"Project Halo" - The 159, Brera & Spider HALO DRL Project - Page 30 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 183Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #726 of 1445 Old 06-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaBreraQ4 View Post
Jay,

I've ordered mine and I'm looking forward to baking some headlights like Nigella. Two questions though:

Is there a switch on these in the unlikely event that I don't want to look fly? If not is it easy to add?

And, do the rings dim with headlights do or stay the same?

Thanks, looking forward to fitting them.
Just make sure you don't go the full Nigella and crack one!

You can add a switch just by routing the feed from the battery through the bulkhead and to a single 2 pole switch somewhere. I have thought about adding one myself as sometimes stealth mode is useful! Coxy did this on his but I didn't, so if I ever need them off I just pop the bonnet and pull the connector off the PSU

The rings change intensity based on what state the headlights are in....

On start up, they run Mode 1 once, then default to Mode 2 below

Mode 1: Fade from 0% to 100% to 70% in sequence from inside to outside
Mode 2: Daytime operation – all Leds at 70%
Mode 3: Night operation – all Leds at 50%
Mode 4: Signal Mode – Outer Led & inner Led rings at 30% - middle ring off
Mode 5: All rings at 100%

Modes 3,4 & 5 are selected automatically when the controller senses power going to the relevant bulbs inside the headlight.


2008 159 TI 2.4 JTDM QTRONIC
My Car Details______http://www.jabawoki.com/2014/07/07/alfa-159-ti/
Project Halo Wiki____https://projects.jabawoki.com/index.php/Project_Halo_UK
Project Halo Page____https://www.facebook.com/ProjectHaloUK
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #727 of 1445 Old 06-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
I forgot to say, there is no reason why you cant get everything 99% done without the controllers then just add them when they arrive.

Splitting the headlights, installing the rings, installing the PSU and wiring in the car etc can all be done without the controllers.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
manphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
County: -
Posts: 100

Member car:

159

Quote:
Originally Posted by JabawokJayUK View Post
I forgot to say, there is no reason why you cant get everything 99% done without the controllers then just add them when they arrive.

Splitting the headlights, installing the rings, installing the PSU and wiring in the car etc can all be done without the controllers.
Nope, scared
manphibian is offline  
(Post Link) post #729 of 1445 Old 09-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
hahahahahahahahahah
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
I am taking my stock headlights to professionals. They will disassemble them, install rings and assemble them back. The price for their work is 80€ and it will take 2 working days. The reason I am doing my stock headlights is because they are bi-xenon.

After rings install, I will connect the rings to the electronics I already prepared, untill I receive the controllers from JabawokJayUK. They will shine with 100% full power all the time until connected to the controllers.
razor_amd is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 24

Member car:

AR 159 2.0 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by B_U_R_I View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy1 View Post
No,
As a rule only the factory fit xenon's have the washers fitted. As were not offering the Halo conversion for these it leaves this port free in the engine electrical box for us to use as the power feed for the Halo's.
Is this the reason why Halos won't be available for cars with factory fit xsenons?
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_U_R_I View Post
Is this the reason why Halos won't be available for cars with factory fit xsenons?
Yes sorry this is true !

But then we have said is all along. As the units are just so expensive to purchase the cost of conversion would be so expensive, 1400+ just for the lights. Then your xenon ballest is fitted where we retro fit the control units, that's before we get into the wiring which I have no idea is anywhere the same.

Lots of re engineering and then we can't test them

Yes its a huge thread so I know thing are missed
razor_amd - I really wanna see them in action, since I also have bi-xenon and Coxy1 wasn't too encouraging about modifying these
B_U_R_I is offline  
(Post Link) post #732 of 1445 Old 16-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Its true the project was not originally going to support factory fit Xenons due to the cost of them. Since the project has gone DIY, this is no longer the case as its down to the individual owner.

Razor is well placed to see if he can get the Halo's working in a set of OEM xenons as he has a good knowledge of electronics.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
Don't worry guys, I will let you know as soon as I install them, I will post pictures, etc...
razor_amd is offline  
(Post Link) post #734 of 1445 Old 19-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
---- Update ----

The production run is nearly complete!!!

Halo.JPG

That is a picture of 30 of the 40 boards ready to ship to me for programming and testing.

I have a video of the machine assembly on its way to me now for all those who really want to geek out on the project. I realise that is 1 in a 1000 on here at best, but hey, who cares!

Once I get everything in and programmed I will ship immediately to all those that have paid upfront.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
manphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
County: -
Posts: 100

Member car:

159

Wahooooo
manphibian is offline  
Status: missing my GTA
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,589
I'll definitely watch the video haha.
Artermis is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
I'd like to see the video also...
razor_amd is offline  
Status: 159 Cruiser and Guilietta pocket rocket
AO Silver Member
 
giblets46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 4,237
Garage
Just seen these, for anyone in Europe ( I assume it's for European side only), or if you don't mind having your light set to 'flat', then this site has the lamp units. For 56 a side.
http://www.carparts-tuning.co.uk/en/...939-Yr-05.html


[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App[/color]
giblets46 is offline  
(Post Link) post #739 of 1445 Old 21-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Some more electronics porn to tantalise....

I have 30 of the 40 here now so will start programming and testing this week.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20140621_195006.jpg (268.6 KB, 30 views)
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by giblets46 View Post
Just seen these, for anyone in Europe ( I assume it's for European side only), or if you don't mind having your light set to 'flat', then this site has the lamp units. For 56 a side.
Tuning FK Automotive | Spare parts headlight right Alfa Romeo 159 (Typ 939) Yr. 05- | purchase online


[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App[/color]
Just be aware that the link you've shown is for a DEPO headlight unit, which I have used several units myself during the development.

But all were missing the adjuster plate to flatten the beam. I stripped the unit apart and permanently fixed a plate across the reflector shield to give a permanent flat beam.
So worth checking to see if they have the adjusters if you go this route.

The Lucas Headlight units I've also used have the adjuster missing.
coxy1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #741 of 1445 Old 29-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
That's the first batch of Halo Controllers ready for shipping I'll get the rest done later in the week!

I have 5 sets of the batch left if any one wants in on the project?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1404041582291.jpg (46.8 KB, 27 views)
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Been here a while now
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 150
I think I'm getting excited lol
Morkey is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alcooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hitchin
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 1,922
Garage
Looks like you've got through a few cuppa's in that studio Jay. Just had a read about those Ferrari yellow Rokit5's-nice.
alcooker is offline  
(Post Link) post #744 of 1445 Old 29-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
haha, what can I say, I drink far too much....

caffeine_molecule_by_txtcla55-d5sfkw6.png

The KRK's are awesome. What you cant see in the picture is the KRK 10s on the floor The RP6G2's plug into it and it has a built in DSP to handle crossover etc. All driven from a Focusright 18i6 off the PC & a downstream Alesis Mixcontrol for the inputs from the DJ Gear.

It shakes all the radiators in the house when its cranked
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
LED's installed on saturday. I went to the guys, they did excellent work...

Today I did the rest of the work, just finished the headlights, all is working perfectly. I set the voltage on the rings to 10V.

Today morning, after washing the car :

http://s6.postimg.org/owp3tenz5/20140630_115708.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/yq1psh0pt/20140630_115714.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/75dhey8kh/20140630_115720.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/i109wk44h/20140630_115730.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/wa4hsd80x/20140630_115809.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/58c5wmsip/20140630_120303.jpg

Headlight disassembled:

http://s6.postimg.org/k1qthe09t/20140630_190207.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/6v1dhv4kh/20140630_190221.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/u5fjdjh0h/20140630_190226.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/nuabx4fs1/20140630_190231.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/lbomwfu1t/20140630_190238.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/66siyx5up/20140630_190244.jpg

Taken about 30min ago when I got home, they shine so bright... Will take another picture tomorrow daytime.

http://s6.postimg.org/s8it8yqch/20140630_201338.jpg
http://s6.postimg.org/ol7ngn7j5/20140630_201334.jpg

Now it is only left for me to wait for JabawokJayUK's Halo controlers to arrive to install them. For now rings work 100% all the time.

I don't know how to post images because IMG code is off so this is the best I can do.
If you have any question, please feel free to ask.

Last edited by razor_amd; 30-06-14 at 20:11.
razor_amd is offline  
(Post Link) post #746 of 1445 Old 30-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Looking Good Razor!!!

Your controllers are in the post as of today so you should get them in a couple of days.

Controllers were shipped on a first come first served basis so not everyone will receive their controllers this week. The rest will get them next week! (sorry guys, I ran out of time this weekend)
JabawokJayUK is offline  
(Post Link) post #747 of 1445 Old 30-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by razor_amd View Post
Taken about 30min ago when I got home, they shine so bright... Will take another picture tomorrow daytime.

http://s6.postimg.org/s8it8yqch/20140630_201338.jpg
Carefull how much you use them before you add the controllers Razor. There is no regulation of the amperage to the rings if you are running them straight off the PSU so they will be in overdrive even at 10v!!

The controllers will control the amps and keep them running a very long time.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
I saw the they can use as much as 1 ampere per ring at about 11V or so. I will take the voltage down a little bit untill the controllers arrive. Thanks for info!
razor_amd is offline  
(Post Link) post #749 of 1445 Old 30-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by razor_amd View Post
I saw the they can use as much as 1 ampere per ring at about 11V or so. I will take the voltage down a little bit untill the controllers arrive. Thanks for info!
They may "use" 1amp but they are regulated to 400mA by the original transformers and by the controllers so they don't burn out too quickly Its not volts that is the issue its amps and you can only regulate that with drivers. If you want to keep them on before the controllers arrive, dont use the new PSU and attach the original individual in line psu's that came on the rings temporarily. You dont want to burn out a ring and have to get them taken apart and changed.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 32
No problems mate, I will turn them off until controllers arrive. I only wanted to see how they work...

EDIT: I just remembered that the PSU has the ability to regulate current. So I can lower the current on the PSU itself that are being delivered to the rings. I will try it tomorrow.

Last edited by razor_amd; 30-06-14 at 20:56.
razor_amd is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , 159 or brera or sprider , brera , drl , halo , leds , project , project halo , spider

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome