"Project Halo" - The 159, Brera & Spider HALO DRL Project - Page 45 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 183Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
Finally ...

After a Stag Do ... A House Move ... A Wedding ... A Honeymoon ... 2 x Overseas Business Trips ... A very inquisitive Father-in-Law ... And a whole lot of WD40 ... I finally got my Halo's fitted!!

Big Respect to Jay and all concerned for making this possible, couldn't of done it without the information shared, questions answered and the invaluable wiki page that has saved my bacon on more than one occasion. I will upload my install on there for those who are interested in installing the controllers in an accessible location.

I went the whole hog fitting 4300k 35w AC HiD's plus the LED sidelights that were advised on another thread too and with this mornings fog they all really came in handy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (127.2 KB, 74 views)
Danman likes this.

Previous Alfa's
1999 156 2.5 V6 Sport Pack 3 (190)
2004 GT 1.9 JTDm (150)

Current Alfa's
2007 Brera 2.4 JTDm SV (200)
2011 Guilietta 1.4 TB Multiair (170)

Also
1970 VW T2 Early Bay (50)
matty74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #1102 of 1445 Old 07-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Looking good Matty
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

These look so good!! Going to have to start saving
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: great site
AO Member
 
Dean lochlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 146
Images: 10
How much did it set u back.
Dean lochlin is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
The prices are on Jay's wiki page, but to give you an idea this is what I've spent so far inc delivery in pursuit of Halo-ness :-

New Lucas headlights 118 (eBay)
PSU 15 (eBay)
Halos 33 (Aliexpress)
Delay Relay 54 (eBay)
2 Pol SuperSeal Plugs & pins for PSU (eBay) 7.50
Controllers (thanks Hurri) 80
On/Off Switch (eBay) 2.50
PCB connectors & Pins 10
6 Pol SuperSeal Plugs & pins for Headlight connections (eBay) 15 ... if you want make the controllers easily detachable from the headlights.
Junction Box to house the PSU & Relay (eBay) 4.95 http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ABS-BLACK-...item2ecb2e9e28

All cable & heat shrink & anaconda (from work)

Think that's the lot!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo 5.jpg (70.0 KB, 69 views)
File Type: jpg photo 2.jpg (83.0 KB, 61 views)

Last edited by matty74; 13-04-15 at 08:44.
matty74 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty74 View Post
The prices are on Jay's wiki page, but to give you an idea this is what I've spent so far inc delivery in pursuit of Halo-ness :-

New Lucas headlights 118 (eBay)
PSU 15 (eBay)
Halos 33 (Aliexpress)
Delay Relay 54 (eBay)
2 Pol SuperSeal Plugs & pins for PSU (eBay) 7.50
Controllers (thanks Hurri) 80
On/Off Switch (eBay) 2.50
PCB connectors & Pins 10
6 Pol SuperSeal Plugs & pins for Headlight connections (eBay) 15 ... if you want make the controllers easily detachable from the headlights.
Junction Box to house the PSU & Relay (eBay) 3.50

All cable & heat shrink & anaconda (from work)

Think that's the lot!!
Do you have a link for the junction box ? Would also buy one but don't seem to find a right one.

thx
wowie is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
I've had a look, but I bought it ages ago and kind find it in my purchase history. Think it was from HK or China and I just made sure the dimensions were good to house the PSU and bloody expensive relay 150 x 110 x 70mm should do it. I put mine out of sight under the trim near the windscreen wipers ... update, Found it http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ABS-BLACK-...item2ecb2e9e28
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (67.6 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by matty74; 13-04-15 at 08:46.
matty74 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
manphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
County: -
Posts: 100

Member car:

159

Looking forward to getting mine up and running again soon, they look mint.

Gutted i messed up and housed the controllers under the lights.
manphibian is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
Glad to see you're getting them up and running again m8
matty74 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty74 View Post
I've had a look, but I bought it ages ago and kind find it in my purchase history. Think it was from HK or China and I just made sure the dimensions were good to house the PSU and bloody expensive relay 150 x 110 x 70mm should do it. I put mine out of sight under the trim near the windscreen wipers.
Ok , thanks , bought this one : http://www.ebay.com/itm/ABS-Plastic-Electronic-Project-Box-AB88-178x122x74mm

Would like to have my on/off button integrated in this box.

Where did you guys let your cables exit the lights ? New hole or something better ?

thx
wowie is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
I drilled a hole in the outer corner near the rubber drain ... but I wouldn't if I were doing it again as the cables end up being a bit close to the bodywork under the lights.
I think a hole low down in-between the outer in middle light would be better ... If that makes sense.

I was going to fit it to the relay box but where I've located it would've made it inaccessible, so I mounted it neatly and heat shrunk the connections at the back.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4051.jpg (68.4 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by matty74; 13-04-15 at 10:57.
matty74 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty74 View Post
I drilled a hole in the outer corner near the rubber drain ... but I wouldn't if I were doing it again as the cables end up being a bit close to the bodywork under the lights.
I think a hole low down in-between the outer in middle light would be better ... If that makes sense.

I was going to fit it to the relay box but where I've located it would've made it inaccessible, so I mounted it neatly and heat shrunk the connections at the back.
Thx !
wowie is offline  
Status: learning
AO Member
 
Mr. C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Belgium
County: -
Posts: 17
Garage
so i really want this but i am non-tehnical, kindly asked Jaba but he's very busy and also told me that with my factory xenon will cost me bunch, so any tehnical guru's in Belgium,Netherlands or close by in Germany to help me out?for the right price
my car is from 2006, wonder if the glue can be undone?

thanks
Mr. C is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
I did halos on my factory xenon headlights.
I payed the specialist 80€ to split my headlights, install rings, and join everything together again.

The only drawback is that I am very far away so you will have to find another specialist closer to you.

I am here to help you any way I can.
Mr. C likes this.
razor_amd is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
County: Utrecht
Posts: 3

Member car:

Alfa Romeo Brera

Wauw them lights look great, can sometell me if there is a complete packege to buy?
So I (just) need to install it myself in the car.

btw. I live in The Netherlands, however postage can also be done to someone I know in the UK.

If so what price should I look at for a done set?

Many thanks,

Hucky
Brera01 is offline  
Status: learning
AO Member
 
Mr. C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Belgium
County: -
Posts: 17
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by razor_amd View Post
I did halos on my factory xenon headlights.
I payed the specialist 80 to split my headlights, install rings, and join everything together again.

The only drawback is that I am very far away so you will have to find another specialist closer to you.

I am here to help you any way I can.
Hi, what kind of specialist? headlight? auto - electrician? so i can start my search in Belgium or Netherlands

thanks
Mr. C is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Just connected all the power supplies , a red light on the psu. I wanted to adjust the psu to 10v and there he went , dead ...

Somebody knows where I can get such psu on short notice ?
wowie is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
matty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Croston Lancs
Posts: 226
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
Had to do some repair work on my PSU last night.

Essentially, I started to get an intermittent connection between the plug and socket that stopped the Halo's coming on. it looked due to corrosion over time on the contacts so I took the unit apart on the bench, removed the socket form the PCB and soldered 4 x wires direct to the board instead. I then attached 4 x spade connectors to allow me to easily remove it in the future from the car.

One thing I did notice though was that if the metal shell of the PSU touched the car shell it sparked a little so I assume their is a power bleed to it from the mosfets inside it. The reason I point this out is that if your fitting your PSU you may want to ensure it cannot touch the shell. Mine is screwed to the side of the Engine bay fuse box so its firmly attached to an electrically isolated plastic shroud.
I know a few people have also reported problems with quality of the PSU, mine was way out of adjustment but ok once set up following the guide on the wiki page
matty74 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
wowie is offline  
(Post Link) post #1120 of 1445 Old 07-05-15 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
No that's a step down "buck" you need a "buck / boost" that can step up as well.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
No that's a step down "buck" you need a "buck / boost" that can step up as well.
Thx , ordered the other one on ebay mentioned in this thread.
wowie is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
manphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
County: -
Posts: 100

Member car:

159

Quote:
Originally Posted by wowie View Post
Thx , ordered the other one on ebay mentioned in this thread.
This might be the one you ordered, i linked it before.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3507694484...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

It's good quality.

That Chinese one is bobbins
manphibian is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
topman1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 87

Member car:

159 Ti 1.9 JTDM

How would you go about wiring these up without the controller? so that they come on and stay on when you start the engine and go off when the engine goes off. nice and simple!

or even better so that they come on and go off with locking and unlocking the car!
topman1993 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by manphibian View Post
This might be the one you ordered, i linked it before.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3507694484...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

It's good quality.

That Chinese one is bobbins
Yeah , thats the one !
wowie is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belgium
County: West-Vlaanderen
Posts: 34
Garage
On output 3 I have 10.9v and the other 2 have 9,9v on both the controllers.
Is this ok ?

I also have a problem that the controllers seem to "reboot" , when they do the voltage drops on the psu.
I think its getting to hot , lowered the voltage on psu output to 10v and then it doesn't reboot.

Last edited by wowie; 11-05-15 at 12:36.
wowie is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , 159 or brera or sprider , brera , drl , halo , leds , project , project halo , spider

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome