"Project Halo" - The 159, Brera & Spider HALO DRL Project - Page 12 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 183Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: Brera gone :( v8 time :)
AO Member
 
stefanocirillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 813
Images: 8
How close are we to seeing them on a car? I cant wait to see it!
stefanocirillo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Been here a while now
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 150
me i'm in
Morkey is offline  
Status: Back in EA
AO Member
 
Filbyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 76
Images: 9
quick question. the drl, led's are running at 100% on full beam correct. will this shorten the lifespan of them?

Also, i'm interested in retrofitted Xenons? anyway of anyone fitting the units in the headlights for me so it's all done as one?
Filbyboy is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbyboy View Post
quick question. the drl, led's are running at 100% on full beam correct. will this shorten the lifespan of them?

Also, i'm interested in retrofitted Xenons? anyway of anyone fitting the units in the headlights for me so it's all done as one?
It should not shorten the noticeable life of the rings on main beam. This is one of the reasons the R'n'D is taking so long and choosing the right product.

Yes were quite happy to supply them with the 55w HID's and side light LED's at additional cost.
I've spent many many hours testing the units running 55w HID's after fitting the rings to make sure there are no issues.

Prices to be confirmed including the HID's and LED side lights.

Lets get the control units finished and then tested on the cars. I know its taking a bit longer than any of us thought, but we want it to be right and bomb proof before we start to roll them out.

Trust us their close, bloody close.

Just as a side note ! We are only initially doing these as RHD units.

The "Alfatune" full works
60mm Core Full size RS500 FMIC
AEM W/M Injection
Koni struts / Novitec springs
Grooved & Dimpled discs and pads
19" Prodrive wheels, Michelin Pilot Super Sport
Halo's HID's & LED's
Hub dyno'd at well over 500lbft at the wheels ! and that's limited.
Thats over 750 Nm for you figure fiddlers
coxy1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 24

Member car:

AR 159 2.0 JTDm

That's too bad. What are the differences between RHD and LHD? Are you going to ship pre-made lights or will this require a bit of DIY handywork from the buyer?
B_U_R_I is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_U_R_I View Post
That's too bad. What are the differences between RHD and LHD? Are you going to ship pre-made lights or will this require a bit of DIY handywork from the buyer?
The difference Between the RHD & LHD is the beam patern.

These will be supplied fully fitted and assembled in brand new head light units. The only DIY required is to swap the old units for the new unit and then adjust the alignment.
coxy1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #282 of 1445 Old 05-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbyboy View Post
quick question. the drl, led's are running at 100% on full beam correct. will this shorten the lifespan of them?

Also, i'm interested in retrofitted Xenons? anyway of anyone fitting the units in the headlights for me so it's all done as one?
Hi Filbyboy, the LED rings are each stated for at least 20,000 hours use at full power, however, the control unit does not run them at full power all the time. Instead it uses Pulse Width Modulation (PwM) to turn them on and off faster than the eye can see, which creates the illusion of dimming. This allows us to vary the light intensity as needed:

Normal Daytime use: 70% brightness
Normal Night time Use: 50% brightness
Main Beam on: 100% brightness
Indicator in use: 50% / 10% / 50% (for each ring)

These rings are so bright we had to make sure that we didn't dazzle people!!

There is a video of the rings intensity and modes on youtube: Project Halo UK night test - YouTube

As a brief update, I am ordering up the PCB's today from the final schematics!


2008 159 TI 2.4 JTDM QTRONIC
My Car Details______http://www.jabawoki.com/2014/07/07/alfa-159-ti/
Project Halo Wiki____https://projects.jabawoki.com/index.php/Project_Halo_UK
Project Halo Page____https://www.facebook.com/ProjectHaloUK
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Been here a while now
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 150
Jaba

without doubt you are doing an excellent Job
Morkey is offline  
(Post Link) post #284 of 1445 Old 07-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: Back in EA
AO Member
 
Filbyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 76
Images: 9
i was going to suggest using Pulse Width Modulation but you've already done it. Hat off to you good sir. (however that does mean my lights will be flashing when a record the car on a camera :P)
Filbyboy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 24

Member car:

AR 159 2.0 JTDm

Are there any plans on making a LFD version? Or is it possible to make a modification on my own?
B_U_R_I is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbyboy View Post
i was going to suggest using Pulse Width Modulation but you've already done it. Hat off to you good sir. (however that does mean my lights will be flashing when a record the car on a camera :P)
Have not seen any flashing on any of the videos we have done so far.
coxy1 is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_U_R_I View Post
Are there any plans on making a LFD version? Or is it possible to make a modification on my own?
If you mean LHD never say never.
coxy1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 24

Member car:

AR 159 2.0 JTDm

Yeah, sorry - I meant LHD OK, I'll wait and we'll see. I still need to see the pricetag beforehand...

But seriously, this looks really amazing! Great job so far!
B_U_R_I is offline  
Status: Back in EA
AO Member
 
Filbyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 76
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy1 View Post
Have not seen any flashing on any of the videos we have done so far.
Normally only get it with slow motion cameras, or anything that records over 60fps, and then you slow it down, because the pulses don't line up with recorded frames. (You notice it on programs like topgear when they showcase cars in slowmo sometimes).

Also I have noticed older Audi and BMW rear LED lights that flicker if I watch them out of the corner of my eye.
Filbyboy is offline  
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbyboy View Post
Normally only get it with slow motion cameras, or anything that records over 60fps, and then you slow it down, because the pulses don't line up with recorded frames. (You notice it on programs like topgear when they showcase cars in slowmo sometimes).

Also I have noticed older Audi and BMW rear LED lights that flicker if I watch them out of the corner of my eye.
At 60fps it may well show up with a Gopro 3 Black then. But that said I will never see them flashing from behind the steering wheel.

Good point though, just like the wheels on the old cowboy films.
coxy1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #292 of 1445 Old 09-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
The clock frequency on the IC that runs the PwM (ATMEGA328P) is @ 31.250 kHz (31250 times a second) which is pretty quick, so the flicker should not be visible unless you are filming at 60FPS+ and slowing down the playback! (ala Top Gear). The IC has 3 clocks, 2 @ that and 1 @ 62.500 KHz, To aid in performance I have split the code between the clocks so that the PwM has 2 dedicated clocks @ 32.250 Khz, while the main if loops and interrupts sit on the faster clock, thus mitigating any programmatic inefficiency in the hardware that could lead to visible flicker through reductions in performance.

Its certainly not visible to the naked eye, even out of the corner of it (I have spent a long time with these on my bench testing for that kind of effect as it would have been a deal breaker!!)

Figuring out issues like the one described above is why this project has taken so long. Its about delivering a quality mod that will "just work", much like a factory fit option
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
H444YDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 20
Great Job Love them and WANT Them!!..

Count me in when you get a price!
H444YDN is offline  
(Post Link) post #294 of 1445 Old 13-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Parts have started to arrive....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130813_161608.jpg (63.0 KB, 78 views)
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
H444YDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 20
Looking good cant wait to get my hands on one .


Will these kits be able to do the 'knight rider' and 'strobe' effect or not?

(obviously not legal but shh)
H444YDN is offline  
(Post Link) post #296 of 1445 Old 14-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
No, they wont. The only special effect is the "power on" routine, where each light will cycle from 0-100-70% in series from the centre of the car outwards. All other dimming is a product of the need to be safe to use on UK roads.

I had considered adding effects to the equation but It complicates the electronics and installation by needing 1 controller for both headlights, rather than one unit each. If 1 controller was used each headlight would have 6 wires leaving it to a controller box somewhere, whereas with a controller per headlight, the unit and wiring can be installed and hidden away. 1 controller would be slightly cheaper and easier for me, but would be a less elegant solution overall.

The only potential wire will be a positive feed from a switch live in the engine bay somewhere TBC to the controllers. I am still hoping I can get power from the spare connector in the headlight that runs the Factory Fit Xenons, but I haven't checked it yet to see if its ignition switched, permanent live or switched by headlights.

Believe it or not, I am still waiting for more parts, probably as much again!

Also, I now remember why I hate ordering electrical components. Who in there right mind, sells a connector socket & plug to fit it and the electrical contacts that go into the plug as 3 separate part numbers? come on now that's not playing fair!

Last edited by JabawokJayUK; 14-08-13 at 08:03.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
rjc_147
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I feel you pain but it will be well worth it when you get the first assembled PCB working

It's not unusual in the industry to get a connector with two part numbers for the two mating bit's but you can get 5 or more part No's just for the contacts especially if they are crimp types because they are designed for different wire gauges.

Looking forward to seeing the finished unit on a car
 
(Post Link) post #298 of 1445 Old 14-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
and don't get me started on the cost of the crimp tool for it...... how much? 300 is an unacceptable cost for a crimp tool in any book.

ho hum, I am very much "invested heavily" in this project now guys, well into 4 figures, so I hope at least a few of you make good any buy some sets so I can break even!

I know coxy is the same level of investment too!

We are either mad, ambitious or both.
JabawokJayUK is offline  
(Post Link) post #299 of 1445 Old 14-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Powerflex Mk4 - Non Squeak Edition
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
JabawokJayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 3,381
Images: 31
Garage
Cheers RC, appreciate the help and words of support!
JabawokJayUK is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 24

Member car:

AR 159 2.0 JTDm

Hi Guys. Great job so far. I hope the project isn't causing you too much grey hair

How is it going so far?


I also have one more question. Will this mod fit a car with Xenon?
B_U_R_I is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , 159 or brera or sprider , brera , drl , halo , leds , project , project halo , spider

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome