small) is Blue&Me, yellow is changer.

Was testing Loudlink and works fine
I contact the supplier of the AUX lead where you need to replace and transfer the brown wire and they informed me it wouldn't work with Blue&Me.

How do you select the AUX input? I don't get this option when I press the source button as previous mention above.

Does you CD changer still work?

You don't need to disassemble all the IP to do this right? I thought you should only have to remove the headunit unless you change to a non-alfa radio and change the DIN 2 carrier?
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: Slovakia
Posts: 24

Member car:

159 SW 1.9JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_The_Spider View Post
I contact the supplier of the AUX lead where you need to replace and transfer the brown wire and they informed me it wouldn't work with Blue&Me.

How do you select the AUX input? I don't get this option when I press the source button as previous mention above.

Does you CD changer still work?

You don't need to disassemble all the IP to do this right? I thought you should only have to remove the headunit unless you change to a non-alfa radio and change the DIN 2 carrier?
No, when I use Loudlink, my CD changer is not work, because it´s disconnected - because loudlink is connected instead of CD changer. Maybe there´re some differences between UK version and EU version. I have EU version, steering wheel on left side.

On radio there is button CD, and i can switch between CD / CD Changer / Media Player (USB). When i use Loudlink, just swith to CD changer and play music from AUX input on Loudlink.

You must understand that you CANT use cheap AUX cable reduction when have Blue&Me, but you can use CD CHANGER interface instead of CD changer, and that interface (LOUDLINK for example) have AUX IN.

Hope we understand

And disassamble the radio is enough. This picture is example (I was working on my interior...paiting etc..)
qpkqkma is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by qpkqkma View Post
No, when I use Loudlink, my CD changer is not work, because it´s disconnected - because loudlink is connected instead of CD changer. Maybe there´re some differences between UK version and EU version. I have EU version, steering wheel on left side.

On radio there is button CD, and i can switch between CD / CD Changer / Media Player (USB). When i use Loudlink, just swith to CD changer and play music from AUX input on Loudlink.

You must understand that you CANT use cheap AUX cable reduction when have Blue&Me, but you can use CD CHANGER interface instead of CD changer, and that interface (LOUDLINK for example) have AUX IN.

Hope we understand

And disassamble the radio is enough. This picture is example (I was working on my interior...paiting etc..)
Yes I understand what you are saying but I have different radio (look the same) and they changed between 2006 and 2007. So I am not sure if this would work.

I have read from another source a software update might enable this but I will have to see if that worked.
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Status: Leaning towards keeping the Spider
AO Member
 
Ryan_The_Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 459
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by finalfisti View Post
Just bought this Celsus product for my 2007. It's the second time I try installing an aux-cable, the first one went wrong and I lost the taste for it.

Could anyone please explain what a Drexel is? Google search only shows up dremel tools, which I doubt is the tool needed for this case...
Sorry can't help.

Any luck?

Do you have Blue&Me?
Ryan_The_Spider is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , alfa , aux , my2006

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome