In car stereo problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 30-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Highlands
Posts: 2
In car stereo problem

I bought a new stereo from Halfords in the sale but on returning to the store the staff said they could not fit it. The electronics behind the facia including a 'usb' meant the replacement unit could not be fitted ( or it was beyond their competence - either way no new stereo). That was annoying enough although I got my money back. Thing is, I needed to enter the security code for the original stereo and the code I got from the dealer did not work and I am now locked out.
Any advice on
a) how do I unlock the original stereo
b) are there auto electric specialists who could fit a replacement unit for me?

Anthill mob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
coxy1's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
coxy1 is offline  
Status: If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
AO Member
Elfred's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 693
If it is the standard fit radio you do not need the code as the car computer will recognise it.
Elfred is offline  
Status: The Squeak Is Back
AO Silver Member
stuart1714's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,471

Member car:

Brera 2.0 Jtdm

Any good installer can fit replacement units, although you usually require a number of other components to get it to work, but they can supply them such as a New chassis/face plate as the Alfa stereos are no standard sizes and a Steering wheel controls interface.
There may be other bits and bobs needed depending on which head unit you buy.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: -
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 5
Had this problem with spider. Had it from new but never had code. Battery ran flat a couple of years ago and the radio wouldn't work without the code. Our garage dealt with it and got us a cod to unlock at little cost. Always keep the code safe now!
Rell is offline  
Status: bought a 75 3.0
AO Silver Member
155 Lounge Winner 09
shiny_car's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 7,669
Images: 39

Member car:

GT . 155 . 75

Any good specialist ICE store can fit an aftermarket headunit. Refer to the ICE forum for more info.

Basically, if you have factory B&M, the module needs to be retained (or else it will create an ECU 'error'), and can be relocated near the glovebox.

A dashkit will be required, available for 1-DIN and 2-DIN headunits, and also for the normal factory headunit or factory nav headunit (size of dash aperture is different).

So I figure Halfords are not familiar with things, and best to find a 'proper' store!

shiny_car is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Elfred View Post
If it is the standard fit radio you do not need the code as the car computer will recognise it.
What he said, it must have been changed at some point from original.
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 1,271
I have used Halfords for fitting a stereo. They were close on useless. Maybe I was unlucky. I used a car stereo specialist to fit my ipod adaptor on my 159, different class. Quoted me for an hours labour, it took two guys two hours because of the problems they had getting the sat nav out but they still only charged me the quoted hour at 60.
Muz is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

car , problem , stereo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome