Hidden surprise feature on my 159sw - list yours here - Page 11 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 658
Driving down the motorway the other day at an indicated 70mph.... and the sat nav said I was doing - wait for it - 70mph.

Never had an Italian car with an accurate speedo.
SanRemo78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: lurker
AO Member
 
TimBud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 104
Images: 8
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 SW ti

Italian sat nav too?
Miles G and Phanatic like this.
TimBud is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBud View Post
Italian sat nav too?
Nope. TomTom.

A new set of tyres with a bigger rolling radius due to less wear will sort this out

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
ChrisH77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Winchester
County: Hampshire
Posts: 149
Yes I checked my speedo the other day, and it was as near as I could tell spot on.

But it's an Italian, so there must be something, and for me it's the wildly over-cautious 'Speed Limit'. This sounds at about 5 mph less than the set speed, so if you'd like an alarm at 80, you need to set it at 85. When the speedo is so accurate, this is a nonsense. But isn't this what we love about Alfas?
ChrisH77 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Silas22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Falkirk
Posts: 30
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisH77 View Post
But it's an Italian, so there must be something, and for me it's the wildly over-cautious 'Speed Limit'. This sounds at about 5 mph less than the set speed, so if you'd like an alarm at 80, you need to set it at 85. When the speedo is so accurate, this is a nonsense. But isn't this what we love about Alfas?
My 159 alarms at the correct set speed, but makes you slow to 5mph below that limit before the warning message disappears. Very annoying, but at least the speedo ties in with the speed displayed on my sat nav aswell.
Silas22 is offline  
Status: Still engineering
AO Silver Member
 
Old Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Esher
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,098
Images: 12
Mine indicates a shade over the satnav (probably 2mph). But it's this margin at any speed. The mileage is always 2% less on the car!
Old Engineer is offline  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Engineer View Post
Mine indicates a shade over the satnav (probably 2mph). But it's this margin at any speed. The mileage is always 2% less on the car!
I'd say mine is over by about 4-5mph but I've only ever really looked at it when on motorways etc. so I don't know if the margin changes at lower speeds
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: 159 Cruiser and Guilietta pocket rocket
AO Silver Member
 
giblets46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 4,321
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyB2801 View Post
I'd say mine is over by about 4-5mph but I've only ever really looked at it when on motorways etc. so I don't know if the margin changes at lower speeds

Depends on your wheel size mainly


Any spelling/ grammatical errors are purely there to annoy!
giblets46 is online now  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by giblets46 View Post
Depends on your wheel size mainly


Any spelling/ grammatical errors are purely there to annoy!
I ahve 17" wheels and I'm sure that there is some complicated maths behind it all
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: turning heads everywhere
AO Silver Member
 
lussoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Preston
County: Lancashire
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyB2801 View Post
I ahve 17" wheels and I'm sure that there is some complicated maths behind it all
You just need to maintain the same rolling-radius that the car left the factory with.
So if you go with a larger wheel you'll need to make sure the tyre side wall height is correct (the figure is a percentage of the tyre's width).
Or just keep the original wheels on and check in the owner's manual that you're using the correct tyre size.
lussoman is online now  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by lussoman View Post
You just need to maintain the same rolling-radius that the car left the factory with.
So if you go with a larger wheel you'll need to make sure the tyre side wall height is correct (the figure is a percentage of the tyre's width).
Or just keep the original wheels on and check in the owner's manual that you're using the correct tyre size.
To be honest I assume that they are the same wheel size that left the factory
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 658
Spent today cleaning the car and realised that a little flap was missing in the rear slam panel where the tailgate closes. I could see it so I removed the cover the retrieve it but that meant lifting the spare wheel cover which kept on getting in the way. Until I noticed the little strap/hook velcro'ed the underside of the cover. unhitched it and clipped it over the top of the tailgate rubber seal. Sorted!

Except for when I clipped the cover back into place I realise that there's a spring mechanism to the cover and that's missing. Anyone got any clues as to what it looks like?

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
Status: Along came a Spider...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 57

Member car:

159, S2 Spider

I have lived with a loose gear knob for 5 years until last week when I was told the top plate prises off and the 10mm nut under it will tighten it back up
octagon is offline  
Status: Alfa 159Ti with bodykit
AO Member
 
Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swindon, United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
Garage
Good thread this.

I will try the auto folding mirrors in the morning and have a tug on my centre console.
Troll is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by octagon View Post
I have lived with a loose gear knob for 5 years until last week when I was told the top plate prises off and the 10mm nut under it will tighten it back up
Take it off again, (it's a bolt on mine) and use a bit of threadlock on it or it'll be loose again in a couple of months!

Guy
SanRemo78 is offline  
Status: Alfa 159Ti with bodykit
AO Member
 
Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swindon, United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
Garage
Noticed this morning, I put my auto wipers on to clear the due of the front screen, and because they were on auto they were going for it (storm wipers I call it), this puts the lights on automatically too.. It was bright sunshine so not dark. Must be a feature that if the car thinks its raining heavily it puts the lights on too.

I am sure my Mondeo ST220 did this also.
Troll is offline  
Status: proud owner of a 159 too now
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 896
Images: 4
Found out the other day. Car locks itself after approx 5 mins.
If you unlock the car but don't open ant door or boot it will lock its self but without the arm being set.
phwspider is offline  
Status: Still engineering
AO Silver Member
 
Old Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Esher
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,098
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by phwspider View Post
Found out the other day. Car locks itself after approx 5 mins.
If you unlock the car but don't open ant door or boot it will lock its self but without the arm being set.
And if you are indoors and squash the key fob in a trouser pocket you'll find the car unlocks and all 4 windows drop.

Then when you go out next morning you'll find the car locked (because of this 5 minute relocking feature) with all 4 windows down.
Old Engineer is offline  
Status: 16Italiancylinders(V 6,N4,L2,V2,V2)+1Span ish
AO Silver Member
 
swq4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 1,541
Images: 28
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by phwspider View Post
Found out the other day. Car locks itself after approx 5 mins.
If you unlock the car but don't open ant door or boot it will lock its self but without the arm being set.
which you can turn off - ever had a car lock you out with the key fob inside????
swq4 is offline  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by swq4 View Post
which you can turn off - ever had a car lock you out with the key fob inside????
I haven't but when I was doing some rail survey work once one of the guys I was with was only about 17 or so and he had a new shape corsa which has the same feature and because we were on private land the kep was on the passengers seat and he shut the door for a while and when he came back to it, it had locked him out of his car. He had to ring his parents to drive 40 mile to give him the spare!
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: Still engineering
AO Silver Member
 
Old Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Esher
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,098
Images: 12
No. It cancels when you open the door so you can't put your key inside.

But the boot! You can open the boot with the fob then shut it with the key inside (which is nothing to do with the 5 minute relocking feature).
Old Engineer is offline  
Status: Considering a ReMap
AO Silver Member
 
147virgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 2,937
Images: 2
Garage
I had to brake really hard on the motorway the other day in the Brera and found that my hazard lights came on all by themselves. Cool! (I thought it was only the later cars like the Mito that had that feature).
147virgin is offline  
Status: Back in the Alfa Fold again
AO Member
 
SanRemo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by 147virgin View Post
I had to brake really hard on the motorway the other day in the Brera and found that my hazard lights came on all by themselves. Cool! (I thought it was only the later cars like the Mito that had that feature).

'58 plate Ti Sportwagon does it too. And switches off automatically too.

Guy
147virgin likes this.
SanRemo78 is offline  
Status: New badges added :)
AO Member
 
AndyB2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 711

Member car:

Brera 2.2 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by 147virgin View Post
I had to brake really hard on the motorway the other day in the Brera and found that my hazard lights came on all by themselves. Cool! (I thought it was only the later cars like the Mito that had that feature).
Yeah that got me the first time as well... wondered what the hell was going on at first
147virgin likes this.
AndyB2801 is offline  
Status: Still engineering
AO Silver Member
 
Old Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Esher
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,098
Images: 12
I discovered a feature of the steering lock today.

I fumbled getting the key out and the dash put up a display saying "The steering lock is not engaged". It seems I had pulled it sufficiently for the system to register its removal but the spring pulled it back in.

Reading between the lines on the Elearn there is something about a 5 second delay. So if you remove and replace the key then remove again the steering lock won't be activated.

Anybody else care to try this 'feature'?

Note: this is not the same message as a failed steering lock which displays something like "Vehicle protection system not
available"

Last edited by Old Engineer; 20-12-15 at 20:20. Reason: English
Old Engineer is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159sw , feature , hidden , list , surprise

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome