Alfa 159 2.4JTD Fuel Consumption - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 05-08-06 Thread Starter

Member car:

ALFA 156

Alfa 159 2.4JTD Fuel Consumption

Looking for some guidance here guys...
Considering a 159 2.4JTD but on the model I test drove the average fuel consumption showed 31mpg on 2000 miles!
Albeit everyone punishes cars during test drives, but this is a mile away from the claimed average of 41.5mpg. I am a high mileage driver and couldn't live with this difference.
Can anyone cast some light on their own experience for this model - what average mpg are you all achieving?
Sponsored Links
AO Member

Member car:

Alfa 159 2.4 JTD

Re: Alfa 159 2.4JTD Fuel Consumption

After 2000+ miles I have 32 showing on computer. Recent fast 240 miles on M and A roads gave 35.5. Seems to be improving a bit and will continue to, I expect as engine getting even better all round. I guess 41 is possible if kept to speed limits, no air con and cooler weather.
AO Member
County: Cork

Member car:

Octavia vRS

Fuel economy doesn't get indicitive of the final amount until there is a lot of miles on a diesel. It could be 5-10k miles before it gets anywhere accurate. There should be a dieselhead along soon to give a better estimation of their diesel mpg rate.
AO Silver Member
County: Warwickshire

Sorry, posted in error.
159 sounds very thirsty compared to my 156 though.

Last edited by Simon_S; 05-08-06 at 12:29. Reason: Posted in error
AO Member