"Project Halo" - The 159, Brera & Spider HALO DRL Project - Page 54 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 183Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 228
Images: 12
Mine did the same on one of the clips ... when you come to re-seal it. wrap a load of cable ties around it until the sealant has fully cured ... it'll be fine
emerycloth likes this.
matty74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 159 2.4 jtdm
AO Member
 
sHeBz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Why can't I just buy these ? ???
sHeBz is offline  
(Post Link) post #1328 of 1445 Old 18-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sHeBz View Post
Why can't I just buy these ? ???

You can...... Read through a few of the posts.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
1 down, 1 to go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (85.1 KB, 30 views)
Lord_of_beard likes this.
emerycloth is offline  
Status: Fully armed and operational tractor
AO Member
 
AlfaJoe92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 557
Garage

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDm

How did you separate the lenses? I'd like to do this mod with my original housings, but it looks pretty complicated without new casings.

Also Jay,
In your video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rutNiAO4ww4

Because you now have your Halos, do you still use your HID and LED sidelights? Or have you removed the sidelight bulb?

Also how does your controller operate?
Are you able to engage Halos without engaging sidelights and dipped beam?

Cheers,
Joe.

Last edited by AlfaJoe92; 19-03-16 at 05:09.
AlfaJoe92 is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaJoe92 View Post
How did you separate the lenses? I'd like to do this mod with my original housings, but it looks pretty complicated without new casings.
It's not complicated as such just time consuming and a bit scary!

I bought new headlights as the R&D Jay and Coxy undertook showed that the glue on original lights was too cured to allow easy separation.

That said, the stuff holding these new lights together (TYC brand from Taiwan) is very strong anyway! In the end , the oven cooking approach didn't work for me and I used a heat gun.

Just got the other one to do now..!

I know it will be worth it.
Lord_of_beard likes this.
emerycloth is offline  
(Post Link) post #1332 of 1445 Old 20-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaJoe92 View Post
How did you separate the lenses? I'd like to do this mod with my original housings, but it looks pretty complicated without new casings.

Also Jay,
In your video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rutNiAO4ww4

Because you now have your Halos, do you still use your HID and LED sidelights? Or have you removed the sidelight bulb?

Also how does your controller operate?
Are you able to engage Halos without engaging sidelights and dipped beam?

Cheers,
Joe.

All the info you need is on the wiki. Yes you can split your existing headlights, it just takes longer and a heat gun is better.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
Hi Jay, can you just confirm I'm on the list for controllers please? I'm sure I am but just want to check now I've ordered all my other bits and bobs! Both lamps now split so ready to start my wiring!
emerycloth is offline  
(Post Link) post #1334 of 1445 Old 23-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
I've lost track of the list as its been a while due to sorting out the next generation of controllers. When they are sorted i'll rebuild the list.
emerycloth likes this.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 13
I'm good to go as well Lights split, built and wired. All the other bits sitting in a box waiting to see where I'm going to locate the controllers.
If I build and install the power supply side of things what sort of load am I looking at to tune it correctly?
JabawokJayUK and emerycloth like this.
Druboo is offline  
(Post Link) post #1336 of 1445 Old 24-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Druboo View Post
I'm good to go as well Lights split, built and wired. All the other bits sitting in a box waiting to see where I'm going to locate the controllers.
If I build and install the power supply side of things what sort of load am I looking at to tune it correctly?
10.6v 4amp (1.5 to 2amp per controller at full power). Once they are all installed, you can tweak the settings to alter how bright they are but you will see a cut off point when increasing the power where they stop getting brighter. Settle around this point as extra current is turned into heat within the controllers.
Druboo likes this.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
Jay, quick question.

I need to test my LED rings but as mine came from that alternative supplier, they don't have those black box things attached. Am I still OK to connect them up the car battery or will that fry them?

Ta.
emerycloth is offline  
(Post Link) post #1338 of 1445 Old 02-04-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerycloth View Post
Jay, quick question.

I need to test my LED rings but as mine came from that alternative supplier, they don't have those black box things attached. Am I still OK to connect them up the car battery or will that fry them?

Ta.
I really don't know mate. If they were supplied as is then one would assume they are meant to work as is!! I would check with the supplier.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
I really don't know mate. If they were supplied as is then one would assume they are meant to work as is!! I would check with the supplier.
Agree with that assumption, so tried them on a 9v smoke alarm battery and get in, working!! No doubt these will look great on the car, especially with the HIDs I just installed thanks to another thread. Cheers Jay!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (92.0 KB, 13 views)
emerycloth is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 600
Never got an answer to a question I asked earlier in the thread.

I've got standard Xenons and don't want to attempt to split the old original units. Does anyone know if the Xenon guts unbolt and fit a standard lamp? If that's the case I'd buy a set of these plus the rings as they look superb.

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1341 of 1445 Old 02-04-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
You can fit the rings in the standard xenons SanRemo78. At least one Project Halo participant has done this with factory Xenons. You just need to split the light, which is possible with a heat gun and time.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 600
Thanks, I'm sure that the factory Xenons can be split but given that they are 8 years old now they glue is going to be cured. The question was really, can I buy a new set of standard lights, fit the angel eyes into them and then transfer the Xenon part of the original lamps onto the new ones? If splitting the Xenon units goes wrong it's too expensive to risk trying it.

Cheers

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1343 of 1445 Old 03-04-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanRemo78 View Post
Thanks, I'm sure that the factory Xenons can be split but given that they are 8 years old now they glue is going to be cured. The question was really, can I buy a new set of standard lights, fit the angel eyes into them and then transfer the Xenon part of the original lamps onto the new ones? If splitting the Xenon units goes wrong it's too expensive to risk trying it.

Cheers

Guy
I have no knowledge of the internals of a factory xenon so no idea if they sit on the same mount points or not. Realistically this is going to be a high risk project for you. Not impossible but high risk.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 600
Okay, thanks for the info. if nobody knows the definitive answer does anyone have a scrap headlight unit they'd be willing to part with so I can compare the Xenon next to it to see if it's possible?

Cheers

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
topman1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 87

Member car:

159 Ti 1.9 JTDM

is there an update on the controllers Jay?
topman1993 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1346 of 1445 Old 08-04-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
Still a work in progress.
emerycloth likes this.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
(Post Link) post #1347 of 1445 Old 12-04-16 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,382
Images: 31
Garage
How many of you are wanting controllers? show of hands.
emerycloth likes this.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 13

Hands up here
Druboo is offline  
Status: Remapped and loving it!
AO Member
 
emerycloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 70
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
How many of you are wanting controllers? show of hands.
It's a yes please from me.
emerycloth is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
topman1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 87

Member car:

159 Ti 1.9 JTDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
How many of you are wanting controllers? show of hands.
topman1993 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , 159 or brera or sprider , brera , drl , halo , leds , project , project halo , spider

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome