Sticking valves - what are my options? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 14-10-11 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Greater Manchester

Member car:

Giulietta 1.4 MA

Sticking valves - what are my options?

Anyone familar with my recent posts will know that I have been having problems with my 2.4 159 juddering during regens to the point where the car is virtually undrivebale.

Anyway, on the fifth visit to Mangoletsi for the same problem they have finally 'diagnosed' the problem as sticky valves. Essentially - if I have understood them correctly - the valves have become coated in carbon and other crap that gets sticky during the regen process due to the high temps involved and therfore don't move properly (you will tell that I am no mechanic). The car drives normally when not regenning.

Sounds plausible enough, although I'm far from convinced they trully know what's wrong. The head technician that is now dealing with this did seem to know his stuff.

Anyway, I'm worried that my 4th year warranty wont cover the work needed - which they can only tell me will be upwards of 1,000 if the head needs to come off.

Therefore, as this is a problem that only manifests during a regen and I am planning to have the DPF and EGR delete done by Alfatune in the near future anyway, I was thinking of telling Mangos not to bother and take the car directly to Alfatune and 'save' myself some money.

What does anyone else think the best course of action could be? Would I be putting off bigger problems further down the line by not having the valves cleaned properly? I'm planning to keep the car for a further 4 years (unless I win the Euromillions tonight).

Thanks in advance for your help!
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: Flintshire